We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More a guest home than a guest house”
Review of Catsun Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bhaktapur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Catsun Guest House
Ranked #11 of 61 Bhaktapur B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 6, 2012

I stayed in Catson Guesthouse for two weeks in May 2012 and I have to say a big thank you to Ramesh and his family for their great hospitality. The nice and small Guest house in the beautiful and quiet East part of Bhaktapur has some very comfortable rooms with everything you need on your trip. Ramesh is not only the owner of this house, which he has builded with his own hands some years ago, beside this he is a wonderful host, experienced trekking guide, reliable taxi driver and he makes the best milk tea in town ;)
If you want to get a little bit deeper into Newar culture (more than Lonely Planet level) Ramesh can show you a lot of places, restaurants and nature in and around Bhaktapur. Without meeting Ramesh my time in Nepal wouldnt have been as incredible as it was. See you soon...

Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
2  Thank deme83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (41)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 41 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2012

We, as a family, really enjoyed our nine days in catsunhouse and felt as part of family members; Ramesh has always been available for us and gave us a lot of informations regarding Nepal life, culture and religion Thanks again to Ramesh fr his nice and warm welcome

Room Tip: Very nice and quiet place for those who want to avoid KTM city and keep the Nepal touch
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hdor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2012

We spent three nights at the Catson Guesthouse and we really appreciated the owner's attentions. Ramesh brought us to the most typical places in Bhaktapur and informed us about the greatest things to do during the New Year festival (by the way, if you are in Nepal in April, you have to discover this festival).
The guesthouse is like your home, and you easily share with the other hosts because the place is so convivial. The rooms are very spacious and clean, and for the price we did not expect so much comfort so we were really agreeably surprised (hot water, comfortable beds, quiet rooms...).
There is a roof top terrace, and rooms give access to a terrace.
As the guesthouse is just at the entry of Bhaktapur you can benefit from the proximity of the city and still have a beautiful view on montains and countryside in a quiet neighborhood.
This guesthouse is definitely a good place to stay if you plan to stay longtime in Bhaktapur (by the way, there are a lot of things to do around the city).
There is a kitchen where you can cook your own food. You can also do your laundry. Very practical for globe trotters !
Last but not least, Ramesh is always available if you need any help, and he will be delighted to tell you about Nepali culture. That makes your stay so special.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chtc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Tressacha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank marion g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Erwan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catsun424934, Owner at Catsun Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank sonia c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bhaktapur hotels
0 mi away
Shiva Guest House1 & 2
Shiva Guest House1 & 2
#4 of 9 in Bhaktapur
291 reviews
0 mi away
Planet Bhaktapur Hotel
Planet Bhaktapur Hotel
#1 of 9 in Bhaktapur
429 reviews
0 mi away
Bhaktapur Paradise Hotel
Bhaktapur Paradise Hotel
#3 of 9 in Bhaktapur
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Peacock Guest House
Peacock Guest House
#1 of 61 in Bhaktapur
236 reviews
0 mi away
Hilltake Wellness Resort and Spa
0 mi away
Hotel Heritage
Hotel Heritage
#2 of 9 in Bhaktapur
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catsun Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catsun Guest House

Address: 4 Pipeline Road, Kamalbinayak, Bhaktapur 44800, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Bhaktapur
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Bhaktapur
Price Range: $15 - $20 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Single room breakfast included : 15 Euros " "Double room breakfast included : 25 Euros" Catsun Guest House is located on the outskirts of Bhaktapur, on Pipeline road in Kamalbinayak, near where it splits from Nagarkot road. It's about 15 minutes from the city center (Durbar Square), away from the tourist shops. Local Nepalese people live there. There is a rooftop lounge from where you can view the Kathmandu Valley and eat. The owner can cook meals for guests, provide taxis, and serve as a local guide for sightseeing and treks. Come join us and enjoy the peaceful, familial life in Bhaktapur. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing