We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, friendly proprietors, BUT.....” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pagoda Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pagoda Guest House
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
“Good location, friendly proprietors, BUT.....”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2011

We stayed here for one night on our 15 night tour of Nepal and Bhutan. Had we seen the room before our driver and guide disappeared, we wouldn't have stayed. As others have stated, the location is excellent - seconds away from a rich array of amazing tourist attractions and some wonderful shopping opportunities and there is free wifi. None of this could make up for the state of our room. The toilet/shower room was dreadful, the bathmat was full of mould and the door wouldn't shut. (Luckily we have known each other a very long time - trust me, this would NOT be romantic, in any way shape or form!) We slept in our clothes as we were not too sure about the state of the bedding.
We only used the restaurant for breakfast, as when we went to find a table in the evening there was nowhere for us to sit. We ate in a great place in Taumadhi Square instead and did some people watching.
Breakfast was fine - they cooked a soft boiled egg to perfection, but somehow this was no consolation for everything else! Perhaps this is a great place for backpackers but it was not so good for us.

Room Tip: If you get the chance, check out your room before you check in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank toptourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PagodaManagement, Owner at Pagoda Guest House, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Dear respected guests ,
As a hotel runner here in Bhaktapur, Pagoda guest house, we are very happy to read your feed back in this site. It is very helpful to manage it well for future. We need your suggestions and comments to know ourselves from your side. Yes, may be we are not that fit to meet your needs as we are non star, but we try our best for the guests' satisfaction during the stay. Some weak points you posted in this site are now renovated. We made door in room no 106 and maintained cleanliness as well in all the rooms.
Thank you for staying here and hope fully next time we see you again.

Mr Rabindra Lal Mulepati
Mrs Sharmila Mulepati
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    15
    3
    1
    5
See reviews for
7
14
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Level Contributor
92 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2011

This hotel was a breath of fresh air. The rooms were clean and comfortable and the location was superb overlooking the Taumadhi square and the hub of Phaktapur life in the early mornings.

The owner was a great host and the most helpful person we met in our travels in Nepal. He couldn't do enough to help and even when I was silly enough to leave something behind he happily arranged for it be sent to me.

Eating at the roof top terrace was a friendly experience being quite small which encouraged everyone to chat together.

I would highly recommend this place and while it can be noisy the owner will happily give you earplugs!

Room Tip: The place is very small and all the rooms have similar views and therefore subject to similar noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bollidarling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2011

Overall, this is a nice place and was not expensive. There's also a nice little restaurant at the top of the hotel with good views of the square. The room was okay, although there was no soap of towels provided, as one might have expected for the price. The roof terrace was shared which may no be to everyone's liking. The room was incredibly noisy though but this may not have been the fault of the hotel as it is very central and that might be the price you have to pay for being in such a convenient location. Nonetheless, it wasn't the best night's sleep.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bluewater81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
98 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2011

We stopped here first,on our Nepal tour and we have fond memories.The Car pick-up was comfortable,and well arranged,and they brought us right up to the Guest House Doorstep.Overlooking Taumadhi square and surrounded by monuments,mostly terra-cotta with carved wood columns, palaces and temples with elaborate carvings, gilded roofs, open courtyards.There was some festival at this square the night we arrived,so we could see dances and some cultural programs.The whole town is dotted with Pagodas and religious shrines.We stayed in the old Block.The rooms were tiny and TV was tiny too.We wanted to watch World Cup Cricket one after noon,but power shortage let us down.

Due to small size of town,and plenty of sights we were all the time walking around as vehicles are banned inside this Town,and eating all over the place,but we had breakfast and dinner once at the top floor restaurant,and the food was satisfying.The Owners were amzing & caring.They fixed Rooms and transportation,well in advance so all went very smooth.They suggested possibility to do some yoga and visit a Resort,but we ran out of time.There is courtyard to relax,and for kids to play.Plenty of flowers all over the Balconies made us happy.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Suresh K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2010

The location is great in Bhakptur!
The rooms are very clean and you feel safe, and it is good value for money.
Shamila, who runs the guest house and everyone there are very friendly and they are always smiling and ready to help
Highly recommend them!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gyselle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2009

This place was a little haven for me tucked way in Bhaktapur. Really lovley house with clean rooms and such open and friendly, without being overbearing.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sopharella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bhaktapur hotels
0.1 mi away
Shiva Guest House1 & 2
Shiva Guest House1 & 2
#4 of 8 in Bhaktapur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
0.4 mi away
Peacock Guest House
Peacock Guest House
#1 of 53 in Bhaktapur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
0.1 mi away
Heart of Bhaktapur Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Cosy Hotel
Cosy Hotel
#7 of 53 in Bhaktapur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
0.0 mi away
Golden Gate Guest House
Golden Gate Guest House
#23 of 53 in Bhaktapur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kumari Guest House
Kumari Guest House
#11 of 53 in Bhaktapur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pagoda Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pagoda Guest House

Property: Pagoda Guest House
Address: 11 Taumadhi Square, Bhaktapur 44800, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Bhaktapur
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Bhaktapur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Pagoda Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing