We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Buddha Bhoomi Guest House
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Lumbini
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Hotel Stupa(Lumbini)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Nirvana(Lumbini)
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tiger Palace Resort(Siddharthanagar)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (47)
Filter reviews
47 results
Traveler rating
13
13
10
6
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
13
13
10
6
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroom was cleanmain gatehot showerhirebuddha
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 47 reviews
Reviewed September 6, 2013

The only good thing in this hostel was the proximity to the main entrance gate which is very close to Maya Devi Temple. Rooms are not that clean, bed sheets had stains from previous users and there was no electricity during the night so it was impossible to sleep due to night heat, and noise of the electricity generators from the neighbour buildings. No AC rooms available and ceiling fan would work only from time to time if there is electricity available in the building.
If you have to stay in a bugdet place for only one night, you don't care about clean bed sheets and can afford sleepless night - this is your place.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hexagono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We didn't enjoy staying at this hotel at all. The worst thing about it was the power cuts which I know the whole of Nepal faces, but when they last five of six hours in the night and they don't switch on the generator, trying to sleep in the room was just unbearable. We were there two nights and it happened both nights so we didn't get very much sleep.

Another awful thing was the bed bugs. When we first arrived we chilled out in the room for a few hours as we were tired from our journey and noticed that we were both quite itchy. We joked about bed bugs but hadn't faced them anywhere else in Asia so shrugged it off. But when we came back after dinner and lay around in the room we started to notice bites and when we looked more closely, found loads of really big bed bugs everywhere - all over the floor and on the bed - I was so freaked out! We instantly asked to change rooms but were told 'the bites are just from mosquitos', so my boyfriend showed them a bug but the guy just shrugged, though let us move to the room across the hall. We spent ages inspecting the beds in that room with torches (the sheets were awful brown colours so difficult to spot bugs!) and found lots of white mites on the mattress, but by this point it was already 10pm so we couldn't really go elsewhere, plus had already paid for two nights so, being budget travelers, couldn't afford to pay for another room somewhere else anyway. So with the power cuts, unbearable heat and the constant worry about being bitten, we both had the worst two nights sleep of our entire 6month trip.

Also, we opted to do laundry there and were charged $13 for 2 small carrier bags of washing! The same amount of washing has never cost more than $4 anywhere else in the whole of Asia. The experience was also very embarrassing because they made me empty out all our dirty washing in the middle of reception so we could count how many of each item there were - never again do I want to be counting the amount of worn underwear there is with lots of people looking on!

On the plus side they have good wifi (if you're in a room on the first floor - it doesn't reach to the second floor), but we couldn't use it much because we couldn't bear to stay in the baking hot room (the power cuts really were the worst we'd faced in the whole of Nepal and they never put on the generator!).

My boyfriend would like to add that the breakfast of Tibetan bread and honey he had was nice, but my 'museli' was actually cold porridge so that wasn't great. Nice tea though!

Anyway, I wouldn't ever stay here again and would definitely not recommend it, but perhaps we were just unlucky. Don't do laundry here though! And check your room for bugs!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank livvilee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

It's a new hotel with clean rooms for a good price. You can order for a breakfast. A helpful staff. In the neighbourhood are small restaurant were you can have a good diner for a small price.
It is only five minutes walk to the park with several temples and the holy birthplace of the Buddha.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Arvad43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Buddha Bhoomi was a clean place that looked fairly new. It's off the main road but very close to everything as Lumbini is quite a small place. The restaurant serves decent food for cheap and in the mornings and at lunch time they're quick. There are less people around at dinner time so it takes longer to get your food. They had some major problems with the generator while we were there but at least they were constantly trying to do something about it and kept restarting it when it died. We paid 800R for a double room w/ bathroom and it was well worth it.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hiltsu-182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

first welcoming was really great.. owner was friendly and also guided me...room was pleasant,not that luxurious but cozy,dinner was excellent with lot of variety items..i was really impressed with facilities but lots of creepy insects...well i had great time there...good for solo travel..

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Subhichha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews