We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hwaseong Guest House
Ranked #1 of 99 Suwon B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 18, 2013

The location of the hostel is excellent: right in the heart of the historic centre of the city and near restaurants and shops. I booked a bed in a dormitory, and had the place to myself. I don't just mean the dormitory: I seemed to be the only guest staying in the hostel at the time, so had exclusive use of all the facilities, which was an unexpected bonus. The place was clean and well maintained. The facilities included kitchen and fridge, although I couldn't find the washing machine which was mentioned in the instructions on the dormitory wall. The underfloor heating was good in winter: it was actually too warm at night time. The place was mostly quiet, although there was some noise from the street outside. The Internet worked. The staff were unobtrusive.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
1  Thank andrewmilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (29)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

13 - 19 of 29 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights... in my opinion, overpriced and too old! I booked a single room for my stay.

Good points:
1) Very accessible by bus
2) Good location - lots of restaurants and grocery shops within walking distance
3) Hwaseong Fortress is a 10 min walk away

Bad points:
1) Overpriced, I paid KRW35,000 a night. I paid KRW30,000 for the Suwon Hostel which is next to the Hwaseong fortress. The rooms are bigger, newer, cleaner and provide more amenities e.g. free use of washing machines, towels, shaver, toothbrush etc.
2) Room is very small, about 15sqm
3) Room and toilet are both very old
4) Airconditioning is old, noisy and does not cool the room
5) No towels provided
6) Room was very dirty, dead insects lying about on the floor

To wrap it up, I won't come back to this place ever. The Suwon Hostel is much better value for money. I only booked here because they were fully booked at the Suwon Hostel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank niclow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2012

it's only 5 minutes walk to Hwaseong Haeng Palace and near the city side of Suwon. there're many restaurants nearby (we tried the snail rice, first place we saw almost opposite the guest house and it's interesting!) we got the private room wtih bathroom. during our stay it was very quiet and the owner was helpful plus it only cost us 30 US dollars. there's also free wifi.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
Thank absolutcherry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2012

location is great, guesthouse is clean but somehow doesnt feel cozy. 1 PC, usually no stuff, no lockers, 2 showers, tv, place was quiet. Good value for the money.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank czhunty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2012

I've stayed here two nights and slept an average of four hours a night because it's noisier than in a dorm room. Walls and doors are paper thin so expect to wake up when the first guests are up having breakfast. One night some guys were watching tv until 3am. Also, there are no curtains which doesn't help either.Finally bring your own towel as none will be provided to you!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ginger d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2011

From Incheon International Airport, we took the bus to Suwon. Look out for gate 7 for the Suwon bus station. Tell driver that you are getting off At HomePlus Market. Journey takes about 1 hour. We called Mr Choi for pickup at Homeplus Market to guesthouse. The only drawback is that the guesthouse is on the second floor and it doesn't have a lift. So you need to carry your heavy bags up. We originally booked 3 single rooms but Mr Choi suggested that we take 1 single and 1 double that cost us less the amount for 3 single rooms. The double has ensuite bathroom while single rooms uses the common bath outside in the hall. The double room was simple and clean. Love the warm floor as it was cold outside. They have one computer in the hall for free internet access and They also provide free guide by the university student there. It was a good stay even though we only stayed there one night. We will definitely come back again to stay.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NymLoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed February 8, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2016, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Suwon hotels
0.9 mi away
Ramada Plaza Suwon
Ramada Plaza Suwon
#1 of 54 in Suwon
353 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ibis Suwon Ambassador
1.2 mi away
The Most Hotel
The Most Hotel
#15 of 54 in Suwon
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Benikea Home Ivy Stay Suwon Station
1.2 mi away
Novotel Ambassador Suwon
1.6 mi away
Value Hotel Worldwide High End
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hwaseong Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hwaseong Guest House

Address: 4 Paldallo 2-ga, Paldal-gu, Suwon, Gyeonggi-do 442-022, South Korea
Location: South Korea > Gyeonggi-do > Suwon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 99 B&Bs / Inns in Suwon
Price Range: $28 - $32 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hwaseong Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hwaseong Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing