We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Greatest place in Bhaktapur for short or long term stay!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Golden Gate Guest House
Ranked #20 of 55 Bhaktapur B&B and Inns
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Greatest place in Bhaktapur for short or long term stay!!”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Golden Guesthouse is a great family-run guesthouse right in the heart of Bhaktapur. It is a few steps away from both Tamadi square and Durbar Square, but also protected from the noise of either squares, which is great because they can get quite noisy.

There is a range of choice from simple rooms with or without toilet or balcony, to more luxurious and spacious ones.
The staff are very accomodating with any needs and will make you feel at home at all times.
My partner and I stayed there for two months, as we were volunteering at a nearby school, on day one, the owner asked us to make it our home, and it was so true!! We had to leave to go to school everyday at 6, and our breakfast was always ready so that we wouldn't have to wait and we could have an extra snooze. I believe one of the staff woke up earlier than usual just to cook our breakfast every day.
The rooftop is amazing, you can chill while you watch all of Bhaktapur, and even see the Himalayan range on clear days, which luckily for us, was quite often as we were there on the high season.
The food is really nice, and very cheap, and there is a mix of traditional nepali food, but also western food, and great vegetarian choices, if that is your thing, and also great newari feasts on request.
The staff were great, all of them knew us on our first name basis, and all of them speak great English too. They are always happy to give advice on anything when needed, and they also helped us out getting the long-stay cards for Bhaktapur or trips to Kathmandu and elsewhere.
I heard that some people use Bhaktapur as a base camp when staying in Nepal to stay away from the craziness, noise, traffic and polution of Kathmandu, which is only a half-hour trip on the bus, and I can certainly understand why!

I certainly couldn't recommend this place enough, make it your first choice in Bhaktapur, you won't be disappointed!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoldenGateguesthouse, Owner at Golden Gate Guest House, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thank you Jon for writing a beautiful review. I am so pleased to know you and your friends in person and i cannot be thank ful enough for having shared your splendid experience with us. The values we shared are priceless the western culture as well as the eastern traditions and also for the "parchiss". Wish you all the best for your journey and travel. Hope to see you in near future...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    23
    4
    3
    3
See reviews for
1
17
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 17, 2013

This guest house is situated in the heart of durbar area. Named after golden gate one of the attraction of the city. The lay out of the restaurant is beautiful with antique wood carving. The rooftop cafe is my favourite where i could enjoy the view of beautiful mountain with my pot of coffee in the morning. The rooms are big enough good value for money. The staffs are friendly and the service is very satisfying.I will definitely stay here again when i am back here in August.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sanny1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amersfoort, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012

This guesthouse is in right the middle of Bhaktapur, in a small courtyard. You are not bothered by sounds of the surrounding, during festivals that is a very good thing, especially if you're staying more than 1 or 2 nights.
This guesthouse is family run, what helps with the good service and atmosphere (compared with for example the more expensive Shiva Guesthouse)
It is clean, (most of) the rooms are big enough, and have their own bathroom.
It has a fabulous roof terrace which overlooks the entire city.
You can have breakfast soaking in the sun on one of the highest roofs around, and with a clear sky you can see the Himalaya's from here !

The top floor has 2 excellent rooms, which are probably a bit more expensive than the lower floors but they are spotless ! If you are a little more on a budget, the lower floors (where we were) are cheap and excellent value for money as well !
If you want to go hiking, ask the son of the house for good routes (Decent), he is keen on gettin' out and about, and will show you around the valley for a day for a very acceptable fee if you ask him nicely ;-)

Please go look at this Guesthouse first before you go check on the others, you will definitely like the value for money and get back here ! I would reccomend this Guesthouse any time.

Their phone number is 01-6612427, or 01-6610534, and their email address is Goldengate@mail.com.np

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gerard t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoldenGateguesthouse, Owner at Golden Gate Guest House, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and taking your time to jot down some of your genuine view. I am really greatful to know you and your fiancee and also sharing views about spirituality, life and all the little things we skip to learn because of our indulgence in this corporal world. It was my pleasure to hike with you and share the traditional ideas that collides with the material world.
I Hope to see you in near future, and also would like to congratulate both of you for a prosperous future together.
Sincerely,
Golden Gate Guest House.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

This hotel hidden in a courtyard just off the main Durbar Square is ideally located and prices good for what you get. The staff are friendly and helpful. Rooms and bathrooms are clean, and hot water was plentiful. Security is fine, the windows are bolted and the main gate locked at night. Power sockets are available in the rooms, plus a backup generator for the Nepal load sharing. Bed mattresses like most of Nepal are a bit hard though.

There is a restaurant downstairs and upstairs a nice little roof garden where you can eat. The view from here is great, overlooking the big tiered temples and out over the roofs of Bhaktapur, especially nice at sunset.

Because of the location, like all the hotels around the old town, it is noisy in the morning (from about 5am onwards) as you can hear the local devotees going around ringing bells at the shrines. Earplugs or an early night are recommended!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jigsawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoldenGateguesthouse, Owner at Golden Gate Guest House, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Thank you so much for appreciating our hospitality. We are obliged that you took your time for submitting your review at the tripadvisor. Thank you so much, and hope to see you come back to Nepal for more adventure and Hiking routes.
Sincerely,
Golden Gate Guest House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

I stayed here with my boyfriend, and we liked the place so much we ended up extending our stay by four days! The rooms are clean, spacious, and bright, the beds comfy, and the shower hot and powerful. We made friends with one of the young guys who runs this place, and he took us out for a beautiful cup of tea on the hillside at sunset. Oh and we spent every morning and evening on the roof enjoying the panoramic views of the valley and Baktapur!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anya S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We stayed in this guesthouse on 3 separate occasions (my bf the first time he came to nepal, and us both before and after our trekking the second time!)
It could not be better located, only a couple of minutes walk from the main ticket gate. The staff are very friendly and offer tours around Bhaktapur which are very insightful and give you a real feel to the place. During a transport strike, the owners helped us organise travel to our next location.
Great rooftop cafe and restaurant for morning and evening sun views!
Decent is an awesome hotel owner and we would highly recommend his walking tours, they really are worth it!

Room Tip: the lower rooms are cheaper and you get good views anyway from the rooftop
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank carlface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We stayed for one night in this hotel and had a wonderful time.

Decent the manger of the hotel was absolutely brilliant. He made us feel very welcome and went out of his way to help us. He also gave us some great advice for our travels in Nepal.

The location of the hotel is awesome. Although it is right in the centre of Bhaktapur because it is located in a quiet courtyard we had a very peaceful and comfortable nights sleep.

We stayed in room 117. It was very clean and spacious and had a balcony overlooking the square. The roof terrace at the top of the hotel is also lovely for relaxing with some tea.

I am looking forward to staying at the Golden Gate Guest House next time I am in Bhaktapur.

Room Tip: Room 117 was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lucylou1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bhaktapur
7.8 mi away
Hotel Thamel
Hotel Thamel
#47 of 198 in Kathmandu
324 reviews
0.0 mi away
Shiva Guest House1 & 2
Shiva Guest House1 & 2
#4 of 8 in Bhaktapur
286 reviews
0.1 mi away
Heart of Bhaktapur Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Peacock Guest House
Peacock Guest House
#1 of 55 in Bhaktapur
201 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kumari Guest House
Kumari Guest House
#10 of 55 in Bhaktapur
32 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tulaja Boutique Hotel
Tulaja Boutique Hotel
#8 of 55 in Bhaktapur
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Gate Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Gate Guest House

Property: Golden Gate Guest House
Address: Durbar Square,11. P.O. Box:21, Bhaktapur, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Bhaktapur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Bhaktapur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Golden Gate Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Golden Gate Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing