We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis of calm.”
Review of Buddha Maya Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Buddha Maya Hotel
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Lumbini
Newbury, Berkshire.
Level 6 Contributor
289 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“An oasis of calm.”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We arrived here in a group having travelled for 10 hours by minibus from Varanasi and stayed for one night. It is set in lovely tranquil gardens. We had a room over in the annex where breakfast was served which was large and clean with a lovely bathroom. We ate in the restaurant in the evening - food was nothing special but ok and we thought a little expensive for Nepal. Free wifi in reception if my memory serves me right. Overall, a good stay.

Stayed March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Moriston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    62
    27
    18
    11
See reviews for
21
47
25
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Augusta
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Yes because this is the heartland of the teachings that all things undergo change decay and death. I thought our stay was poignant. On arriving we were welcomed, taken to our room which was 322, on the left hand edge of the building on the upper floor.The room was clean airy and beautifull. Air conditioned with ceiling fan.We decided to have a drink and a bite to eat, this was freshly prepared. I noticed that the windows and floors had not been cleaned and that the table cloths were grubby. At around four we headed of to the maya Devi kund to sit and enjoy the beauty of Buddhas birthplace , I have been many times, it always lives up to expectations. Around 7 we returned to find that the restaurant was being completely pulled apart by about 20 builders- walls being knocked down floor levelled and windows being removed. In fact the whole place is being remodelled. Next surprise was an allnight puga celebrating a new temple- this was the loudest puga I have ever heard, it went for what seemed all night and day. Great beds, though it was difficult to sleep.Apart from all that plus running out of soda water for lemon soda our stay was good.

Room Tip: If there is a super puga take a room as far away as possible, being aware that speakers surround the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maitreyaaugusta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2012

Big rooms, good service, nice food (dinner and b-fast). NO BAR, but you can get served anything (no hard stuff) anywhere. Close to main gate. We spent 2 days here and would come back. Lumbini has nothing more then the tempels to offer, we will be back anyway when all of it is done.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tafelbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park Village H, Guest Relations Manager at Buddha Maya Hotel, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Buddha Maya Garden would like to thank you for your review. Yes, we don’t have a bar, but we are planning to open a new restaurant and bar very shortly. We look forward to your visit soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 18, 2012 via mobile

Bad food,smelly rooms, unfriendly reception staff bad attitude towards nepali guest. Will never recommend to anyone and won't come back again. Please change your behaviors towards nepali guest. Mosquitos in room, smelly rooms, old rooms air condition doesn't work

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank S R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park Village H, Guest Relations Manager at Buddha Maya Hotel, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. Please accept our sincere apologies for our short comings. Our staffs at Buddha Maya have been appraised of your views - we will definitely improve our services and see that proper attitudes towards Nepalese are exhibited.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lumbini hotels

delhi
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2012

Dear friends, Lumbini is a very special place full of blessings! than staying at the buddha maya garden make it even more special, the staff is very friendly and kind, the rooms are great and clean, the place is very quite in the counrty side very near to the lumbini heritage site wich mark the birth of prince Gautam Sidhartha. I organize buddhist pilgrimage and will surely bring my groups again in this very pleasant hotel. Choose the rooms in the kapilavastu building as they are in the garden part and very quite.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maurodemarchDelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park Village H, Guest Relations Manager at Buddha Maya Hotel, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are very fortunate to have a hotel so close to the holy site. We are doing our best to ensure our guests coming for the pilgrimage have the comforts and peace needed while they are away from home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

This hotel was luxury compared with the accommodation we had experienced in India.The staff were friendly and helpful and we had a proper bed with pillows! The room was a good size with a clean shower room with western toilet and a balcony overlooking a large lily pond with the Himalayas in the distance. The food was good with loads for breakfast and the beer flowed. Gave us a chance to recharge our batteries before heading for Chitwan National Park to hike through the jungle! No mosquitos either and very close to Buddha's birthplace, the visitng of which was a very spiritual experience

Room Tip: Our room was up some stairs at the back of the hotel with lovely views from the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park Village H, Guest Relations Manager at Buddha Maya Hotel, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thank you for your review. We do our best to see that all our guests have a memorable stay at Buddha Maya Garden in Lumbini, the birth place of our Lord Gautama Buddha.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Lebanon
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

The food can't be eaten (really bad), only one kind of beer and one kind of wine (which is horrible too). staff is very unprofessional. We passed the whole night doing a mosquito and spider massacre in the room :)
The only good point is that the staff is nice

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jdh4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park Village H, Guest Relations Manager at Buddha Maya Hotel, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to inform us about our short comings. While our Chef has been instructed to improve upon the quality of food, we are looking into a wider selection of beer and wine at our Bar. We are also looking into a more effective pest controlling measure to remove the insects plus providing a better mosquitoes repellent in our rooms. We are positive that the steps we have taken after going through your comments will not be repeated for the benefit of others coming to stay with us at Buddha Maya Garden.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lumbini hotels
10.5 mi away
Hotel Nirvana
Hotel Nirvana
#5 of 8 in Lumbini
43 reviews
1.4 mi away
Lumbini Bamboo Resort
Lumbini Bamboo Resort
#7 of 8 in Lumbini
15 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Stupa
Hotel Stupa
#4 of 8 in Lumbini
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Lumbini Buddha Garden
Lumbini Buddha Garden
#1 of 21 in Lumbini
59 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Peace Palace Nepal
Hotel Peace Palace Nepal
#2 of 21 in Lumbini
70 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Ananda Inn
Hotel Ananda Inn
#5 of 21 in Lumbini
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buddha Maya Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buddha Maya Hotel

Property: Buddha Maya Hotel
Address: Lankapur, Lumbini 32914, Nepal (Formerly Buddha Maya Garden Hotel)
Location: Nepal > Western Region > Lumbini Zone > Lumbini
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Lumbini
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Buddha Maya Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Buddha-Maya Garden Hotel is owned and managed by the famous KGH Group. You may wake up to the sound of chirping of birds and religious hymns and take a morning walk to the Lumbini Sacred Garden or mediate in ancient archeological ruins, you can also visit the Monastic Zone to see the fascinating archeological ruins, and magnificent monasteries. In evening, stroll in the Tharu village at Buddha Nagar to observe age old culture and tradition. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Buddha Maya Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing