We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pagoda Guest House - October 2013”
Review of Pagoda Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pagoda Guest House
Reviewed February 12, 2014

Great place to stay with a perfect central location. The family that runs the guest house was very welcoming and helpful. I definitely recommend staying here if your travels take you through Bhaktapur.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ta1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (41)
There are newer reviews for Pagoda Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

19 - 25 of 41 reviews

Reviewed December 29, 2013

Pro: location is excellent, couldn't be better.
Room, a double in Pagoda was clean, old, cold and with antiquated electrical outlets.
On the first night, because of the usual elec power fall-out, we had a rather old gas heater and had to leave the window or door open(!!) because it was 'dangerous'. Not very comforting.
Later we got hot water bottles - very comforting!
Morning: having been informed about the in-house restaurant we went to the roof and ordered a very simple breakfast, for two...nepal omelette, two pieces of dry toast and a cup of hot lemon with honey. Nothing special, but the bill was almost NPR 800...more than we usually pay for a quality vegetarian dinner for two!!
The owner did charge my iPad (at no cost,) and both he and the staff are actually very nice, BUT the pricing policy really needs looking at if they want to get good reviews, particularly for their restaurant.
They seem to have taken over the adjacent Newa Guest House, where the rooms, at first impression, seem to be of a better quality.

Facit: probably quite adequate in the warm seasons but one's better off eating somewhere else.

Room Tip: Look at the rooms in Newa Guest House ( next door, but same management) before deciding, some of the...
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brynjos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

It's always the people that really make your stay. The owners at Pagoda are friendly, engaging and helpful. The guest house itself is well positioned, right next to the prettiest square, Taumadhi, in Bhaktapur, but set back just enough to feel like it's not on the main thoroughfare or tourist routes. Rooms are comfortable, clean and well looked after, and importantly there's a range of rooms to suit any budget. If you want basic, then they do that well; if you want en suite and other luxuries, then they do that well too.

The rooftop restaurant has views to rival any in Bhaktapur. Breakfast was good, prompt and tasty, and reviews suggest that other meals meet this standard too.

We thought this place good enough to recommend to a tour operator in Kathmandu to use for future organised trips to this wonderful town. Just remember to leave the tourist heavy squares behind to find a bowl of the delicious 'King of curds' while you're there.

Room Tip: A range of rooms to suit any budget. Be sure to try to get rooms in the old main part of Pagoda rat...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GJBradford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

Bhaktapur is a great alternative to the madness of Kathmandu and we stayed at the Pagoda Guest House at the beginning and end of our trip to Nepal. It's a modest establishment (you're in Nepal, after all) but clean, well located and well run. Best of all, Ravi and Sharmila are gracious and friendly hosts who will make you feel right at home. Don't miss the King Curd!

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Awaywithwordz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

The Guest House is very well located, has a lovely view, and the owner was friendly and chatted with us as we ate dinner. He talked about his travels to the States and how often he visits his sons who live there and how next time he intends to stay at the Bellagio Hotel in Las Vegas. I was impressed with his experience in America and walked away thinking "wow this dude is loaded, traveling to America once a year and staying at fancy hotels..." After our sleeping on old bedding, prices for laundry, the "service fee" tacked onto the price of the room upon check-out, maybe I understand a bit more clearly how he affords so much travel and high end hotel stays Stateside.

Unfortunately, we were in the one room with the bathroom located on the outside. There was a padlock on the bathroom door, so every time we had to use the bathroom it was somewhat of an ordeal. It was also located right at the top of the stairs in between the rooftop floor and the main entrance with a huge mirror reflecting your every move to the bathroom or shower to those below.

I was elated to have a heater in the room, until we discovered not only it didn't help warm up our room at all, and it took up the one of the two outlets in the room, only one of which was actually functional. When we tried to plug in our camera batteries/computers to charge, the outlets wouldn't hold our chargers unless we propped them up against a bag creating a fire hazard and we sat perfectly still as not to unhinge the adaptors. In the morning, the outlets didn't work at all.

The wi-fi was spotty. When we went down to ask about it, they had changed the password- but we wouldn't have known unless we asked.

The room is clean, in that 70's (fake flowers everywhere) kinda way, but the beds are terribly uncomfortable, the pillows and comforter have to be at least 20 years old and I was not warm at all. Two of us slept in the twin bed (leaving the single open) just to keep warm.

We shared what we thought was a cashew chicken curry on the rooftop for dinner- but when we got it, it was more like a chinese dish that was awkward to eat with the rotti we ordered instead of rice. I'm not sure if it's related to this meal or not, but I woke up with terrible stomach pains in the morning. And had to make many awkward trips to the padlocked bathroom- which was not at all pleasant hopping around trying to get it unlocked before I had an accident- again, in the middle of the main stairwell of the guesthouse.

I started this review giving the guesthouse an "average" rating, but the more I wrote about it, the less I rated it. Again, the owner was very nice, and I feel terrible giving it such a bad review. Maybe the rooms with attached bathrooms, working outlets, working heater, and updated bedding are where everyone else stayed who reviewed this guesthouse... Otherwise I'm quite aghast comparing my own experience to those who have rated it so highly.

Also worth noting: The laundry pricing is ridiculous. It's not done by kilo, rather each item of clothing has an itemized price with a 10% service charge. (Crazy.)

And, upon check-out, we were notified that there was a service charge for the room. We had to pay 10% that we were not otherwise prepared to pay. I have never had to pay a service charge for a hotel room and felt like this was shady business. We accepted the room partly because of the price, but then it went up upon check-out? Not cool. They should put this "service charge" in the base price of the hotel or at least notify potential guests about this additional fee up front.

I'm sad we didn't just stay at the first guesthouse we checked out. We thought we were getting a better deal at Pagoda, but in the end, we weren't at all with the bathroom on the outside and the last minute service charge added.

Room Tip: If you stay here, choose a room with an attached bathroom. Don't assume the wifi isn't worki...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank thiskentuckygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2012

We stayed for 9 nights in early November 2011. An interesting historic city well worth a lengthy visit. The Guest House is well situated - it was clean, comfortable, free WiFi, and great value for money. We ate the vast majority of our meals at the Guest House's rooftop restaurant and were never disappointed. The staff were terrific. The owners were most welcoming and far more helpful than I can explain in a review - our experience was so much more than we ever expected and we were very sad to leave. If we are ever fortunate enough to venture back that way, we would not consider staying anywhere else - this was perfect!!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maurs7315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2012

This is without a doubt one of the best places to stay in Bhaktapur. You get affordable price and great rooms fully equipped also great terrace views over Bhaktapur's pagoda temple called Nyatapola Temple, the tallest pagoda in the world. Amazing and incredible views. Staff are very friendly indeed. Rooms and toilets are very clean. Great location

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joaoleitao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bhaktapur hotels
0.1 mi away
Shiva Guest House1 & 2
Shiva Guest House1 & 2
#4 of 8 in Bhaktapur
286 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bhaktapur Paradise Hotel
Bhaktapur Paradise Hotel
#2 of 8 in Bhaktapur
73 reviews
0.5 mi away
Krishna's House
Krishna's House
#2 of 58 in Bhaktapur
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Heart of Bhaktapur Guest House
0.0 mi away
Sunny Guest House
Sunny Guest House
#34 of 58 in Bhaktapur
93 reviews
0.4 mi away
Peacock Guest House
Peacock Guest House
#1 of 58 in Bhaktapur
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pagoda Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pagoda Guest House

Address: 11 Taumadhi Square, Bhaktapur 44800, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Bhaktapur
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Bhaktapur
Price Range: $16 - $22 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 28

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing