We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic experience in heart of Bhaktapur”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Peacock Guest House
Ranked #1 of 60 Bhaktapur B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Peacock Guest House is one of the most beautiful buildings in Bhaktapur with gorgeous wood carvings and a wonderful authentic experience. Reservations were easy and we received prompt responses and they were able to arrange transportation to and from the airport and were very accommodating. The room was very spacious, clean and comfortable and really interesting with all the wood carvings. Located in a great, central location and one a quieter square so not much noise at night. Breakfast was great and the bakery had delicious muffins. A wonderful stay and highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TXCanadian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (220)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

130 - 136 of 220 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2013

Peacock guest house is one of the beautiful buildings in Bakthapur with rich history and architecture to admire. The experience of staying in it and being hosted by the great people, Arun and family, is priceless.
During our stay in Bakthapur, we were having issues with the inexperienced tour guide and Arun had agreed to our request to show us around since we practically occupied the whole guest house during that time.
Arun is the best guide we could ever had as he grew up in this beautiful place and shared with us not only the history and tourist spots but also the life of the local people and the stories of his families.
Peacock guest house with these welcoming hosts is definitely the best place to lodge in Bakthapur! !

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shiauthing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We spend one night in the Peacock Guest House on our way back from Nagarkot to Kathmandu in order to visit Bhaktapur. Our stay couldn't have been better. The room was amazing, very well decorated with all kinds of handcrafts manufactured in the wood carving workshop downstairs, and clean also. The guest house has this old Nepal atmosphere that we came to love so much.
If you've got a couple of days to spare go to Bhaktapur and stay at Peacock, you won't regret it.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JumpingLangur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Very nice and interesting ancient building. Instead of going to an anonymous hotel in Thamel, come here ! It take 45 minutes from the airport and the hotel has an efficient pickup service. The location is great, the only negative thing is the 10 euro/15 dollars that you have to pay to enter in Bhaktapur.

Room Tip: The 30$ room was ok
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jo_75004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

With its great location, friendly and hospitable service and comfortable rooms, Peacock Guesthouse suited us perfectly. We loved it so much, we stayed twice, on arrival and again for a couple of nights before departure. The views from our deluxe room were constantly fascinating and the building itself is steeped in history - beautifully crafted. We have wonderful memories of our time in Bhaktapur, with many thanks to Arun, Indra and Raj.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Elke E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We stayed here for two nights and wished it were longer. Situated in the heart of the historic area, our stay was ideal. Highly recommend for families, personal service, great breakfast and comfortable rooms.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Bec186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We spent two nights at Peacock Guest House and were very happy with our choice. Arun and Indra are lovely hosts with a wealth of knowledge about Bhaktapur and Nepal; and we loved our time with them. The guest house is family-run with a wood carving business also housed in the same building; during the day you can watch the artisans hammering and carving around you. The building is located in the Dattatreya Square which is a lovely, relatively quiet area of Bhaktapur. Indra makes what I believe are the only muffins to be found in Bhaktapur and they are delicious. Note that the rooms have very low ceilings and small doors, and the stairs are steep, so wouldn't suit older travellers or families with small children. We did not have hot water while we were there, although there was a heater in the bathroom. Also: we stayed in the deluxe room with stairs going up to the attic and the second night we discovered rats in the attic! Thankfully, the room beside us was unoccupied so we slept in there but if rodents make you queasy then be sure to reserve a room without an attic :) All in all though, we had a great stay at Peacock Guest House and will definitely be recommending it to our friends in the future.

Room Tip: There were rats in the deluxe room with the storage space, so if rodents make you queasy then pick a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank N Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bhaktapur
1.2 mi away
Bhaktapur Paradise Hotel
Bhaktapur Paradise Hotel
#2 of 8 in Bhaktapur
76 reviews
0.7 mi away
Planet Bhaktapur Hotel
Planet Bhaktapur Hotel
#1 of 8 in Bhaktapur
411 reviews
0.4 mi away
Shiva Guest House1 & 2
Shiva Guest House1 & 2
#4 of 8 in Bhaktapur
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Kantipur Temple House
Kantipur Temple House
#22 of 207 in Kathmandu
801 reviews
5.6 mi away
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
#3 of 207 in Kathmandu
461 reviews
6.0 mi away
Club Himalaya
Club Himalaya
#1 of 16 in Nagarkot
776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peacock Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peacock Guest House

Address: Dattatreya Square | Tachupal Tole, Bhaktapur 44800, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Bhaktapur
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 60 B&Bs / Inns in Bhaktapur
Price Range: $43 - $65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Peacock Guest House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peacock Guest House is in the oldest Square of Bhaktapur, Dattatraya Square which houses the famous Peacock Window. The building is part of UNESCO World Heritage Site. Experience the era of traditional Newari architecture with added basic modern facilities. It also has a Wood Carving Shop where workers carve 100% by hand intricate newari designs on windows/furnitures. And it also has a Bakery where you get Illy Coffee and freshly baked muffins every day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Peacock Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing