We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular Scenery, Comfortable, Friendly, Quiet”
Review of Sanctuary Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Annapurna Region
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sanctuary Lodge
Reviewed February 24, 2013

I can't imagine a better trekking lodge. This is a beautiful place with clean, comfortable rooms and friendly staff. The scenery is breathtaking.

We loved the window delivery of coffee in the morning and the amazing hot water bottles for the bed -- toasty! Food was plain but good, and the staff was welcoming and helpful.

We had the whole place to ourselves, which was great, but there are common rooms for dinner and evening relaxation, which could be fun to share as well.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ichiji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (39)
There are newer reviews for Sanctuary Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 39 reviews

Reviewed February 19, 2013

This was the first of the lodges we stayed in on our trek. It is situated on the Modi river and is a fairly easy 3.5 hour trek from the main starting point in Pokhara. The room we had was very large but was for a family and had one large and two other smaller beds in it. The bathroom is basically a wet room with a shower, toilet and sink but it was a good size and both rooms looked clean and well maintain. Furnishings are basic but this is what we expected and adds to the charm of the adventure here. Everything is solar powered so hot water is limited and lighting is only available from dawn until 9:30pm. If yo like to read in bed I would suggest taking a head torch. The surrounding ranges are stunning and there is a lawn area for you to chill out in. Tea is served at 4pm and 'happy hour' is from 6-7pm sitting around a wood fire. The temperature really drops in the evenings and they do supply jackets, hats and gloves. I tend to take my short Uggs in these situations, they are light in the luggage and feel like cosy warm slippers after all that walking during the day. Dinner is served at a communal table and its a great time to share all your adventures of the day and another forgetting your aches and pains. Food was simple but well prepared. The service and all the staff at the lodge are wonderful and make your stay all that more special.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank GlobeTrotter010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

This was a lovely lodge that we stayed in on two separate nights (once going into the Annapurna and once on the way out). It is a lovely respite after a day of trekking. The food is served in a main lodge area and is delicious. There is a large fire each evening that guests can gather around. Rooms are clean and comfortable. Large grass courtyard with lounge chairs and a gazebo with views of Fish Tail Mountain. A very very comfortable spot to spend the night. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hilary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

I stayed in a huge room in the lower part of the lodge down by the river for three nights a couple of years ago and highly recommend it (I didn't use the upper facilities, but they looked nice). The lodge was clean, comfortable, has excellent staff, and great food. The only downside at that time there were no screens on the windows so I had to keep them shut at night as was nervous about mosquitoes (I was told that screens were to be put on). I've stayed in quite a few other hotels in Nepal and this was, by far, the best! I highly recommend getting a foot massage everyday...that was a real bonus!

Room Tip: All of the rooms down by the river were huge, comfy, and clean!
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ladeela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

This is the best and most wonderful lodge ever in my 3 weeks of trekking at Annapurna Range. Be it food or service, it is the best ever in the entire region. Food are nutritious and tasty. Staff are friendly and courteous. The lodge itself is extremely clean and comfortable.

In many other lodges, hot water are dependant on luck. Even those that you need to pay. But in sanctuary lodge, hot water is guaranteed running through pipes into your bathroom. This is extremely refreshing especially when I went there at the end of winter but it is still freezing.

There are ample space to hang your clothes if you were to wash them. You can also leave your boots out to dry, however do make sure that you bring them into the rooms at night. According to the staff, dogs will come at night and might carry your boots away with them.

There is a provision shop at the entrance (which is at the top of a flight of stairs) which sells necessities. It's not much, however you do not need much when you are mountaineering.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Kiansoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2011

We spent a couple of nights at Sanctuary Lodge in October 2011. We were fortunate enough to have clear weather, so we got to enjoy terrific views of the surrounding Annapurnas. If you enjoy nighttime photography, the night skies are amazing. The room we stayed in was HUGE and very comfortable. The property is absolutely lovely, with gorgeous flowers everywhere. The staff was very nice too! We very much enjoyed waking up each morning to a knock on the door and the offer of coffee or tea.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank TravellerChristina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2011

Sanctuary lodge was our first stop on our three night trek starting at Lumle. Our first trek took us about two hours, most of which was downhill on stone steps passing through the villages of Chandrakot & Tomijung. After crossing a rather unnerving wire bridge, it was just a short stroll to Sanctuary Lodge. We were very impressed when we got there. Beautiful gardens, spotlessly clean and well equipped bedroom and a bathroom that would have not looked out of place in a four star hotel!.A few minutes from the lodge takes you to the raging river with beautiful views and plently of spots to get away from it all. Lunch, dinner & breakfast were all excellent. The staff were all extremely friendly & attentive and the happy hour an unexpected bonus! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank NikkifEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Annapurna Region
0.0 mi away
Atithi Resort & Spa
Atithi Resort & Spa
#28 of 105 in Pokhara
300 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Yak & Yeti
Hotel Yak & Yeti
#47 of 207 in Kathmandu
1,165 reviews
0.0 mi away
Temple Tree Resort & Spa
Temple Tree Resort & Spa
#8 of 105 in Pokhara
662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Gokarna Forest Resort
Gokarna Forest Resort
#28 of 207 in Kathmandu
824 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tiger Mountain Pokhara Lodge
0.0 mi away
Kasara Resort
Kasara Resort
#2 of 23 in Chitwan National Park
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanctuary Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanctuary Lodge

Address: Birethanti | P.O. Box 326, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Western Region > Gandaki Zone > Annapurna Region
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Annapurna Region
Number of rooms: 19
Also Known As:
Sanctuary Hotel Annapurna Region
Sanctuary Lodge Nepal/Annapurna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing