We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Pagoda Guest House
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Bhintuna(Bhaktapur)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Yechu(Bhaktapur)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sanga Resort(Bhaktapur)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Heritage(Bhaktapur)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (45)
Filter reviews
45 results
Traveler rating
15
18
4
2
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
15
18
4
2
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstaumadhi squaregreat locationthe ownerhot waterkathmandu
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 45 reviews
Reviewed November 20, 2011

We stayed here for one night on our 15 night tour of Nepal and Bhutan. Had we seen the room before our driver and guide disappeared, we wouldn't have stayed. As others have stated, the location is excellent - seconds away from a rich array of amazing tourist attractions and some wonderful shopping opportunities and there is free wifi. None of this could make up for the state of our room. The toilet/shower room was dreadful, the bathmat was full of mould and the door wouldn't shut. (Luckily we have known each other a very long time - trust me, this would NOT be romantic, in any way shape or form!) We slept in our clothes as we were not too sure about the state of the bedding.
We only used the restaurant for breakfast, as when we went to find a table in the evening there was nowhere for us to sit. We ate in a great place in Taumadhi Square instead and did some people watching.
Breakfast was fine - they cooked a soft boiled egg to perfection, but somehow this was no consolation for everything else! Perhaps this is a great place for backpackers but it was not so good for us.

Room Tip: If you get the chance, check out your room before you check in.
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank toptourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PagodaManagement, Owner at Pagoda Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2012

Dear respected guests ,
As a hotel runner here in Bhaktapur, Pagoda guest house, we are very happy to read your feed back in this site. It is very helpful to manage it well for future. We need your suggestions and comments to know ourselves from your side. Yes, may be we are not that fit to meet your needs as we are non star, but we try our best for the guests' satisfaction during the stay. Some weak points you posted in this site are now renovated. We made door in room no 106 and maintained cleanliness as well in all the rooms.
Thank you for staying here and hope fully next time we see you again.

Mr Rabindra Lal Mulepati
Mrs Sharmila Mulepati

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2011

This hotel was a breath of fresh air. The rooms were clean and comfortable and the location was superb overlooking the Taumadhi square and the hub of Phaktapur life in the early mornings.

The owner was a great host and the most helpful person we met in our travels in Nepal. He couldn't do enough to help and even when I was silly enough to leave something behind he happily arranged for it be sent to me.

Eating at the roof top terrace was a friendly experience being quite small which encouraged everyone to chat together.

I would highly recommend this place and while it can be noisy the owner will happily give you earplugs!

Room Tip: The place is very small and all the rooms have similar views and therefore subject to similar noise levels although some don't have private bathrooms.
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bollidarling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2011

Overall, this is a nice place and was not expensive. There's also a nice little restaurant at the top of the hotel with good views of the square. The room was okay, although there was no soap of towels provided, as one might have expected for the price. The roof terrace was shared which may no be to everyone's liking. The room was incredibly noisy though but this may not have been the fault of the hotel as it is very central and that might be the price you have to pay for being in such a convenient location. Nonetheless, it wasn't the best night's sleep.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bluewater81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

We stopped here first,on our Nepal tour and we have fond memories.The Car pick-up was comfortable,and well arranged,and they brought us right up to the Guest House Doorstep.Overlooking Taumadhi square and surrounded by monuments,mostly terra-cotta with carved wood columns, palaces and temples with elaborate carvings, gilded roofs, open courtyards.There was some festival at this square the night we arrived,so we could see dances and some cultural programs.The whole town is dotted with Pagodas and religious shrines.We stayed in the old Block.The rooms were tiny and TV was tiny too.We wanted to watch World Cup Cricket one after noon,but power shortage let us down.

Due to small size of town,and plenty of sights we were all the time walking around as vehicles are banned inside this Town,and eating all over the place,but we had breakfast and dinner once at the top floor restaurant,and the food was satisfying.The Owners were amzing & caring.They fixed Rooms and transportation,well in advance so all went very smooth.They suggested possibility to do some yoga and visit a Resort,but we ran out of time.There is courtyard to relax,and for kids to play.Plenty of flowers all over the Balconies made us happy.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suresh K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2010

The location is great in Bhakptur!
The rooms are very clean and you feel safe, and it is good value for money.
Shamila, who runs the guest house and everyone there are very friendly and they are always smiling and ready to help
Highly recommend them!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gyselle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews