We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“peaceful stay , ethical and sustainable based tours”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bhaktapur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gamcha Organic Farm & Guest House
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“peaceful stay , ethical and sustainable based tours”
Reviewed June 2, 2014

I can attest both personally and professionally the excellent stay I had at Gamcha, as I love to travel and also run Cultural Journey.org (authentic cultural tours and health and wellbeing retreats - ‘Journeys that Connect’ - to places of rich cultural heritages and people that practice ancient traditional ceremonies honouring spirit of place and nature).

Having just returned from my second trip to Nepal, the home of majestical Himalayan Mountains, warm and welcoming people and rich cultural history dating back thousands of years, I came to realise how vital Tourism is to local Nepalese economy’s and how necessary it is to have connections with local tour operators who have an ethical and sustainable business outlook.

Looking forward to time-out to rest and refresh away from the busy, always connected Western lifestyle I was leading, I arrived at Gamcha Organic Farm (GOF), just 30 minutes away from the busy city centre of Kathmandu, and is located in the historical village of Bhaktupur. The farm is made up of a traditional 3 story red bricked Rana Home with a separate Mud Brick Guest House that is situated on two acres of farm land. Because of the reputation that GOF have in running excellent organic farm training programs and guest house stays and tours it attracts groups of people from right around the world. Because I have a strong interest and background in working in Sustainable Community Development I was really looking forward to staying at the guest house and finding out more about what GOF do.

Umandana Dhugana the Farm Manager explained how GOF had provided organic farming training to a group of Nepalese Women who through an Non Government Organisation set up a women’s farm cooperative called Appropriate Agricultural Alternatives (AAA). The AAA today supply organic produce to over 20 local restaurants, run a home deliveries service in Kathmandu. AAA also have their own stall at the City farmers market, where I got to sample some of the fine organic products sold by Nepalese fair trade companies who attend.
It was a tranquil time for me staying at GOF guest house, as the morning sun would streamed into my bedroom window, I noticed the birds in the garden taking swan dives into the garden pond. It was relaxing reading books, being able to do yoga, and also rewarding doing voluntary work in the garden and around the farm, and felt satisfying learning how to make a mud render mix and applying the render walls and seeing the results of my work.

Two staff members Lapka and Sariswati are the guest house cooks and also work in the garden from where most of the ingredients for the meals are grown and also make the most delightful homemade yoghurt from the farm goats and cows milk. I welcome the 3 course yummy breakfasts after my morning walks to a high point view of the valley below and majestic mountains in the distance.

Room Tip: room above the pond great sunrise views and of garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank journeysconnect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    2
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
7
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nykoebing, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2014

I spent 6 weeks here in 2010 and went back with a friend nov. 2013 . I was not disappointed, it was just as beautiful as I remembered. The staff and the manager and the gardener welcomed me again, with smile ,laughter good service and delicious food.

I got to know about the farm because I am interested in organic farming , and I enjoyed taking part in the work.
For me it was the center for my time in Nepal . very close to Bhaktapur and Katmandu ..
Just outside this quiet place you can go for beautiful walks through the fields and small villages up to the mountains .On your own - or with a guide.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marianne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2014

Nice and relaxed place, good service, fine trekking nearby in the hills, and excellent stay also by their "sister farm" in the mountains, with a lovely family cooking for me in real rural environment.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank mgh2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2014

We arrived in Nepal and our daughter who had been living in Nepal had set up the Gamcha arrangements. It was a very serene and lovely way to start our trip in Nepal.

Beautiful grounds, friendly people. Delicious food and wonderful service.
The fact that it is a working organic farm made it all the more special.

Room Tip: The sleeping rooms are small, but you spend your time in other rooms and outside patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank cbud51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
Reviewed January 23, 2014

Gamcha Organic Farm is by far the the most wonderful place I´ve stayed at in Nepal! I loved the cozy atmosphere and the friendly staff -Mr. Dhungana can arrange all your trips and tickets and is always up for a chat :-)
The kitchen serves delicious food, all organic and from the farm. Especially the breakfast is great (try Saraswatis amazing porridge!) The garden invites you to take a stroll and enjoy all the greens (and lack of pollution), sit by the small pond and contemplate life, and take in the beautiful views. A great place to relax!
Gamcha is easily situated between Kathmandu and Bhaktapur, and is a good base for trips to destinations within both cities (a trip to Soebogaard ice cream factory in Bhaktapur is a must!).
I hope to return to Gamcha, and highly recommend it to all travelers!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank ChristineCph81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Go and visit this place especially if you are interested in supporting a relatively new enterprise in organic farming and sustainable living. The Newari style house has a few rooms and there is a separate building with three bedrooms and self contained kitchen and bathroom that could be suited to small groups. I will definitely return!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flyingnorth64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
Reviewed January 17, 2014

My time at Gamcha Organic farm was great! Located perfectly outside of Kathmandu in beautiful surroundings, with great staff and exiting food! What thrilled me the most was the fact that MR. D (the manager) basically arranged my entire trip around Nepal for a fraction of what normal tourist agencies are demanding- it was a ridiculously low price he managed to get!! Looking forward to getting back this next summer to do some volunteer work at a nearby school :-)
I would definitely recommend this places to everybody!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank gustav egede h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bhaktapur hotels
0.0 mi away
Krishna's House
Krishna's House
#2 of 55 in Bhaktapur
169 reviews
0.0 mi away
Nepal Yoga Retreat
Nepal Yoga Retreat
#1 of 9 in Bhaktapur
98 reviews
0.0 mi away
Heart of Bhaktapur Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Planet Bhaktapur Hotel
Planet Bhaktapur Hotel
#1 of 8 in Bhaktapur
396 reviews
0.0 mi away
Peacock Guest House
Peacock Guest House
#1 of 55 in Bhaktapur
201 reviews
0.0 mi away
Shiva Guest House1 & 2
Shiva Guest House1 & 2
#4 of 8 in Bhaktapur
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gamcha Organic Farm & Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gamcha Organic Farm & Guest House

Property: Gamcha Organic Farm & Guest House
Address: No 07 Dadhikot VDC, Ward | Gamcha, Bhaktapur 44800, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Bhaktapur
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Bhaktapur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gamcha Farm and Guest House is a peaceful place only 15 minutes from Kathmandu. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing