We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“close Dubar,great view,great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Vajra Guest House & Restaurant
Ranked #14 of 58 Bhaktapur B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Very close the Dubar. Hot water. Clean room.Emergency light.Free bottle water.I'm a light sleeper here not very noise in the moring compare with Patan.Open the window great view.Kind boss arrage us to Panauti beautyful view.Perfect choice.

Room Tip: 302 good view
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jeremyjinlu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (111)
There are newer reviews for Vajra Guest House & Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 111 reviews

Reviewed October 4, 2012

We were 9 fridends to spend a happy and incredible night in Vajra, that's the best hotel in Nepal we ve never been, this was the perfect place to stay with helpful staff and super profession manager, inexpensive and comfortable, really clean bath room with great hot water, nice size room, Beautiful room with fantastic view. There is a fantastic view on the roof as well, you could have a breakfast with a incredible sunrise view on the roof, I would definitely highly recommend this hotel to anyone. The rates are very good too compare to the other hotels in Bhaktapur, Location ideal with easy walk to Bhaktapur squre. Would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eden0824
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Since the guest house where I had stayed previously was being remodeled, I was walking around in Bhaktapur looking for a good place to stay. I found myself in front of Vajra Guest House and thought; "Green potted plants in front, beautiful carved entrance doors and a peak view of a comfortable lounge." I went inside to find out more. Had a nice breakfast on the roof and went downstairs and booked a room. I never regretted my decision and only wished that I could have stayed longer. I promised myself that I would arrange to do that during my next visit to Bhaktapur which I love. To the friendly owners and staff I offer my heartfelt thanks. Gauri

Room Tip: The only reason why I gave the room a rating of only "very good" is because it was rather...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 656gauri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dipeshjoshi, Manager at Vajra Guest House & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2012

Thank you for your comment regarding your stay with Vajra Guest House Family.....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

Great location and warm welcome.Bhaktapur is clearly a better place than katmandu for a rest during a nepal trip. Pokhara is also a nice place to stay.
This hotel is easy to reach and very near the temples.the roof top has a nice view on the main square.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Olivierdupuis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

We stayed here for two nights and it was very nice. The staff was very kind and helpful. It was clean. The food was great. It was right in town. The lobby was. Ijmce and clean and a great place to hang out with fre wifi.

Room Tip: We faced the garden.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pokey33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dipeshjoshi, Manager at Vajra Guest House & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2012

Namaste! Pokey33,

Thank you from VGH Family for writing few words which you felt during your stay with us.

Hope to see you again....

With best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2012

Nice clean rooms, excellent food, and helpful friendly staff. Location to center square was perfect. only about 100 meters away. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dipeshjoshi, Manager at Vajra Guest House & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2012

Namaste! Gary,

Happy to see your comment about our guest house....

We're always Open for you to welcome as a part of family....

With best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2012

We stayed at the Vajra Guesthouse two separate times during our visit to the Kathmandu Valley area.
Each visit was terrific ! This beautiful guesthouse is designed to showcase the exquisite decorative arts that abound in this small gem of Nepali town. When you see beautiful entry with it’s the gorgeous carved front doors, you will know that this place is special. Public spaces include a lovely entry , an outdoor and indoor eating area, and a rooftop sitting area. The rooms are not grand or large, but the views to the surrounding hills and to the ancient squares make up for lack of space. Our queen sized bed was very comfortable and the décor is very conducive to a good night’s sleep. Each room offered a flat screen TV, as well as a very serviceable bathroom with abundant hot water and a good shower. The rooms are non smoking which is a plus for us. Are there is wireless access there as well. You will also find back up “ solar lights “ during the scheduled 4 to 5 hour “black outs” that occur in Nepal twice each day.
The very affordable rate included a wonderful made to order breakfast. We had quite a few meals there and each was very tasty , especially, the Chicken Sizzler served with plenty of fresh vegetables !
The staff are very accomodating and pleasant , anxious to make your stay enjoyable.
On our second stay, we asked for a room that includes a kitchen. This type of accommodation is usually reserved to long term visitors who would like to prepare some of their own meals, but since none were there at the time, we were given access to the kitchen area which provided us with a place for our luggage ! Each room does have a large and ample wardrobe, however.
During each of our stays, we were met ot the airport by a private driver to take us directly to the hotel. The cost of this service was no more than the usual taxi rate and should be used, as their drivers are very honest and reliable.
Manesh and Dipesh Joshi , the brothers who own the Vajra , should be commended for providing a first class accommodation for those who are visiting Bhakatapur.

As a matter of fact, skip Kathmandu all together and stay here for your entire visit to the valley. You will not be disappointed !

Room Tip: rooms overlooking the town afford beautiful views of the mountains and the squares.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rosemarytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bhaktapur hotels
1.0 mi away
Bhaktapur Paradise Hotel
Bhaktapur Paradise Hotel
#2 of 8 in Bhaktapur
73 reviews
0.1 mi away
Shiva Guest House1 & 2
Shiva Guest House1 & 2
#4 of 8 in Bhaktapur
286 reviews
0.6 mi away
Planet Bhaktapur Hotel
Planet Bhaktapur Hotel
#1 of 8 in Bhaktapur
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Heritage
Hotel Heritage
#3 of 8 in Bhaktapur
141 reviews
0.3 mi away
Peacock Guest House
Peacock Guest House
#1 of 58 in Bhaktapur
215 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cosy Hotel
Cosy Hotel
#8 of 58 in Bhaktapur
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vajra Guest House & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vajra Guest House & Restaurant

Address: Balakhu-10 | Durbar Square, Bhaktapur 8867, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Bhaktapur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Bhaktapur
Price Range: $35 - $40 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are situated very close to Durbar Square of Bhaktapur from where it's very easy to go any Squares & Places. We are near by Main squares but not close to heavy traffic roads so, it's a quiet & perfect place for your stay. After seeing Kathmandu when you visit VGH, you will feel the difference! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Vajra Guest House & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing