We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Location”
Review of Vigan Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Vigan Plaza Hotel
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Vigan
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Fantastic Location”
Reviewed January 27, 2012

Lovely old hotel, but stay away from the restaurant. I was staying in the corner room which gave great views, but was very noisy. Nothing ear plugs cant fix. The best part of this hotel is the location - very handy to everything. The building too is very nice - but the food is truly awful. Filipino food in general is not very good, but this place manages to take it to a new low.

Room Tip: corner rooms have a great view, but are noisy. If you can put up with the noise, go with these rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joeschwaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    55
    25
    8
    5
See reviews for
35
30
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2012

We arrived at night time in Vigan and after having dinner the next thing to do was find a place to stay overnight. Out of the 3 places we checked this has the rooms that seemed like would guarantee a good night's sleep after a long day on the road. We booked a Superior Double (for my in-laws) and a Superior Twin room (for us). My kids stayed free sharing existing bedding with us but we had to pay for their breakfast. The price was reasonable though food quality was average. There were mosquitos in our room and it is obvious that previous guests have tried (and succeeded) in killing some of them as can be seen on the wall. We added to the dead mosquito exhibit of course!

Air conditioning was functioning and we all enjoyed the warm shower. We had fun taking photos of the old wardrobe in our room which looked like the Narnia wardrobe.

Most of all we got what we were looking for, a good night's rest.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PasyalNamin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2011

Travelled August 2011.

Vigan Plaza Hotel has its pros and cons. For one, its design is exactly what you would be looking for in Vigan. The lobby and hallways feel like a museum. And at the same time it has modern basic amenities like air conditioning, hot shower, etc. However, my room had fake windows! This is a big negative in points for me in this hotel. It takes away the authenticity of the place. The bathroom is mediocre. Cleanliness is average. It is as if this hotel offers all the amenities just to say that they have them. But everything is mediocre. To be fair, I visited the room of one of my colleagues I travelled with. It is way better than my room. It has a REAL window and has the view of the streets of Vigan. It is a slightly more expensive room though. But cleanliness is still average, not excellent. Of course this hotel is an old building, so I appropriately adjusted my expectations. But somehow, it still doesn't feel comfortably rustic, peaceful and nostalgic. It feels dissappointingly neglected, unmaintained, and average.

Service was very good. Staff is friendly and accommodating. They are knowledgeable on the area and were more than willing to answer your questions.

Food was average. Might as well go to the restos surrounding this hotel. Speaking of surroundings, the number one strength of this hotel is its location. This is what you are paying for. It is actually part of the heritage site. Everything interesting is walking distance from here. And this one thing I think makes up for the overall average experience from staying in the hotel.

Room Tip: Choose a room with real windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joseph t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed September 23, 2011

Great place to stay! Jives with the overall look of vigan but clean and with modern facilities. Free wifi on almost all parts of the hotel!

Hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. Complimentary breakfast was authentic local vigan food.

This will be my choice when i come back to vigan.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank silver30001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2011

This is a cool historical place to stay. Good value during low season. There are only three complaints I have. The water pressure was so low that we went without showing a few times. The hot water was intermittent since the were on genset power. Outdated TV in my room however, some rooms had new LCDs. I would probably consider other hotels during peak season depending on rates.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sfrgrwes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2011

We arrived at the Vigan Plaza Hotel after a 7 hour drive on a Friday afternoon. Our suite was ready for us and we were surprised how large it was. With two queen size beds" an amoire for our clothes dressing table and table and chairs in the from we felt right at home

Check in was quick and efficient and we were shown wherento park our car.

The room had a ref with complimentary water. Bathroom was nice with towels washcloths , even toothbrushes for us. Hot water in sink and shower was also nice.

We had the free breakfast in the morning and the portions were adequate. Eggs, toast , fresh fruit, juice and choce of bacon or other meats were offered for the American style breakast. Filipino breakfast was also offered.

Restaurant staff was attentive as well as front desk and doorman.

Best bargain was the kalesa ride which was 150 pesos per hour. They will take you to the various sites in Vigan, you get out and look around and your driver is there waiting for you.

The Philippine TV show , Face to Face was taping there that Saturday! So a little bit of extra activity in town that day

We we recommend the Vigan Plaza Hotel and we plant to return again.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TheChief_Theboss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
viganplazahotel, Manager at Vigan Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2011
Thank you for choosing Vigan Plaza Hotel as your home while in Vigan. We are very grateful of the good reviews you made to the hotel and to the staff, these encourage us to render the best service that we can to live up to our guests expectation. Again, thank you for the words of appreciation, truly an inspiration to the hotel management and staff.
We look forward in welcoming you again in the near future. God bless you.

Vigan Plaza Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2011

My family together with my two sisters in law stayed at Vigan Plaza Hotel last April 27, 2011. The place is clean and our room is big enough for 5 pax and the hotel rate is I think fair enough. I love the breakfast they offered. The staff are friendly & accommodating esp. Vivian and the staff at their restaurant. The lady supervisor is not that approachable, she is grumpy and she doesn't smile at all. The location is great. Worth recommending.

Room Tip: De luxe room is big enough for 5 to 6 pax.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maan24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vigan hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Luna
Hotel Luna
#1 of 7 in Vigan
488 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ciudad Fernandina Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hotel Salcedo De Vigan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Gordion Hotel
Gordion Hotel
#5 of 7 in Vigan
115 reviews
2.6 mi away
One Vittoria Hotel
One Vittoria Hotel
#2 of 7 in Vigan
111 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Veneto de Vigan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vigan Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vigan Plaza Hotel

Property: Vigan Plaza Hotel
Address: Mena Crisologo Street, Brgy 2, Ilocos Sur, Vigan, Luzon 2700, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Ilocos Region > Ilocos Sur Province > Vigan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Vigan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 29

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing