We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I melted, but I still like the place...”
Review of Ramada Plaza Suwon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ramada Plaza Suwon
Ranked #1 of 54 Hotels in Suwon
Certificate of Excellence
Boulder, CO
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“I melted, but I still like the place...”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

In the last 3 months I've vistied this hotel twice. I love it. Clean, comfortable, great gym, super super super staff, fun sing-a-long lounge act...but I've melted, both times.

On my first visit in September my A/C wasn't working, but the staff was able to accomodate me with a room change. My most recent visit the staff really really tried, but no dice, the A/C was off for the season. The tiny window they suggested I open just didn't do the trick.

In spite of this issue I will continue to be a guest given they have it happening on all the other fronts, and because this is really the best place to stay in town....

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barb K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyun Woo K, Guest Relations Manager at Ramada Plaza Suwon, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
I apologize that your experience was anything less than satisfying. Our goal is to not only meet the needs of each and every guest we serve, but to exceed your expectations to make your stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible.

It is our hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you. Again, I apologize for the inconveniences during your stay and hope to see you during your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    132
    18
    7
    3
See reviews for
18
20
9
233
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

We have a lovely Junior suite on the Exec Lounge floor that suffers from a fatal flaw. It is November and the hotel has completely turned off the air conditioning (it's 60 and sunny outside today). In the afternoons our room becomes an oven, even with the drapes closed. We can't work in the room and have to move computers and papers to the lounge or lobby. We complained and were told to open the windows (which means traffic noise). The management brought up an electric fan but that really just moves the hot air around. The lack of a/c is a significant problem that prevents me from giving this otherwise excellent business hotel a better rating.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank patentmaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyun Woo K, Guest Relations Manager at Ramada Plaza Suwon, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
I apologize that your experience was anything less than satisfying. Our goal is to not only meet the needs of each and every guest we serve, but to exceed your expectations to make your stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible.

It is our hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you. Again, I apologize for the inconveniences during your stay and hope to see you during your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shah Alam, Malaysia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Comfort stay for business travellers, as their tagline goes. " leave the rest to them"...
Suwon city, not much of a tourist spot. However, for a business trip stay strongly recommend this as it has live up to it's business hotel status.
It has two convenient stores, one Dunkin donut bistro, one local super market across the street.
15mins walk to Crystal hotel - if you like to take Airport Limo bus to the airport ( 12,000 won )-accept credit card.
You can also find some local unique cafe that opens till late.
Hotel also has well equip fitness centre and sauna for a relaxing workout.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shannenlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyun Woo K, Guest Relations Manager at Ramada Plaza Suwon, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Thank you for your review.
Every single one of us is happy with your satisfaction at our hotel and hope to get another chance to see you near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Suwon is probably not the first priority place one pick for sightseeing in Korea, but it’s number one city for Hi-Tech business tourism.
On my frequent business trips to Korea, Ramada Suwon is always my first choice for a hotel. Probably I’m not the only one since vacancy is not a trivial issue.
The superb breakfast, large, clean, and work-convenient rooms, comfortable beds, super-useful staff… all this is above any standards I know in Suwon (and I’ve been to few other hotels). Another thing do not be underestimated is the food available late evening. If Korean cousin is not your favorite – you can always find reasonable dinner till as late as 10pm… a big plus for me.
A live music in the lobby is a nice plus after a hard day 
The only issue that I have with Ramada Suwon is kind of problematic air-conditioning. Sometimes it is hard to control and you are ether hot or cold at night.
I can’t judge about the price since I always pay “corporate rate” but it seems a not too expensive as well.

Room Tip: Superb for business, specially due to great food
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shimon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2012

A nice hotel in Suwon, the room is clean, large, modern and comfortable. The staff are helpful and always take the initiatives to offer help. Their English standard are good and you will not have any difficulties to communicate with them.
The breakfast is good with wide range of selection. So do the dinner buffet.
There is some convenient stores and a lot of restaurant nearby, you can easily get something eat or drink.
Hwaseong Haenggung and Fortress is a few minutes away by taxi, do not miss it if you are interested in ancient buidling.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ericyhor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012

You can reach the hotel from international Airport Seol, Incheon with hotel limousine service or for a 10 times lower fare with the non-stop Airport Express Bus Incheon-Suwon.

The hotel staff speaks English, is well-informed and always willing to help. There are also smoker rooms available. The difference might be only the presence of an ash-tray. The rooms have a nice modern style. You get complimentary water, instant coffee and tee every day. There is free wired or wire-less access to the internet. Every room is equipped with a large flat TV. Beside some Korean, 1 Chinese, 1 German channel the common news stations like CNBC, NBC, AL JAZEERA and others can be received. I like these modern toilet seats with heated seat and water cleansing a lot. In the hotel there is also gym with some treadmills, basic machines and also short dumbbells and barbells. The breakfast is really recommended with a choice for every taste. As a German I usually miss slices of cheese and of sausage like salami. Instead of sweet fruit drinks I would prefer to get fresh pressed fruit juice.

Close to the hotel there are some convenient stores where you can buy the most important things until the late evening. In the area opposite to the main entrance there are many different restaurants. Although it is easier with a Korean companion you can easily order your dish, not because of the staff’s good English knowledge, but because the menu is often available in English as well and/or with photos of the dishes.

For shopping Korea to me seems to offer nothing with noteworthy discount compared to other economically well developed countries.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thopo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 6, 2012

Be forewarn, this hotel likes to nitpick by completely switching OFF the central air-conditioning system any time between 12:00 midnight through 6:00am. When I say OFF, I mean completely OFF. It does not matter if you had the thermostat control showing FAN-ON, Speed-LOW, Temperature-Whatever. They override your controls, and do not even allow you to switch the FAN-ON for ventilation. This is how absurd they can get.

I have stayed here 4-nights, and 2-nights the air-conditioning was turned OFF during my sleep, with the room temperature rising above 24 deg C, as shown on the wall-mounted controller. They recommend you sleep with the windows open, and will happily send you an electric fan when you room gets too warm.

After I woke up at 3:00am on the 2nd morning, they briefly restarted the air-con 2-times (5-secs & 5-mins respectively). Guest relations manager assured me it will not happen again. Well, it was okay for the next 24-hrs. Then, on my 4th morning, the air-conditioning went dead again at 4:00am.

If you are a business traveler, and need a good night's sleep to perform the next day, be aware that you could be in for a little surprise at this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnTan_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Suwon hotels
1.9 mi away
Novotel Ambassador Suwon
0.4 mi away
Castle Hotel Suwon
Castle Hotel Suwon
#6 of 54 in Suwon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ibis Suwon Ambassador
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Value Hotel Worldwide High End
2.8 mi away
Hotel Landmark
Hotel Landmark
#15 of 54 in Suwon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Most Hotel
The Most Hotel
#17 of 54 in Suwon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Plaza Suwon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Plaza Suwon

Property: Ramada Plaza Suwon
Address: 150, Jungbu-daero, Paldal-gu, Suwon, Gyeonggi-do 16483, South Korea
Location: South Korea > Gyeonggi-do > Suwon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 54 Hotels in Suwon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ramada Plaza Suwon 4.5*
Number of rooms: 288
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Ramada Plaza Suwon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Plaza Suwon Hotel Suwon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing