We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not miss out”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Planet Bhaktapur Hotel
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Bhaktapur
Certificate of Excellence
london
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Do not miss out”
Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

We've spent 5 days at the planet hotel end of feb 2013 - I can not raccomend this place enough. Francesco was really helpful during the booking - we got picked up at the airport and all was organised for us - great day trips with a driver- the hotel is only 15 mins walk from town - Bhaktapur is far more interesting place than Kathmandu, The square is beautiful and not as busy and chaotic as Kathmandu, we only spend 1 day in Kathmandu and it was enough didn't enjoy it much. The hotel planet location is great, very peaceful location with a nice garden - after a long day out it was nice to come back and enjoy the tranquility of the place. The rooms was big enough - hot water all the times - comfy beds - everyone at he planet was ever so friendly, they make you feel at home - food was great, lasagna was better than mine def.
I would definitely raccomend this place and would go back - thanks guys for making our stay so great.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank fabrizioparmeggiani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    337
    48
    6
    4
    1
See reviews for
52
162
52
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We've been travelling to Bhaktapur for work for three years now and have made Planet Bhaktapur our second home.

The staff and owner could not be more accommodating and helpful, and fun.

The food, always good, has gotten even better, including the Italian food (the owner is Italian).

All of our staff and co-workers stay at Planet and to the person, each person has absolutely loved their stay. The outdoor garden is a great place for dining and meetings.

The staff has, at times, when we are back in the U.S., stepped in and checked in on the orphanage that we sponsor to make sure everything is o.k.

Bhaktapur is great, Planet Bhaktapur is beautiful as is the staff.

See you at Planet.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andrewrai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2012

we had been staying at Planet for almost one week and after the first day's visit of KTM(after 18 years...!) my choice of deciding to move away from the city was confirmed as right.

as mentioned in other reviews staff is great, food is very good etc. , but above all I would stress the big advantage that you actually don't loose much time in everyday's catastrophic traffic to and fro KTM so it makes the ideal base for day trips around the valley.
Hope you guys don't loose your enthusiasm and fairness...!
and once again many thanks for finding the bees(I really mean bees...!) for my father!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DAVID J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2012

We live in Bhaktapur and enjoy strolling out to PLanet Bhaktapur to visit with Francesco and his staff, and enjoy some amazingly delicious pizza and lasagna. If you love Italy and Nepal you'll love how Bella Nepali blends these flavors into a perfect retreat from the chaos of Kathmandu.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andyl2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Following the culture shock of KTM, this is haven for all. Overall accommodation in Nepal really does lack comfort, however the Planet is basic but has a real welcome touch. The staff are very helpful, friendly and show great hospitality. Martin and Francesco helped organise a couple of days out with a driver and even though we have travelled on....these memories will be indelible. Nepal is place that intrigues you, scares you and challenges you...and Planet soothes you...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank samanthafreeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
196 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Only 30kms from the chaos and pollution of KTM, Bhaktapur is a much better place to stay. And in Bhaktapur, Planet is the way to go as far as quality and unpretentious accommodation is concerned. Yam, Francesco, Martin do a great job to ensure that guests feel welcome. This is a great place for kids, too, with its big flat (a luxury here) garden where they can run and play ball. The rooms are very spacious and clean and Planet wins hands-down the trans-Nepali award for best hot shower with real water pressure. Finally, the food is very tasty, straight out of the kitchen that guests are quite welcome to visit (always a good sign in Nepal). Finally, the management at Planet is involved in a number of humanitarian activities so your money is also well spent. About 100 Euros per day with breakfast and diner + drinks for a family of 4.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WoburnExpress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugano, Switzerland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

nothing beats Planet Bhaktapur. This homely feeling, the security, the friendly people, unbelievable good food (nepali food and western food) and the rooms..oh the rooms.
Spacious (and when you travel especially with a backpack you appreciate you can sort out your clothes), clean (everyday towels change) and quiet. We spent one week planning our Upper Mustang Trek trip (do not forget that the owners help you with this kind of activities too) and when we came back we were supposed to spent two days in Kathmandu. No way: we beg for two more nights at the Planet!!
We loved it and suggest it to each one you searching for a non commercial sterile and noisy place! You'll feel home away from home.

Room Tip: the rooms on all 4 corners are bigger. All rooms are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SmallRaffaela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bhaktapur
1.6 mi away
Bhaktapur Paradise Hotel
Bhaktapur Paradise Hotel
#2 of 8 in Bhaktapur
69 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Heritage
Hotel Heritage
#3 of 8 in Bhaktapur
136 reviews
0.7 mi away
Shiva Guest House1 & 2
Shiva Guest House1 & 2
#4 of 8 in Bhaktapur
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Club Himalaya
Club Himalaya
#1 of 18 in Nagarkot
742 reviews
5.0 mi away
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
#3 of 198 in Kathmandu
433 reviews
5.6 mi away
Dwarika's Hotel
Dwarika's Hotel
#12 of 198 in Kathmandu
1,072 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Planet Bhaktapur Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Planet Bhaktapur Hotel

Property: Planet Bhaktapur Hotel
Address: Mandev Marg 7 | Jhaukhel Vdc, Bhaktapur 44800, Nepal
Phone Number:
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Bhaktapur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Bhaktapur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Planet Bhaktapur Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located on the top of small hill situated 1 km from Bhaktapur Durbar Square (10 minutes walking). 13 rooms with attached bathroom, 24 hour hot water, free wifi in rooms and in garden too. 5 large rooms (mt 7x5) and 8 standard rooms (mt 4.5x4). "La Bella Nepali" restaurant on ground floor or in the garden and rooftop terrace can serve Nepali, international and good Italian food. Tour desk helping you traveling around all Nepal (and Tibet too). We organize also tours. Special offer 6 days/6 nights HP with car and driver included to visit the Kathmandu Valley and surrounding places. For anything is not written here, please ask and we try to do our best to help You. Namaste ! Francesco and Yam. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Planet Bhaktapur Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Planet Hotel Bhaktapur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing