We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (303)
Filter reviews
303 results
Traveler rating
144
130
18
7
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
144
130
18
7
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsexcellent locationtop floorsquarenepalgatetouristshistory
Filter
Updating list...
186 - 191 of 303 reviews
Reviewed December 6, 2011

We stayed in Shiva guest house 1 right on the square. The staff are very freindly and helpful. No lifts but they carried our bags up to the top floor. Also a very good restaurant, though our Nepalese friend described the curry as "tourist curry" it was very mild.
Also given good and accurate tourist information.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mountains999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2011

Right in the centre of the town this is a great guest house. Very friendly with a popular restaurant. No lift to the upstairs room but staff carried our bags up.

A good place to stay away from manic Kathmandu.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2011

guest house is very nice and friendly. shiva gh 2 is in a quite place, better than shiva gh 1. Shiva 2 is also close to entrance of dubar squar. Everything was good except no hotwater for shower at night due to power failure. However in the next morning hotwater came. If I come to nepal again, I will still choose shive 2. In addition, shiva gh restaunant was good, chicken saslick was very delicious.

Room Tip: shiva 2 is much more better than shiva 1.
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WDKUN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2011

We stayed in a twin room in Shiva 2 with a private bathroom. The room was spacious, the staff were friendly and they were always willing to help. The generator always kicked in for scheduled power cuts, which meant although it was noisy we were never without electricity :) The wifi was reliable and was a definite bonus. On the down side, due to it's location it was a little noisy from the bustling square below, and our bin in the bathroom was not emptied during our week long stay (you can't flush toilet tissue in the toilet, you have to put it in a bin). Most of the time I needed a shower the water was warm but be prepared for a cold shower from time to time.

Room Tip: It's worth paying extra for a private bathroom! Take flip flops for the wet room shower.
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Backpacker610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2011

We had the room on the 3rd floor with direct view on Durbar square. A unique loction for a hotel. Get up early in the morning at about 05.30 and have a look at the squares to see all the local people visting the temples. On this great location it is easy to see the local early moring local life without any tourist. It is not only the excelent location but also the staff is very frendly and helpful and can assist you to obtain bus tickets etc. Also the food is of a very good quality and befor diner it is nice to sit in front of the hotel with a beer and share experiance with other travellers.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaap_Carla_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews