We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,570)
Filter reviews
1,571 results
Traveler rating
605
609
239
70
48
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
605
609
239
70
48
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscrab restaurantbeach chaletsri lankapool attendantmain restaurantpigeon islandseafoodwater sportsstray dogsbuffet dinnerground floorthe east coastamazing beachhalf boardwhale watchingbeach frontwelcome drink
Filter
Updating list...
1,042 - 1,047 of 1,571 reviews
Reviewed January 6, 2013

The location and the trendy decor gives a promising impression but alas, this supposedly upscale hotel just does not deliver. Rooms are however bright and simple with nice balconies but lousy trickle of a shower, no bath. Service standards are at best OK, to downright mediocre. Food is appalling - extremely oily and overpriced. US$14 for three cold prawns on a stick, even the flour tortilla was oil-soaked! No healthy food, no crisp salads or BBQ tuna steaks, just greasy pseudo-Indian food. Breakfast lousy, even if staff try their best. Pointless going in January - the season is over, the rains are heavy and the sea is too rough for swimming, watersports or wildlife spotting - but noone will tell you this in advance! SIX hours drive from Colombo. US150 one way by car (booked through official airport desk). Would be great in the right season but expect 2-stars even if you pay for 5-stars. Overblown and overpriced for off-season. Great shame.

Room Tip: Wild monkeys can invade the site so choose a second floor room away from any tree! Corridors are very noisy from staff and guests so bring earplugs or choose a beach bungalow - but probably not a good choice in rainy season!
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hotpixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

A very warm (cold towel,lassie drink) welcome , but at first glimpse, we thought it would be a standard international style hotel. But only the rooms were standard. All the rest was just great. Super swimming pool with service from 6 till 21u,connected wit the open beach
! The food was delicious ,Local and international, but i would advice to have the seefood on the beachside. Nothing can compete. Life guards on the beach and the port of trincomalee in walking distance along the seaside.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bartpurfruit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

The good: stayed in the beach chalet and it was fairly clean and had the usual amenities, beach access and pool are good, received a cold towel upon check in, free wifi (actually works but you need a code every 2 or 3 logins which requires somebody to come from the front office and hand you a slip, 2 restaurants, I also saw a small school that said it was funded by this hotel (very cool)

The Bad: staff tries very very hard but has never been trained and it shows dramatically, it's like somebody put together a bunch of guys (and why are there no women working here?? hmmm) and told them to just give it their best shot..."you..go serve something..."you..go clean a room..."you...go stand around and look important...its pretty much a joke...its a comedy of errors, now I totally understand I am in a 3rd world country, I give concessions to so many things when it comes to trying hard but at some point you have to wonder if being a hotelier is your thing...
Another huge thing: the road leading up to the hotel is what I would picture a road in Afghanistan to look like...its not really a road but a bath of holes and dirt...I don't even understand how any tuck tucks make it through it, there are cows blocking the way which gives it an 'experience' I suppose but who in their right mind wouldn't fix a small road that leads to your hotel? I mean it doesn't make any sense...
So if this hotel was in any western country it would get 1.5 Stars, in Colombo a 2 star and considering Trincomale is a rough and underdeveloped area I give it 3 very hesitantly...

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Valentino333888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Stayed here for a few nights while visiting Sri Lanka. The rooms were nice, modern, and clean. Bathroom was clean as well. The beach was awesome too, really enjoyed the fact that the beach was just step away from the hotel. The pool was nice too. The only reasons why I didn't give this hotel 5 stars was because the staff and food/dinner service. Staff was rude, and disorganized from the moment we arrived. They had mixed up our rooms with someone else's and we had to wait in the lobby for around 30 minutes until we could actually get into our room. The food was just okay; they have a lot of variety but nothing was really good. Also the staff working at the restaurant weren't refilling the food trays, and since there was so many people I was feeling a bit overwhelmed. I would really suggest going to the other restaurant in the hotel (not the buffet one) I believe it was called the crabs leg or something? They have really good seafood, and there's no one there!!

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank Taylor A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2012 via mobile

Very nice experience . The staff is takes pride in making sure all our needs are Met. We spent Xmas night there and they
created a truly beautiful atmosphere and memories.
It rained the whole time and the sea was rough . So can't comment .they did have other games and movies to keep us entertained.
when we did try to step in the sea water we were immediately warned against doing so- excellent attention to safety.

They have 2 restaurants and the second restaurant offering seafood speciality is truly amazing.
Crab ,Lobster and jumbo shrimp etc.
Even the buffet is good but repetitive.

It is a small hotel with a big heart trying to create beautiful memories.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shoegirl1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews