We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Beach, Wonderful Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Trinco Blu by Cinnamon
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Trincomalee
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 2, 2012

We stayed here for almost two weeks. At first, I had a few issues with our rooms, but I was very impressed with the manager who quickly rectified our problems and did his absolute best to ensure we had a wonderful and relaxing stay. The beach is gorgeous...waking up to that view every morning is tonic for the soul and really helps you to unwind. The staff were lovely and friendly, especially in the restuarant, where our children were frequently cuddled and the food and beverage manager was often asking if we were happy and if he could do anything to please us. The children were very excited to see monkeys playing around the hotel. You can also go dolphin watching. We hired jetskis a few times and took a boat trip upshore, which was just ok until we spotted a whale on the way back. We were thrilled, especially because it wasn't even whale season! There's nothing much to do and see in Trincomallee itself, but if you're looking for a gorgeous place to relax on a stunning beach with friendly faces doing all they can to ensure your holiday is a happy one, then this hotel is for you! My only suggestions would be to remove the dirty-looking, green 'pond' at the front of reception, next to the pool, as it doesn't suit the fresh, sea-side vibe of this hotel...it would be better used as a kids pool or a place for a pool fountain. Also, the beach needs more shade and sun beds, athough the manager did say they are working on this.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MamasChoices
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,369)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

894 - 900 of 1,369 reviews

Reviewed October 31, 2012

We visited 2nd time this fall, as the spring 2011 visit was promising. Unfortunately quite a few things had developed for the worse and not the better, and currently it’s maybe 2-3 stars and definitely not 4. Great pool yes, and friendly staff. And still one of the best beaches of the country, with nice fishing (daily net throwing and catching.)
But rather small and basic rooms. Breakfast buffet nice and maybe 4 stars, dinner buffet quite basic food options and 3 star at most. Insects abound but it did not hinder us, that problem is quite common in the Al Fresco areas of any Lankan beach hotel and not really the hotel to blame.

Room Tip: The chalets close to the beach are much more spacious than main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ErikandSandya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Very friendy and attentive service and nice rooms with free wifi and a large LCD tv. The beech is lovely but if you find the waves a little big for swimming in then you can use the very nice pool instead!

We had the buffet breakfast which is very comprehensive and tasty but opted not to go full or half board as it is nice to have the option of dining at the beachside cafe/ a la carte restaurant - the crab. The food here is delicious but be warned the there are a lot flies surrounding the food all the time and perhaps the hotel could try burning some incence etc... Around the restaurant to reduce this. There are also a lot of birds who were audacious enough to steal the bread from our table while we weren't looking! There are also a few stray cats and dogs who mill about but I guess this is common on beech side hotels.

Because of this we had room service the second night which was equally delicious and much less of an ordeal! It didn't cost the earth either!
There are quite a few insects in the room too despite the plug in repellent they kindly provide.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank london_sun_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Nice hotel with friendly staff and good food. However, but don’t use the travel desk of the hotel, because you get screwed with a smile!!!!

When inquiring at the Tour Operator desk at the hotel if the four of us could go for whale watching next morning The price mentioned was of USD. 65 for 3 hours cruise and we thought this was a lot of money. However all boats were booked, but the tour operator at the hotel would try to accommodate us. Later during the evening we got the confirmation that they had a boat and they asked if we had objections sharing the boat with two other persons, which was not a problem for us. Upon departure it appeared that we had to share the boat with 4 other persons, which was still not a problem for us. Our fellow passengers told us that they paid LKR 2000 (USD16) per person, So as simple calcalutation made us believe that we had misunderstood the tour operator and that the price pf USD 65 was for the boat to used by the four of us, But but when paying our hotel bill we found out that we had to pay USD 40, per person and that we were granted a discount. So we strongly advise all hotel guests to book such trips through a local operator

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Emile A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

a rather late review...but had to since the short stay was fab..the food was great, the rooms were excellent. The service from check in to the rest of the hotel services is great. The beach is totally safe and goes for ever. No hawkers but just fisherman and people enjoying the surf. whats worth mentioning, book a trip from the hotel for a whale watching expedition. Ask the restaurant for their version of the famous Jaffna crab curry...cannot wait for the next trip.

Room Tip: from colombo to trinco...leave early, get to the hotel around 12ish and just enjoy the beach with fe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sidath d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

We are just coming to the end of a 4 day stay at Chaaya Blu. We booked a beach chalet which is lovely. Clean, beautifully laid out and right on the beach. The pool is lovely and the beach goes on forever and swimming in the sea is very safe ( unlike many areas of Sri Lanka ). We have found the staff in the restaurant and by the pool to be second to none. They are a
Ways there with a huge smile and as soon as you finish one drink they are there to take away the empty glass.
We booked all inclusive - which may have been a waste as the buffet is extensive and the food at the The Crab is excellent and not that expensive. Even the signature dish of Jaffna Crab which is more than enough for two people is only £10!. Drinks may be a bit on the expensive but unless you are drinking loads I wouldn't bother with the all inclusive package - it just stops you eating at the Crab restaurant- and the daily promotions are not included anyway.
The food is excellent - with lots of variety and I can especially recommend the Sri Lankan food especially the breakfasts of string hoppers, Kiri hodi, sambols and egg hoppers.
The hotel itself is well designed and looks lovely with an infinity pool and well kept landscaped gardens. There are some very friendly and clean dogs who roam around making friends with the guests. Don't get too friendly as you will only make a member of staff throw something at them to shoo them away -and they are quite good shots-resulting in some unnecessary yelps of pain.
I have really enjoyed the serenity of this hotel. Lots of sun beds, lots of room and good service. I can recommend it and I would come back. It is certainly not the cheapest hotel but for a bit of a treat it is well worth it.

Room Tip: It may be worth spending the extra and spoiling yourself with a beach chalet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JMH4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Its the Location, its awesome and coupled with the Design and refurbishment that has taken place this is a Ideal Getaway for Family of Couples.

If traveling from colombo best to start early as 3-4am so you are there by 10-11am even with a breakfast stop. Once you are there you totally forget the Outside world as it looks so tranquil. The rooms are good and stylish the service is very good the pool is great and the Seafood restaurant is also great as yo can dine according to your wish without having to go through the Buffet and the crowd.
The Sea was the best I have ever experienced. You could just wade in the water for hours as there were no waves at all, just like a salt water Swimming pool. Kids just loved it there. We did accompany some foreign guests who were mesmerized with the location.
The only downfall if at all was the drive back to colombo which took over 8 hours which was a total killer. So its advisable to break the journey at Habarana if possible.

Overall the Hotel was a very pleasant experience

Room Tip: If you are with young kids best to get a Room closer to the pool for easy supervision
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eroshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trincomalee
0.1 mi away
Amaranthe Bay Resort
Amaranthe Bay Resort
#1 of 10 in Trincomalee
384 reviews
6.5 mi away
Anilana Nilaveli
Anilana Nilaveli
#2 of 6 in Nilaveli
473 reviews
7.5 mi away
Nilaveli Beach Resort
Nilaveli Beach Resort
#1 of 6 in Nilaveli
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Blue Ocean Hotel
Blue Ocean Hotel
#6 of 10 in Trincomalee
8 reviews
7 mi away
Pigeon Island Beach Resort
6.4 mi away
Nilaveli Beach Hotel
Nilaveli Beach Hotel
#3 of 6 in Nilaveli
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trinco Blu by Cinnamon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trinco Blu by Cinnamon

Address: Sampative Post, Upuvali, Trincomalee 31000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Eastern Province > Trincomalee
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Trincomalee
Price Range: $70 - $235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Trinco Blu by Cinnamon 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once a 70s resort, Trinco Blu by Cinnamon was transformed to a retro-chic design decorated with bleached wooden decks, cut cement floors, rattan furniture and denim trimmings with a splash of orange to contrast the Blue and White hues. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Trinco Blu by Cinnamon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chaaya Blu Trincomalee Hotel Trincomalee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing