We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great staff and very decent place” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gordion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Gordion Hotel
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Vigan
Ulan-Ude, Russia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great staff and very decent place”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for three nights when we attended the ICOMOS convention.

The staff is very hospitable and even tried to help me find a hostel for my driver. They also very understanding when I had to cancel my request for an extra bed.

The hotel room itself just like all the houses/buildings in Vigan is well maintained and you will get the feel of the old spanish life. But I have to be honest that I find their rooms spacious but also quite plain or bare. I was hoping for more character (as I've seen in other hotels such as Grandpa's Inn) as depicted in their website. Nevertheless, it was not disappointed as their rate is very competitive with other accommodations and the staff is well trained.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrae W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    46
    26
    8
    5
See reviews for
41
35
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Quezon City, Philippines
Level Contributor
71 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

I stayed in Gordion Hotel for 1 night during a visit to Vigan. We had booked a family room which was located in the top-most floor of the hotel (the hotel by the way had no lifts, being true to its old-world theme) with a balcony right beside it.

The hotel itself is nicely located, being just behind the famous Calle Crisologo of Vigan and is within the UNESCO World Heritage zone. Shops and restaurants are just a few steps away from the hotel.

Our family room was quite simple but spacious. It featured several wooden furnishings (built in the antique style) typical of the turn of the 20th century. There were two beds, a queen and a single. The bathroom was also quite simple, with a shower (no bathtub) and featured minimal toiletries such as soap and shampoo. The TV had local as well as cable channels.

Our room rate came with breakfast which was served buffet style in the hotel's second floor. It was a typical Filipino affair with dried fish, longganisa (Filipino sausages), corned beef, garlic rice and a few other dishes. Nevertheless, it was more than satisfactory.

Overall, I found the hotel to be quite satisfactory. It has a fantastic location but for the price, I believe that there are better hotels nearby which feature the same old-world theme. The hotel also provides some tour / transportation services which I wouldn't recommend. Their prices are 2 or 3x higher than the going rate. It's better to hire a car/driver from elsewhere.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ACChua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

The location of Gordion Hotel is absolutely ideal; Calle Crisologo is literally just a few steps away. We got a room in Casa Alcantara, and our room had one of those big wooden wardrobes with a mirror in the door, and the door squeaks when you open it (adds a nice, creepy feel). Breakfast was pretty good, too; I had the continental breakfast (toast, butter, jam, and tea) and my sister had pancakes. We really liked the old-style decor and feel of the place.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank midnightowl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Butuan, Philippines
Level Contributor
69 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

The hotel has a fusion of old & modern character. Our room (#4) was at the annex building, ground floor was very comfy. The hotel was conveniently located as it is only one block away from Calle Crisologo & Syquia Mansion and is walking distance to the Cathedral & Plaza Salcedo. and if you want to try empanada (Irene's Empanada) it is just around the corner. Hotel staffs are very friendly & courteous. The receptionist on duty when we checked out help us by voluntarily giving directions to the tricycle driver & we appreciated it as we dont speak Ilocano. the only complaint we had on this hotel is that hot water takes time to warm & there is no ref inside the room & no complimentary drinking water available.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank myra2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davao City, Philippines
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

We arrived early in the morning and since we have a baby the front desk allowed us to check-in as early as 6am without charge. Their rooms are wide, floorings are nice. Breakfast on the next day was great, I really really love their gourmet tuyo which is a MUST TRY :) All the things that we need were given immediately. I like the location since its only like 5 meters away hotel to Calle Crisologo. The front desk also volunteered to call a Calesa for us. I LOVE THIS HOTEL! And I would love to stay here again. Thank you for the great service :)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FaithieMar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

Here now actually and have been offered a room on the 3rd floor (inaccessable because they are shooting a local talk show and blocking the stairwell), and a room downstairs (also no hot water) and a tiny room next door. They are trying... but... it feels like guests aren't the hotels primary concern...

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Arthur T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana_Marie_Alcantara, General Manager at Gordion Hotel, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Thank you for spending your time to inform us that our service didn’t meet your expectations. Satisfied customers are our biggest achievement that is why we were curious when you said that you felt that the guests are not our primary concern.

First, we would like to tell you how sorry we are that we had to ask you to transfer to another room because of the unexpected hot and cold water problem, but you wanted another room that is not located at the third floor because there was a local talk show shooting at that time. Though walking that way may not be a problem because our staff can always assist you to your room and the talk show staff can always give way to all of our guests, still, we offered you another room at the ground floor. Though the hot and cold water is functioning, you weren’t contented of the heat it produced. As a result of the problem you experienced, we discovered that there was a fairly serious problem with the hot and cold water. We will take every step and measure to assure you that we will solve this matter immediately.

Again, we would like to thank you for your feedback as it will help us provide better services. It is our aim to satisfy our guests. We would like to regain your trust and hope to serve you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
171 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

A deluxe room is P3,500 which have a hot/cold shower, cable tv, one bed, phone with complimentary breakfast for two in their mini garden near the parking lot. It is a choice of american, continental or filipino breakfast. They also offer buffet meal in their mini bar. The hotel is strategically situated near the heritage of vigan. It does not have a swimming pool, but, there is a parking lot for the guests. Their hot/cold shower is malfunctioning and2nd and third floor has a low supply of water. there is no elevator.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thenavigator8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana_Marie_Alcantara, Manager at Gordion Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
It is of utmost importance for us here at Gordion Hotel to have our clients satisfied and delighted at what they experienced during their stay. We offer you a very sincere apology for such an unexpected inconvenience. We are very grateful that you bring this matter to our attention, as your feedback is without doubt a very resourceful insight to us.


After reading your feedback, we feel obliged to share the information with you as a gesture of respect. The hotel does not have a swimming pool however; Gordion hotel offers complimentary use of swimming pool to our other property which is the Hotel ni Among. As for the malfunctioned hot and cold water, we sincerely apologize. We could have done immediate action if this was brought to our attention during your stay. Lastly, considering that Vigan City boasts the preservation of the 16th Century houses, ancestral home owners have to abide the existing City Ordinance on Ancestral Home Conservation, our national living treasure. Thus, elevator is not permitted.


Thank you for giving us this opportunity to correspond with you. We look forward to welcoming you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vigan hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Luna
Hotel Luna
#1 of 7 in Vigan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ciudad Fernandina Hotel
2.3 mi away
One Vittoria Hotel
One Vittoria Hotel
#2 of 7 in Vigan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Salcedo De Vigan
0.1 mi away
Hotel Veneto de Vigan
0.0 mi away
Metro Vigan Inn
Metro Vigan Inn
#7 of 27 in Vigan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gordion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gordion Hotel

Property: Gordion Hotel
Address: V. delos Reyes corner Salcedo Sts., Vigan, Luzon 2700, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Ilocos Region > Ilocos Sur Province > Vigan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Vigan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Gordion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gordion Hotel is a heritage hotel that maintains the character of the heritage zone. The hotel welcomes you with the exquisite facilities that you need to satisfy your requirement and expectations in an atmosphere of history, culture, and comfort. Gordion Hotel, in the heart of Vigan City, Ilocos Sur, Philippines, a UNESCO World Heritage Site. It is parallel to the famous Crisologo St. where shopping and tourist areas are located. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Despegar.com so you can book your Gordion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing