We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice place to stay in Jomsom”
Review of Om's Home

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Om's Home
Ranked #1 of 5 Jomsom B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 31, 2014

My two daughters (ages 8 and 3) chose this place as our base to explore the lower Mustang. we were given the room on top of the espresso cafe that is inside the hotel. the room is clean nice, and has a good bathroom with a tub and hot water. both the room and the coffee they sell here are excellent. An I mention the coffee as rarely at Nepal highlands you can find good coffee. The hotel kitchen is nice although it feels a bit cold as, different from tea house, it does not have a heating stove in the room.
The hotel reception is the best gift you can have in Jomsom. Krishna is super helpful. He arranged not only porters and guide for us but also everything related to our flight back to Pokhara. As my little daughter was getting a cold, he quickly provided us with bags of hot water to warm our beds, and was very attentive to her health. the porter who carried my 3 year old, Harkof, was a very nice person who was always on task and attentive to whatever we needed. Also, the owner, Triple, is a great guy who can help you with whatever you need while in Jomsom. Besides operating his business, he is also a retired commercial pilot that can help you with all related to your flights in NP.

Room Tip: room on top of the espresso shop is the best.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jorge A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (80)
There are newer reviews for Om's Home
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 80 reviews

Reviewed January 13, 2014

Upon arrival from Pokhara, we stretched our legs on a tour across town, and outside of an outlandish lodge-style retreat centre to the southwest, found nothing as promising as Om's home.

Here, we ate well, slept well, rubbed elbows with interesting travelers and locals alike and first took in the scenic beauty that would surround us as we walked along the Jomsom trek.

The staff were more than helpful, and helped us organize our trip before we left.

Room Tip: If you're traveling in a group, I recommend the room on the south side corner of the property, w...
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bretton C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Staffs are very accomodating....Krishna, the manager was very helpful in a lot of regards...made our stay relaxing. My family was really thankful for the very good, friendly atmosphere during our stay in jomsom. The Om's Home Hotel is definitely nice hotel to stay...location wise & comfortable.

Room Tip: Travelling with kids better to get groung floor room: less colder.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ramesh A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2013

Location could not be faulted. Right on the main street on Jomsom which is a small town anyway. Upon landing from Pokhara, two staff were waiting for us and helped us to register with the army and at the trekking office. One of the staff, as it turns out, could speak Bahasa Malaysia since he used to work in Penang. What a small world!

We asked for the best room. In a sense, we got that. It had a separate and dedicated entrance with views to the street of Jomsom and the astounding Nilgiri peaks! Nonetheless, our minor complaint is that the room got really cold really soon due to its isolated walls. Rooms further inside the building, we reckon, could be warmer as they are built close to each other and some distance away from the lobby opening. Just a guess.

Hot shower was a hit and miss affair. Tip is to take your shower early as it might run out later in the evening. Plenty of sunshine in Jomsom hence this is probably just a hot water storage capacity issue.

Services offered by Om's Home were excellent. The staff assisted us in arranging jeep to Muktinath & Kagbeni, helped to reconfirm our return flight with Tara Air and met many other requests for meals, hot water, etc. In most days, we ate our breakfast and dinner at the hotel as we did not feel like venturing outside (rather chilly in November anyway).

Overall, it was a pleasant stay with great personalised and trustworthy personnel. We won't have any qualms staying here again (provided we get much warmer weather next time around).

We would like to thank everyone at Om's Home for making such a wonderful stay in Jomsom. Warm regards from your friends in Malaysia!

Room Tip: The unit we stayed in was somewhat a "standalone" room which is exposed to the cold weathe...
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Johan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2013

After a long, arduous and beautiful trek up to the Thorong La Pass and down, it was truly a pleasure to find Om's home in Jomsom. The owner, Krishna, is hospitable, friendly, and truly goes above and beyond to make your stay quite pleasant. I cannot say enough great things about this establishment.

Our stay here is a highlight of our Annapurna Circuit Trek.

Food: excellent, tasty.

Customer Service: excellent.

Room: excellent.

Value: excellent.

Location: Despite of what Lonely Planet states, we found Jomsom to be quite charming. It was the first and only town along the AC where everyone in town was early to rise and take pride of cleaning their streets and establishments. Everyone was friendly. So, location of Om's Home is excellent. When you stay here at Om's Home, you are a couple of minutes walk to bus ticketing, airport, laundry, and shops. Om's Home is right on the main road.

Finally, Krishna, thank you so much for making us feel at home in Jomson.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank carmtea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Having done the Annapurna circuit trek , this was the perfect place to relax and chill out. The staff are extremely friendly, especially the manager who is called Krishna. He helped sort flights and accomodation in Pokhara and was really pleasant to talk to. Hotel was quite empty, but no doubt this was due to it being off season. It is located just past the 'Safe water drinking station' and short walk from the airport which is ideal.

Food in the restaurant was varied and tasty. There is wifi available but only in the lobby (not in the rooms) so possibly one area of improvement. Rooms were very clean - we had an en suite room which I would recommend. Decently priced generally. Would highly recommend staying here :) thanks Krishna!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Suraj P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at Om's home with manager Krishna who helped us with every request. He would recommend day trips, ensure we had everything we required in our room and told us stories about his travels in Nepal. I could not rate him enough. The rooms felt like luxury after the very basic accommodation found when trekking the Annapurna circuit. Very hot shower with proper toilet and bedrooms had carpet, television and plenty of blankets. Good wifi connection in the lobby which was bright and spacious and the restaurant served a whole host of both western and Nepali food which was tasty. Close location to the airport in Jomsom was also very beneficial as most people fly from jomsom to pokhara after trekking. Just 2min walk away. The hotel is also situated opposite a safe water drinking station where you can fill a litre of water for 40rupees and is better sterilised than mineral bottled water. Overall we had a wonderful stay and Krishna was the highlight giving us frequent updates on any flight delays etc. Wonderful experience and a class above the other hotels in jomsom!

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Jessica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Om's Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Om's Home

Address: Main Street, Lower Mustang, +977, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Western Region > Dhaulagiri Zone > Jomsom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Jomsom
Price Range: $37 - $45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Om's Home 2.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Very comfortable hotel accommodation in Jomsom in Lower Mustang. 27 Twin rooms with clean attached bathroom with piping hot solar showers. A very good place to choose if you want to reward yourself at the end of your trek before flying out from Jomsom airport, which is just 5 minutes walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Om's Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Om's Home Nepal/Jomsom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing