We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outside of Seoul”
Review of Hwaseong Fortress

Hwaseong Fortress
Book In Advance
More Info
$132.00*
and up
Seoul Vicinity Full Day Tour
More Info
$115.00*
and up
Suwon Hwaseong Fortress and Korean Folk Village Day Tour from Seoul
More Info
$70.00*
and up
Suwon Hwaseong Fortress Half-Day Small-Group Tour from Seoul
Ranked #1 of 51 things to do in Suwon
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Hwaseong Fortress in the town of Suwon is just a 30-minute train ride from Seoul. This UNESCO World Heritage Site is one of Korea’s most important historical treasures and is the only remaining walled fortress in the country.
Suwon, South Korea
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Outside of Seoul”
Reviewed January 15, 2014

There's a big fortress wall right in the center of Suwon (about 1 hour from Seoul center by bus/train/subway). Not all parts of it remained, but there's a long piece of the wall itself, a palace and several fortress gates. All in a good shape. In a palace (there's a fee here) they can tell you things about some Korean traditions, rituals and a bit of some weird history moments (smth about a person locked in a box for years, probably, a king). The wall goes up to the mountain (not very high, though) and on the top you'll find some traditional pavilions and a big ritual bell. You can ring it for 2000 won (and make a wish, I guess).
There's also a buddhist temple with big statue of Buddha, a street with clothes and hand-made gift shops and restaurants.
Well, Hwaeseong Fortress is, probably, the only one thing to see in Suwon. You can also try Samsung Electronics headquarters (Samsung Digital City) in Yeongtong area, but noone will let you inside.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alexei K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

700 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    345
    273
    74
    7
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California, USA
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
77 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Nice walk, but very long”
Reviewed January 6, 2014

It's a beautiful view but it's very long if you want to walk the entire length. There is a fee which you get a sticker but there is really no one monitoring and it's also not possible to monitor as it's a giant wall, that people use on a day to day basis. So they can't fence it in and collect a fee at the entrance. AT some points on along the wall, there are volunteer guides who answer questions you have about it. It was great to speak to one, since reading the information on the brochure isn't as fun. It's also nice to integrate into normal Korean life by walking along the wall with school children going home. There are some small shops selling food not for tourists as well along the street further down from the main entrance.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank monsternina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
29 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Glad we made the effort”
Reviewed January 4, 2014

We almost did not go as it was -3 degrees that day and it was Christmas eve but we decided to brave the elements and took the train out from Seoul. So glad we did go! We had a late start to the day and got to Suwon in time for lunch only. There is a tourist info booth outside the train station and the English speaking staff told us which bus stop to catch the bus from and which stop to get off (5 stops from the station).

Warmed by lunch we decided to tackle the wall from the west end which is also the steep part of the whole course. It was slippery with snow and frost but still manageable. Gorgeous fresh cold air and wonderful views. Be sure to pay the small fee to ring the temple bells along the way - the sound reverberates through the whole area yet evokes peace and great calm. It was a slow and leisurely 2.5 hour walk for us but we managed to cover about half the entire wall before it started getting dark and we had to stop.

Make the effort to go if you have at least half a day, even in the winter snow. Awe-provoking experience that we thoroughly enjoyed.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Joanne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyoto, Japan
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Walked about half of it!”
Reviewed December 30, 2013

We were in Suwon to see some friends and visit the Korean Folk Village, but decided to see Hwaseong the day we left. We were glad we did! It was like a mini-great wall, with plenty of great views and towers along the way. Each section is a little different and it's very well maintained. We walked the eastern section, which is pretty flat and crosses a few rivers. The western section goes through a park and involves climbing the only real 'mountain' in town. Probably not much of a hike, but I'm sure the views from the top are spectacular on a nice day. Oh, and it's only a dollar to walk the wall - well worth the price for a day out!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JVerse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Walk out of the City”
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Located at the outskirt of Seoul, I did not know the existence of this place until a travel pal showed me a picture of this place on a guide book. The fortress is not listed on most maps and it is not accessible by the subway, but anything with the "UNESCO" word is a good reason for me to visit.

Take Line 2 or 4 to Sadang Station, walk towards Gwacheon-daero 사당역 transit to bus 7770 towards 수원역, then walk 3 mins to the fortress. Do not see much tourists around and mostly the locals taking a walk in the afternoon.

Nice place but visit if you have extra half a day.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sylvia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hwaseong Fortress also viewed

 

Been to Hwaseong Fortress? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing