We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sleep with history”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vigan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villa Angela Heritage House
Ranked #3 of 30 Vigan B&B and Inns
Hua Hin, Thailand
Level Contributor
117 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Sleep with history”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Stayed here for two nights in the family room in July 2013 for 2500 pesos a night (Low season discount) Enjoyed the ambiance which comes with staying in a beautiful family mansion. Location was very good just a couple of streets from the tourist strip. Staff were smiley and polite. Wi-Fi was adequate and there was a TV in my room. I enjoyed my stay and would stay again. The only negatives were the noisy air-conditioner and instant coffee with the otherwise excellent breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dragonseeker1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    55
    9
    2
    2
See reviews for
34
37
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cavite City, Philippines
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Just came back from our Ilocos trip this weekend. One of the highlights is staying at Villa Angela. :) It was easy to find, and the place looked amazing! We paid P2800 or around $70 for one night stay for four plus breakfast.

We were given the biggest room, the one with the veranda. The staff was super nice to us and even gave us bananas for our long bus ride to Laoag. :)

We fell in love with the common area and we even took lots of photos. It's very near Calle Crisolog (two blocks away) and from there you can ride a tricycle to Baluarte or a Kalesa to go around Vigan City.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank djoice23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippines
Level Contributor
222 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

My family and I spent a Halloween weekend one time in Villa Angela, Vigan City and it was an unforgettable experience. This house is well maintained and kept clean inspite of its age. I love the old narra wooden floor, high ceiling, large capiz windows, hand carved wooden furniture, the wide wooden staircase and antique memorabilia all over the house. The housekeeper was very gracious to show us the different rooms in the house, from the large dormitory type room in the ground floor, and the individual family rooms with old antique beds in the upper floor. The large living area is common to all guests and so is the large dining room with a huge rectangular table. Breakfast is served in this common table, and the hotel guests have a chance to get to know each other while having their breakfast. What more can you expect from staying on a Halloween weekend in an old heritage home? Goosebumps all over our bodies when we heard the creeking sound of the floor at night (could be the housekeeper checking on late arrivals); the steady movement of our mosquito nets and the creepy feeling that someone is inside the toilet, when actually all of you are lying down in your beds. After two sleepless nights at Villa Angela Heritage House, my children already planned on coming back with their friends, to have a similar encounter with the friendly ghost. What a memorable and unforgettable weekend.

Room Tip: Call them up to make your booking. You have to make a deposit in a preferred bank to confirm your r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank saint28daisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manila
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We had an overnight stay here last March 25-26, 2013, we were six and we occupied the Ijos room which was good for 6 persons. The room is airconditioned and has a veranda. It was large which I think can accommodate 10. It was peak season so the rate is quite high but it was still the best price after inquiring from other nearby inns/hotels. We paid P4,200 inclusive of breakfast. Eerie stories kinda bothered me but it had the best offer, aside from the fact that I really wanted my daughters to experience an ambiance of a house like Villa Angela. Our stay was okay. The veranda was nice to cap the night but it would be nicer if some flowering plants are planted and maintained at the veranda's edges. As I observed the plants are somewhat not regularly taken cared of, but these are small downsides really. The best part about Villa Angela was its friendly and very helpful staff, Maricris and Tony. My daughter was scheduled to block/enroll her subjects in Manila on our second day, and our laptop couldn't had a connection, Ms. Maricris gladly offered theirs so our dilemma was solved. Mr. Tony also gladly made a sketch of our Ilocos Norte trip/tour, complete with tourist spots, and it really made easy for us, I even texted him for some inquiries along the way. Another plus point for this inn was its ample parking space. Your car will be absolutely safe as their parking area was inside their gated fence. Other hotels/inns in Vigan don't have adequate parking spaces, car-owners have to park on the streets fronting the hotels. Villa Angela retained the look of a period house, which really remind me of our ancestral family house in the province.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank candela_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

This is my second time at Villa Angela and its still the same rustic but comfortable feel of like home. So quiet is the place that you want to stay longer. If you want to make a meaning of vacation, this is the place, away from the noise of the tricycles, karitelas and noisy people. The staff are friendly and if you speak the dialect, nice to have a small chit chat with them. :)

Room Tip: An room you take is comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lifestylenetwork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cavite Province, Philippines
Level Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

stayed here last march 5-7, we really hope that we could've stayed longer if not for our bohol flight the next day. its a good value for money, great wifi connection, its a huge ancestral house it will give you an eerie feeling but not for long, except for night time when you need to go to the bathroom and have to open 3 doors just to get there since our bathroom is outside (not kidding with that part) but its 2-5 minutes away from crisologo street, museum, the syquia ancestral house and may 10minutes away from the center of vigan, all walking distance no need to ride the tricycle except maybe when you want to go to the bus station. everything is near villa angela, they served really good breakfast too... we enjoyed it alot and have plans to go back here soon :)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pancit_canton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati, Philippines
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013

My husband and I were a little bit scared of the idea in sleeping in an old house at first, but it was actually a great experience. No ghosts at all. :)

The place is quiet and well maintained. I loved looking at the old pictures on the wall. The whole set-up was like how it was during it's time so it feels like you were back in the Spanish Era. The air conditioning works well, although there were a few mosquitoes, so better use the mosquito net for the bed. We stayed in the master bedroom and it was huge! We felt like a whole family can stay here comfortably.

The caretakers were very nice to us and breakfast was fantastic. It's also just walking distance to Calle Crisologo.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary120309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vigan hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Luna
Hotel Luna
#1 of 7 in Vigan
483 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ciudad Fernandina Hotel
0.1 mi away
Gordion Hotel
Gordion Hotel
#5 of 7 in Vigan
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Salcedo De Vigan
2.4 mi away
One Vittoria Hotel
One Vittoria Hotel
#2 of 7 in Vigan
110 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Veneto de Vigan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Angela Heritage House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Angela Heritage House

Property: Villa Angela Heritage House
Address: # 26 Quirino Blvd, Vigan, Luzon 2700, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Ilocos Region > Ilocos Sur Province > Vigan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Vigan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Being a rich depository of the family's relics and memorabilia acquired through the years, Villa Angela remains a showcase of the family's past and present standing in the Vigan community. The upper floor has been continuously maintained to be as elegant as it was over 100 years ago. The rooms are filled with antique furniture seen only in big colonial houses. There are four family rooms, equipped with airconditioning, cable TV, large four-poster colonial beds, and T/B. On the lower floor, what were once storage areas for the family's farm produce of rice, corn, maguey, and tobacco have been converted into two cozy dormitory-style rooms which can accommodate larger groups, between 10-12 people each, equipped with airconditioning, cable TV, and toilet/shower facilities. Rates vary for the family rooms, from P1,900 to 3,200 per room per night (regular rates). Published Room Rates for January 2017 - January 2018 CUARTO DEL SEÑOR 2 pax, a/c. ensuite T&B Bed: 1 King size four poster bed Regular: P2,900.00. Peak: P3,200.00 CUARTO DE LAS HIJAS 4 pax, a/c, ensuite T&B Beds: 1 Queen size, 1 Double size, 1 Twin size - all four poster beds Regular: P3,200.00. Peak: P3,600.00 CUARTO DE LOS HIJOS 4 pax, a/c, private T&B outside, Veranda Beds: 1 King size, 1 Double size, 1 Single size - all four poster beds Regular: P3,200.00. Peak: P3,600.00 CUARTO PEQUEÑO 2 pax, a/c, private T&B outside Beds: 1 Twin size, 1 Single size - all four poster beds Regular: P1,900.00. Peak: P2,400.00 DORMITORYO A 10 pax, a/c, private T&B Beds: 5 Single size double deck beds Regular: P5,900.00. Peak: P6,900.00 DORMITORYO B 12 pax, a/c, private T&B Beds: 6 Single size double deck beds Regular: P7,000.00. Peak: P8,200.00 DORMITORYO BARATO fan cooled, common T&B, folding cot with mattress Regular: P600/pax. Peak: P700/pax Extra Bed/Person (Can be added in all rooms) Bed: Folding cot with mattress Regular: P600.00. Peak: P700.00 ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villa Angela Heritage House Hotel Vigan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing