We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy is a good name!”
Review of Cosy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cosy Hotel
Ranked #14 of 61 Bhaktapur B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 9, 2014

I stayed during middecember by myself, enjoying a cosy room with good value for money. The hotel sports a good restaurant (great in terms of food, so so in terms of view) as well as good staff always willing to help up. Extras like a goodbye gift and calling in the evening to ask whether heating waterbags in bed would be helpful will be remembered. Be aware tiny bathroom showering everything wet!

Bhaktapur is quite easily done in one day though, I felt staying two nights was a bit excessive. The town is closed down at night, so basically you have the daylight hours to experience is. I would suggest 1 night unless you plan to use this as base to explore the valley, it is a bit less convenient than other places but certainly far better than Kathmandu.

Room Tip: Look out over inner courtyard!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Fredrik H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (181)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

48 - 54 of 181 reviews

Reviewed December 25, 2013 via mobile

We were here for the second time, and as always, had an excellent stay. For the first time, we had a room on the 2nd floor. For this time we tried 1st floor in the room named Gorkha. The room was clean, the bathroom was clean, and the bedroom area was clean.

I frankly do not see how the room could have been any more comfortable. I'm not a fan of the type of chairs that were in the room we had, but that's a matter of personal taste. They were nice enough, I just like higher-backed chair.
Super friendly staff, with quick check-in/out. Good complimentary breakfast, with eggs, pancakes and potatos freshly cooked.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mariejean52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013

This little hotel was quite a surprise, tucked away amid the city noise and bustle. We didn't really expect it to be quiet, but it was. Sweet little rooms, good beds, and plenty of hot water. We were even offered hot water bottles at night to tuck at the ends of our beds! The staff is great, and theres a free computer with internet.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tiadora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2013

Hotel located in the City center. 1. Mr.Basant from the reception received well and suggested places to visit. Also, helped in shopping ( bargain in Nepali language). 2. Breakfast was too good. 3. They also provide hot water packets for cold. 4. historic places are near by walking distance. 5. hotel staff is very friendly. 6. They also gave small token gift at the end of the day. 7. Sunny restaurant is good and you can see all the mountains. Also, I recommend everyone to stay in bhaktapur and take a bus ( 25 nepali rupees one way) to kathmandu and Nagarkot for sunset or sunrise view which is 22 km Place is very good. I'll be staying here next time :).

Electricity - Government load shed the electricity daily. However, hotel has battery backup and your room and bathroom will have light and hot water .

Room Tip: family suites are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anand_puli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights in cosy hotel and it was great!

The location is very good, right between durban square ant pottery square. The hotel is a tradiotional home, a great atmosphere to stay. Our room looked out on a courtyard where locals were making pots.

We paid $25 a night including breakfast ( best we had in nepal), bottle of water every day, toothbrushes and toothpaste. Which is an incredibly low price for what you get in return. The staff is so warm, friendly and helpfull!

The rooms are very clean and the beds are good! We stayed with 2 persons in a 3 personsroom. For us there was enough space but with 3 persons the room is probably too small (small bathroom too but clean and warm water so not a problem). Staff informs you about powerloss at set times.

Neither the less we loved cosy hotel! Great experience and a fantastic stay! Two thumbs up!!!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank stevenholland1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I have tried many different hotels here in Nepal and this one is a standout winner. The room we chose was a deluxe and while we were offered a superior room, we found the deluxe equally satisfying. It is the warmest hotel and they also supply a decent electric heater which we didn't need! The beds are sufficiently comfortable and the blankets and pillows are top quality! The hot water always worked well also! The big winner was the double glazed windows! Perfect for shutting out the noisy street below! Also the outer windows are traditional Newari wooden frames! Just gorgeous! Our only disappointment would have to have been the food. We tried quite a few different menu items like momos, biryani and Newari set meals and they were really quite boring and didn't hit the mark. Service can be quite slow also. The staff however are extremely friendly and courteous! We will definitely return to this little gem in the heart of Bhaktapur!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2013

This upmarket hotel in the very center of Bhaktapur sports rather small but comfortable and clean rooms with odd naming system. From outside the hotel retains traditional look and feel, unfortunately it's not much so traditional from inside. Anyway there still everything you need for few days stay. The terrace restaurant is also quite good. The francophile manager is trying hard to make everyone happy and the other staffs too.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michal T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bhaktapur hotels
0.1 mi away
Shiva Guest House1 & 2
Shiva Guest House1 & 2
#4 of 9 in Bhaktapur
291 reviews
0.8 mi away
Planet Bhaktapur Hotel
Planet Bhaktapur Hotel
#1 of 9 in Bhaktapur
429 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bhaktapur Paradise Hotel
Bhaktapur Paradise Hotel
#3 of 9 in Bhaktapur
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Heart of Bhaktapur Guest House
0.4 mi away
Peacock Guest House
Peacock Guest House
#1 of 61 in Bhaktapur
236 reviews
0.4 mi away
Krishna's House
Krishna's House
#2 of 61 in Bhaktapur
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cosy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cosy Hotel

Address: Pottery Square, Bhaktapur 12, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Bhaktapur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Bhaktapur
Price Range: $25 - $35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cosy Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cosy hotel symbolizes all the best attributes of a beautiful hotel but with all the charm of a friendly ambiance. It has prospered, mesmerizing both international and local clientele. Cosy hotel is the ideal location for your next stay in Bhaktapur. With its 14 comfortable guest rooms, our hotel can easily accommodate either individuals or groups. Whether for a night or a week, take advantage of our relaxing amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Cosy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing