We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,568)
Filter reviews
1,568 results
Traveler rating
602
609
239
70
48
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
602
609
239
70
48
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscrab restaurantbeach chaletsri lankapool attendantmain restaurantpigeon islandseafoodwater sportsstray dogsbuffet dinnerground floorthe east coastamazing beachhalf boardwhale watchingbeach frontwelcome drink
Filter
Updating list...
1,035 - 1,040 of 1,568 reviews
Reviewed January 14, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights. We got a first floor room looking out on the sea. The room was clean and the a hotel staff friendly and very helpful. The food in both restaurants was good, we had the buffet in the evening and we felt there was a great selection of food. The swimming pool is large and clean.

Room Tip: Look for a room with a view, we liked our room on the first floor. We felt you had some more privacy on the first floor rooms.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lankesha P, Manager at Trinco Blu by Cinnamon, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2013

Thank you for your review, We look forward to have you stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Disgraceful approach road , average rooms and average service. Mr. Roziaro appears to let his prejudices affect how he conducts his duties - his " welcome " did not extend to our Guide / Driver. Doors to the robe in our room were broken and the mesh torn. Request for another room was ignored.

Room Tip: Suggest book elsewhere.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PramukshiKariyawasam, Pramukshi Kariyawasam-Public Relations, Chaaya Blu Trincomalee at Trinco Blu by Cinnamon, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2013

Thank you for your feedback on our Hotel. We regret the inconvenience caused to you during your stay. The road to our resort is a public road serving all Hotels and residences that is maintained by the local government. Representation has been made for improvements and it has been alleged that the road improvements will be completed during the month of February.
The highlighted areas will certainly be looked at as areas for improvement and we thank you sincerely for expressing your concerns.
We look forward to having you with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

I went to this hotel two times with my family and then with my office colleagues. Big beach around the hotel to play with the kids and enjoy with your friends. Food was great and the service was pretty good.

But the flies around the dining area is bit discomfort while dining and the road to the hotel from the main road is bit inconvenient.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chamara J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

This hotel is excellent. We had teh Deluxe room which overlooks the ocean and is very nice. Much better than their standard/superior rooms.

Food and Service was very good at the hotel.

We are vegetarians and the chef made a really good thai red curry of the menu for us which was amazing.

I highly recomend this hotel

Room Tip: The Deluxe rooms are really good. Standard/Superior rooms not very nice,
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Vchandaria22Nairobi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

The location and the trendy decor gives a promising impression but alas, this supposedly upscale hotel just does not deliver. Rooms are however bright and simple with nice balconies but lousy trickle of a shower, no bath. Service standards are at best OK, to downright mediocre. Food is appalling - extremely oily and overpriced. US$14 for three cold prawns on a stick, even the flour tortilla was oil-soaked! No healthy food, no crisp salads or BBQ tuna steaks, just greasy pseudo-Indian food. Breakfast lousy, even if staff try their best. Pointless going in January - the season is over, the rains are heavy and the sea is too rough for swimming, watersports or wildlife spotting - but noone will tell you this in advance! SIX hours drive from Colombo. US150 one way by car (booked through official airport desk). Would be great in the right season but expect 2-stars even if you pay for 5-stars. Overblown and overpriced for off-season. Great shame.

Room Tip: Wild monkeys can invade the site so choose a second floor room away from any tree! Corridors are very noisy from staff and guests so bring earplugs or choose a beach bungalow - but probably not a good choice in rainy season!
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hotpixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews