We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”
Review of Ramada Plaza Suwon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ramada Plaza Suwon
Ranked #1 of 57 Hotels in Suwon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 30, 2012

A nice hotel in Suwon, the room is clean, large, modern and comfortable. The staff are helpful and always take the initiatives to offer help. Their English standard are good and you will not have any difficulties to communicate with them.
The breakfast is good with wide range of selection. So do the dinner buffet.
There is some convenient stores and a lot of restaurant nearby, you can easily get something eat or drink.
Hwaseong Haenggung and Fortress is a few minutes away by taxi, do not miss it if you are interested in ancient buidling.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ericyhor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (358)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

189 - 195 of 358 reviews

Reviewed June 18, 2012

You can reach the hotel from international Airport Seol, Incheon with hotel limousine service or for a 10 times lower fare with the non-stop Airport Express Bus Incheon-Suwon.

The hotel staff speaks English, is well-informed and always willing to help. There are also smoker rooms available. The difference might be only the presence of an ash-tray. The rooms have a nice modern style. You get complimentary water, instant coffee and tee every day. There is free wired or wire-less access to the internet. Every room is equipped with a large flat TV. Beside some Korean, 1 Chinese, 1 German channel the common news stations like CNBC, NBC, AL JAZEERA and others can be received. I like these modern toilet seats with heated seat and water cleansing a lot. In the hotel there is also gym with some treadmills, basic machines and also short dumbbells and barbells. The breakfast is really recommended with a choice for every taste. As a German I usually miss slices of cheese and of sausage like salami. Instead of sweet fruit drinks I would prefer to get fresh pressed fruit juice.

Close to the hotel there are some convenient stores where you can buy the most important things until the late evening. In the area opposite to the main entrance there are many different restaurants. Although it is easier with a Korean companion you can easily order your dish, not because of the staff’s good English knowledge, but because the menu is often available in English as well and/or with photos of the dishes.

For shopping Korea to me seems to offer nothing with noteworthy discount compared to other economically well developed countries.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thopo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2012

Be forewarn, this hotel likes to nitpick by completely switching OFF the central air-conditioning system any time between 12:00 midnight through 6:00am. When I say OFF, I mean completely OFF. It does not matter if you had the thermostat control showing FAN-ON, Speed-LOW, Temperature-Whatever. They override your controls, and do not even allow you to switch the FAN-ON for ventilation. This is how absurd they can get.

I have stayed here 4-nights, and 2-nights the air-conditioning was turned OFF during my sleep, with the room temperature rising above 24 deg C, as shown on the wall-mounted controller. They recommend you sleep with the windows open, and will happily send you an electric fan when you room gets too warm.

After I woke up at 3:00am on the 2nd morning, they briefly restarted the air-con 2-times (5-secs & 5-mins respectively). Guest relations manager assured me it will not happen again. Well, it was okay for the next 24-hrs. Then, on my 4th morning, the air-conditioning went dead again at 4:00am.

If you are a business traveler, and need a good night's sleep to perform the next day, be aware that you could be in for a little surprise at this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnTan_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2012

An earlier TripAdvisor review by RBJMNN mentions that if you have stayed at other Ramada's you may be surprised by this hotel. He sure nailed it. I have been in Suwon several times on business and have avoided this hotel because of my previous experiences with out-dated, worn-out, tired Ramada hotels in the U.S. Was I ever wrong. This hotel has a great staff, spotlessly clean, modern oversized rooms, great food... Behind the scenes at this hotel there must be a great management team. Both Inchon and Kimpo airport hotel buses stop in front so it is very convenient.

The breakfast buffet is first class. There is an omelet chef that cooks eggs perfectly and there are a multitude of fresh food choices.

I did not ask for anything special and payed for the standard room with breakfast. I stayed in room #1419 and because it was on a corner it had glass walls on 2 sides. What a great view of the area. I would recommend asking for a corner room on an upper floor, they are beautiful. Just don't take my room because I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kwebb100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate L, Front Office Manager at Ramada Plaza Suwon, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to complete the review regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us and we will utilise your response by continuing to focus on making each and every guest experience the best it can be. We hope to be of service to you in the future.


Sincerely,

Kate Lee
Guest Relation Manager
Ramada Plaza Suwon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2012

I have stayed many time in Ramada Plaza

I could say it's best place to stay.
- Friendly staff
- Good size room.
- wired and wireless internet.
- Best Gym.
- Neat and clean.

Best thing is most of the staff know English, so it's easy.

Room Tip: Corner rooms got two side of glass wall. I personally enjoy that. Incase of winter glass walls are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vishaljogi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Suwon City is about 30km south of Seoul. Generally it takes about an hour from Incheon International Airport. My first introduction to the Ramada Plaza was the Airport Limousine Bus service from Incheon that drops you off directly at the Hotel entrance. For those that have been to Korea via Incheon Airport, you would be aware that the bus service from the Airport to downtown and to suburbs like Suwon are excellent as long as the Hotel is on the bus route!!

Got into the Ramada Plaza early and my room was not ready. The reception was gracious enough to allow me to use the Executive Lounge on the 17th Floor whilst waiting for the room to be ready. It was a reasonably short wait as I was in my room by 10.30am. Room itself was modern with all the necessary amenities. WiFi and cable internet was complementary. I had booked a room with a King size bed but in order to get a room earlier I settled for a twin room. This turned out to be an acceptable compromise given the size of the room which was larger than the rooms I am used to in Seoul.

Had dinner at a separate Hotel up the road called the Castle Hotel which reminded me very much of a 4 star local Hotel one would find in mainland China. The lobby of the Ramada Plaza was large and relatively well designed. Note however that Suwon is not an alternative to a Hotel in downtown Seoul, as there is very little to do in Suwon.

All in all, a very nice Hotel in not a particularly attractive area!!

Room Tip: Generally can't go wrong with room choices as there's not much to see out of the windows irr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kebuh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2012

This is the second time I've stayed in the Ramada Plaza in Suwon (aka "Lama-da" by the locals).
Great hotel, excellent service, huge Deluxe rooms (the Premier rooms are even better); very comfortable King-size bed with fluffy pillows. The down comforter may be overkill and perhaps the culprit for some of the complaints regarding the A/C, which can only be adjusted down to 20ºC/68ºF. Even so, at night the room temperature would rise to 24ºC/75ºF (although the temp outside was in the low 50ºFs), so a bedsheet would have been more comfortable.

The breakfast was a good selection of pancakes, waffles, bacon and sausage, as well as made-to-order omelettes and more exotic Korean and Chinese (Dim Sum) fare. There is a coffe-craze in Korea, and one of the two Expresso machines made excellent Cappuchinos!

The's a nice gym, too,

Room Tip: My odd-numbered room on the 13th floor faced West towards the Overpass, which was not a problem rega...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RichRR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Suwon
1.9 mi away
Novotel Ambassador Suwon
1.3 mi away
Ibis Suwon Ambassador
1.1 mi away
Value Hotel Worldwide High End
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Castle Hotel Suwon
Castle Hotel Suwon
#11 of 57 in Suwon
56 reviews
5.7 mi away
Shilla Stay Dongtan
Shilla Stay Dongtan
#1 of 20 in Hwaseong
130 reviews
5.5 mi away
Ramada Hotel Dongtan
Ramada Hotel Dongtan
#2 of 20 in Hwaseong
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Plaza Suwon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Plaza Suwon

Address: 150, Jungbu-daero, Paldal-gu, Suwon, Gyeonggi-do 16483, South Korea
Location: South Korea > Gyeonggi-do > Suwon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 57 Hotels in Suwon
Price Range: $112 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ramada Plaza Suwon 4.5*
Number of rooms: 288
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramada Plaza Suwon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Plaza Suwon Hotel Suwon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing