We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what's in a name? ...”
Review of Hotel Nirvana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Nirvana
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Lumbini
Terneuzen, Zeeland, Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“what's in a name? ...”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

well obviously also now this hotel would not liken Nirwana just for the fact that it was called just that. To us it was Nirwana (or close to that) because it just answered to all what we hoped for:
-working (silent) AC
-clean rooms
-nice view into an immaculate garden
-cold beer in the bar
-dry white wine served in a real cooler
-nice food, served with a smile
-friendly personnel
Maybe I still miss something but all in all we, 3 people, were very happy being there.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hein S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    14
    9
    8
    5
See reviews for
10
11
4
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

I stayed in Hotel Nirvana for a couple of weeks. The staff are awesome and really made my stay. They are polite, courteous and always smiling. Especially the cleaning ladies! Roshan at the front desk was a very professional young gentleman. I'm sorry I cannot remember the other boys name. The rooms were clean, air conditioned, well maintained and had hot water at certain hours of the day. The restaurant was nice and the boys there looked after me well. Room service was always prompt. The food was usually pretty ok, and even made me a special bland dish I requested. Oh the toasted/grilled sandwiches should be reviewed as they were inedible.

It is about a 30 minute drive to Lumbini, birthplace of buddha. If needed the staff at the hotel are helpful and could certainly manage to get you a driver if required.

Overall I would highly recommend this hotel. The staff here make this place. I hope the management team are aware of how good their staff are.

Room Tip: I stayed in two rooms over the time I spent there. I preferred the smaller room as it had a nice fe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Slodgey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2012

We stayed for one night at this hotel. The hotel was reasonably good - especially compared to other hotels we stayed at during our tour of Nepal. Only problem was that the water was cold in the morning and I'm not too keen on cold showers!! The food was excellent. We ate in the bar area as this had a bit more atmosphere - the restaurant was deserted.

As other reviewers have stated, it is a long way from the Sacred Garden.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bronwen123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pranay S, Director of Sales at Hotel Nirvana, responded to this review, June 17, 2012
Thank you for your feedback.. We apologize for cold shower in morning. I shall look into the matter whether it was problem in your room only or other rooms as well. We hope you had pleasant stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2012

First of all its confusing when the address says Lumbini. Its actually 25 KM away from lumbini sacred garden. So if you are travelling to Lumbini by air then its okay otherwise don't choose it. Its close to Bhairawaha Airport.
I will request to hotel management to accept payment via cards, so that it will be convenient for travellers/tourists. Rest everything is fine.

Rooms are big, AC was working perfectly -no issues. Service was excellent and food is very good (at least if you love indian foods). There is big garden just outside my room , so it soothing to eyes. Price is also reasonable.
I will recommend this hotel, and if I am returning to Lumbini , I will stay here again.

Room Tip: if possible choose rooms on the left wing, ground floor facing garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pareshpattanaik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pranay S, Director of Sales at Hotel Nirvana, responded to this review, June 17, 2012
Thank you for your feedback.. We do accept major debit / credit card. However during your visit there was problem with POS machine, which we have already asked our bank to replace. I hope you had pleasant stay with us. Looking forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bodhgaya
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 13, 2012

Hotel lumbini is simple home like hotel . All staff are very humble and caring .
We prefer only this hotel for our guests ( shechen clinic Bodhgaya ).
One thing which we would suggest and request the management of hotel is to be more professional in producing the Bills , most of the time it is produced without the signature of guests in that case it become difficult to pay the bills( though we always pay because the bills are no doubt genuine ) but during the finance audit we( shechen clinic ) face problems.So hope this will be taken care in future.
My good wishes are always with you lumbini International!
Shilpa Sinha
Director , Shechen Clinic
Bodhgaya, Gaya

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mailbox_shilpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathmandu, Nepal
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2012

Room are like cave no ventilation, A/C dose not work, TV dose not work, lots of insects in the room. Only one waiter serve Breakfast & Lunch in restaurant (Very slow service).

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank acharyaak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pranay S, Director of Sales at Hotel Nirvana, responded to this review, June 17, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. Our rooms window has been sealed to prevent accidental opening, which can lead to mosquito and insect inside. Being in hot temperature zone, this is one of the major problem. Even with such sealed windows, as it was evident in your stay that there was insect problem, which could been worse. We apologize for A/c problem in some of our rooms. We would be happy to shift you in another room in such case. And service are little slow during off season (which was time of your visit) as we run on limited resources. We do maintain fair employee to guest ratio, but some days guests flow are higher to cope up.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lumbini hotels

Burlington, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2012

First of all this hotel is at least a 40 min drive to Lumbini and is in fact located next to the airport in Bhairawa. At first glance it seems a welcome change from the depressing squalor of the town which has little to offer tourists. The hotel seems well designed and laid out and the room was pleasant. However, the hotel failed to meet our expectations in several respects:

- As commented elsewhere management was seldom visible except on one night when we were informed that our party of 12 could not be seated together due to a large tourist party that arrived for one night.
- Hot water was not available at the advertised times.
- Reception staff were not particularly friendly or helpful.
- Restaurant staff seemed to be very new and unfamiliar with the menu

The food in the restaurant was acceptable - although there are better restaurants in the town, few are within walking distance unless you know where you are going and there is no political activity going on.

I would not stay here again if given a choice. On my next visit to Lumbini I will look for a hotel much closer to the site and it was evident in 2012 that there are quite a few new hotels under constuction.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pranay S, Director of Sales at Hotel Nirvana, responded to this review, March 29, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. Firstly Lumbini is a region and site you referring to is Lumbini Scared Garden (which is a tourist spot). Bhairahawa is one of the major town in Lumbini region. From our records, i assume you were guest of LEI, so they must have booked you near to their institute rather than Lumbini Scared Garden.

We apologize for not able to arrange seating for your group due to other larger groups. We do have limited capacity in our restaurants and sometimes meal timings of groups are closeby. Regarding our staff, few of them are intern or new recruits (given the remoteness of area, we have to train them in house) so they might not be fully prepared. We support local employment generation and development rather than bringing trained staff from developed cities.

We do arrange hot water on advertised timing, but you might be aware during the time of your visit country had been facing acute energy crisis (14 hour power outage and diesel short supply). So sometimes we had to scale down a bit to conserve energy. For reference you can google 'nepal energy crisis feb 2012'
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lumbini hotels
10.5 mi away
Buddha Maya Hotel
Buddha Maya Hotel
#1 of 8 in Lumbini
147 reviews
9.2 mi away
Lumbini Bamboo Resort
Lumbini Bamboo Resort
#7 of 8 in Lumbini
15 reviews
10.3 mi away
Hotel Stupa
Hotel Stupa
#4 of 8 in Lumbini
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Hotel Peace Palace Nepal
Hotel Peace Palace Nepal
#2 of 21 in Lumbini
70 reviews
9.4 mi away
Lumbini Buddha Garden
Lumbini Buddha Garden
#1 of 21 in Lumbini
59 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Nansc Lumbini
Hotel Nansc Lumbini
#15 of 21 in Lumbini
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nirvana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nirvana

Property: Hotel Nirvana
Address: 24 Paklihawa Road | Siddartha Nagar, Lumbini 24, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Western Region > Lumbini Zone > Lumbini
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Lumbini
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Nirvana 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amidst the magnificent remnants of the past wonders of Lumbini, stands Hotel Nirvana. A contemporary hotel with all the modern state of the art facilities, but abounding in traditional hospitality - a beautiful interlacing of the old and new. A perfect place where people can come and spend time, discovering the magnificence of Lord Buddha's birth place, the ancient heritage, while resorting in a modern comfortable hotel. The Hotel has been specially for a holiday cum pilgrimage vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Nirvana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing