We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a lovely experience - highly recommended!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Peacock Guest House
Ranked #1 of 60 Bhaktapur B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 11, 2013

The building might be 500 years old, but the service was modern and friendly!

In the heart of Bhaktapur, this guest house more than makes up for its simplicity with lovely, accommodating staff, a tasty bakery and a feeling you're really immersing yourself in the history of this amazing town.

Rooms are clean - actually very clean considering the age of the establishment. Ceilings are low, but this really isn't a problem unless you're 6 foot! Breakfast was the best we had on our Nepal trip - served in the cafe or by your room if you prefer. Actually, the flexibility of the management was a pleasant change and nothing was too difficult or annoying for them - well done!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FreqFlyerAU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arunodaya P, Owner at Peacock Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking out time to share your experience staying with us at Peacock Guest House. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and experience the charm of our ancient Guest house.

Thank you once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (220)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

128 - 134 of 220 reviews

Reviewed November 9, 2013

We spent 2 nights at Bhaktapur away from Kathmandu's pollution and although it's located just 25-mins away from the city, the experience was surreal. Lynne & Arun hosted us with so much warmth & attention - welcomed us upon our arrival, helped us with our ground arrangements and made our stay particularly memorable. They even started a new cafe/bakery which serves an assortment of delicious muffins which seem to be very difficult to attain within the city.
The bedrooms are large and clean with attached bathrooms with water heater.
Many furnitures within the guest house are handmade by their very own wood carvings workshop located just downstairs - this includes their beautifully carved sculptures, bed frames, chairs & tables, etc.
We even had a quaint verandah overlooking skies of pigeons and their cafe downstairs.
Location wise, although situated slightly further away from Thamel, the taxi rides are relatively inexpensive for the distance & should not exceed Rs.300. Most importantly, it is located away from the air & noise pollution within the city. Arun & Lynne has been more than willing to make the necessary arrangements for us.
Overall, our stay was wonderfully memorable & unforgettable with the family.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank immypool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Peacock Guest House is one of the most beautiful buildings in Bhaktapur with gorgeous wood carvings and a wonderful authentic experience. Reservations were easy and we received prompt responses and they were able to arrange transportation to and from the airport and were very accommodating. The room was very spacious, clean and comfortable and really interesting with all the wood carvings. Located in a great, central location and one a quieter square so not much noise at night. Breakfast was great and the bakery had delicious muffins. A wonderful stay and highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TXCanadian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Peacock guest house is one of the beautiful buildings in Bakthapur with rich history and architecture to admire. The experience of staying in it and being hosted by the great people, Arun and family, is priceless.
During our stay in Bakthapur, we were having issues with the inexperienced tour guide and Arun had agreed to our request to show us around since we practically occupied the whole guest house during that time.
Arun is the best guide we could ever had as he grew up in this beautiful place and shared with us not only the history and tourist spots but also the life of the local people and the stories of his families.
Peacock guest house with these welcoming hosts is definitely the best place to lodge in Bakthapur! !

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shiauthing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We spend one night in the Peacock Guest House on our way back from Nagarkot to Kathmandu in order to visit Bhaktapur. Our stay couldn't have been better. The room was amazing, very well decorated with all kinds of handcrafts manufactured in the wood carving workshop downstairs, and clean also. The guest house has this old Nepal atmosphere that we came to love so much.
If you've got a couple of days to spare go to Bhaktapur and stay at Peacock, you won't regret it.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JumpingLangur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Very nice and interesting ancient building. Instead of going to an anonymous hotel in Thamel, come here ! It take 45 minutes from the airport and the hotel has an efficient pickup service. The location is great, the only negative thing is the 10 euro/15 dollars that you have to pay to enter in Bhaktapur.

Room Tip: The 30$ room was ok
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jo_75004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

With its great location, friendly and hospitable service and comfortable rooms, Peacock Guesthouse suited us perfectly. We loved it so much, we stayed twice, on arrival and again for a couple of nights before departure. The views from our deluxe room were constantly fascinating and the building itself is steeped in history - beautifully crafted. We have wonderful memories of our time in Bhaktapur, with many thanks to Arun, Indra and Raj.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Elke E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bhaktapur
1.2 mi away
Bhaktapur Paradise Hotel
Bhaktapur Paradise Hotel
#2 of 8 in Bhaktapur
76 reviews
0.7 mi away
Planet Bhaktapur Hotel
Planet Bhaktapur Hotel
#1 of 8 in Bhaktapur
411 reviews
0.4 mi away
Shiva Guest House1 & 2
Shiva Guest House1 & 2
#4 of 8 in Bhaktapur
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Kantipur Temple House
Kantipur Temple House
#22 of 207 in Kathmandu
802 reviews
5.6 mi away
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
#3 of 207 in Kathmandu
461 reviews
6.0 mi away
Club Himalaya
Club Himalaya
#1 of 16 in Nagarkot
776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peacock Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peacock Guest House

Address: Dattatreya Square | Tachupal Tole, Bhaktapur 44800, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Bhaktapur
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 60 B&Bs / Inns in Bhaktapur
Price Range: $43 - $65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Peacock Guest House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peacock Guest House is in the oldest Square of Bhaktapur, Dattatraya Square which houses the famous Peacock Window. The building is part of UNESCO World Heritage Site. Experience the era of traditional Newari architecture with added basic modern facilities. It also has a Wood Carving Shop where workers carve 100% by hand intricate newari designs on windows/furnitures. And it also has a Bakery where you get Illy Coffee and freshly baked muffins every day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Peacock Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing