We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Nyatapola Guest House
Ranked #9 of 59 Bhaktapur B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 18, 2013

Rooms were clean and comfortable, service was great. The showers were hot and although they had shared bathrooms everything you needed was provided, including clean towels. The wi-fi worked well in the room, unlike some others I have stayed in. For the price this place is hard to beat. They also offer woodcarving lessons in their workshop using traditional tools for a reasonable price. A great experience.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank bevbag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (72)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

34 - 40 of 72 reviews

Reviewed December 17, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights and loved staying here with the family. The guest house is located above a woodwork shop and is a Newari style house, with small stairways but huge landings.

The family make you feel really welcome and the rooms are quite large. There are shared toilets on each floor and very quiet and night as it is just off the main road area.

It is just down one of the side streets from Pottery Square and a few minutes walk to Durbar square, so very central.

They really are a lovely family and look after you, so really made the difference!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shiraz J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

What a beautiful little guesthouse, nestled in the heart of a really 'local' feeling area of Bhaktapur. Potters square is literally at the doorstep and both Durbar Square and the Square with the amazing Nyatapola temple only moments walk away. Manika is a beautiful lady who welcomed me with open arms, after finding out that I had not been well. It was just what I needed. The guesthouse itself is also awesome, it's literally in Manika's family home so you walk through their beautiful carving shop to get to your room. The showers were hot, the breakfast was delicious and I quite honestly don't have a single negative thing to say about it.

Thank you Manika and your gorgeous family for your hospitality!

Xx

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nina_L1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013

Located above a family carving business, the Nyatapola GH is more of a home stay experience. Six extremely tidy, clean, spartan rooms..two to a floor...provided a quiet, restful, sleep for the two nights I was there. Owner Manika is a cheerful women who is glad to prepare you a delicious evening meal if given an hour notice. Meals and rooms are very reasonable priced. Tiled, shared baths on each floor never lacked solar- heated hot water. A patio off the top floor kitchen is a sunny place to have your breakfast and meet other travelers. The GH is not easy to find. Look for it across the street from the Cozy Hotel. If you are wanting a 5 star hotel stay, search elsewhere. This wonderful find is for those who travel "close to the ground."

Room Tip: The city shuts down before 9 p.m. so all rooms are good sleepers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HawkeyePilgrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013

I stayed for one night in November 2013. The guesthouse has a really good location, near to most of the main attractions in Bhaktapur. The room was really tidy and the bed very comfortable. The family that run the guesthouse were extremely helpful and made the whole stay a pleasure.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

We were welcomed to Nyatapola Guest house by Monika and her husband after a long adventure from Chitwan National park. I am travelling with a bicycle that was safely stored in the 300 year old building. Our twin room was clean and fresh linen was on the most comfortable beds in Nepal! The bathroom was very clean and had amazing hot showers. There is also great wifi in the rooms. Monika was also able to arrange good priced transportation for us to visit nearby temples and the airport. I highly recommend this guest house for single, couple or family travel groups. Monika can also speak very good English and has lots of knowledge regarding Bhakatpur and its history.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jbortp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

I spend more than 10 days at this guesthouse and have to mention that everything funcioned prety well at every moment (light and hot water inclusive) . It's a nice old 4 floors house equiped with all the necesary and atended by a friendly and helpfull family.
The área use to be quiet.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank locadeatar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bhaktapur hotels
0.1 mi away
Shiva Guest House1 & 2
Shiva Guest House1 & 2
#4 of 8 in Bhaktapur
288 reviews
0.8 mi away
Planet Bhaktapur Hotel
Planet Bhaktapur Hotel
#1 of 8 in Bhaktapur
410 reviews
0.1 mi away
Heart of Bhaktapur Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Peacock Guest House
Peacock Guest House
#1 of 59 in Bhaktapur
219 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kumari Guest House
Kumari Guest House
#11 of 59 in Bhaktapur
33 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cosy Hotel
Cosy Hotel
#8 of 59 in Bhaktapur
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nyatapola Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nyatapola Guest House

Address: Pottery Square, Bhaktapur, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Bhaktapur
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Bhaktapur
Price Range: $10 - $13 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Nyatapola Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Nyatapola Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing