We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not worth the long walk, or the prices”

La Bella Nepali Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 37 Restaurants in Bhaktapur
Cuisines: Italian, International, Nepali
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Kids, Business meetings, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: "La Bella Nepali" Restaurant (Nepalplanet, Planet Bhaktapur Hotel) is located into The Planet Bhaktapur Hotel. Restaurant, Garden, Roof top. Good food and smiles.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not worth the long walk, or the prices”
Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

We decided to walk the kilometer out of town (not a scenic walk by any stretch of the imagination) in the hope of sampling authentic Italian food. We were disappointed to be served the same old "Italian" that's served everywhere in Nepal - doughy bland pizza and pasta smothered in a pile of cheese, without real sauce or taste. This would have been forgivable were the prices not nearly twice as high as other places in Bhaktapur. Truly not worth the trip out.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnaKnu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nepalplanet, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at La Bella Nepali Restaurant, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Sir,
I'm Francesco, italian.
I'm sorry because you wrote that you did not like the food.
Sorry but because i eat here every day or i don't know italian food or maybe you did feel other problem. No one problem with usualy italian guests and they know very well italian food.
Sorry, anyway, if Cook did put more cheese in your pizza.
When You did finish all your food you told Martin and Martin told Yam, the Director, that you don't want pay taxes, even if Nepali rules is 10% service tax + 13% vat. The director was surpised.
This is written clear in the menu: All prices are subject to 10% service and 13% Vat.
We are sorry because we can't accept that you don't pay taxes. No need be angry with us because of that.
The taxes (total 24,3%) in your bill (Lasagna, pizza, 66cl beer) was around 3 usd.
For us it's more easy tell you: Ok, don't pay. And You go happy.
But we are correct, and now i write clear also here:
In every bill need add 10+13% taxes.
(The long walk is 600 meters from the north gate of Bhaktapur, in total less than 1 km. from Durbar Square).
In my hands now a menu of other place in Bhaktapur and the price in their menu is 15% more than our.
Realy sorry because you was angry because of taxes. But it's a duty. We too don't like add 23,4%, you can be sure about that. But you cant' complain with us because need pay taxes as is written clear in the menu.
Now is more clear because i write that also here: In every our bill need add 10+13%.

in addition i can tell that Martin (The waiter, all our guest knows very well his honesty and simpaty) told me that when you did finish the food you told that You did like it and only when You see the taxes coming problem.

Namaste !
Francesco.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    10
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Italy and Nepal come together”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Great food in a beautiful setting.

The restaurant is in the best hotel in Bhaktapur. The food, always great, has gotten better with the help of an italian shelf expanding the menu and teaching new dishes to the staff.

Beautiful garden to dine, weather permitting.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank andrewrai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best pizza and lasagna in Kathmandu Valley”
Reviewed December 1, 2012

Not sure if it was the countryside ambience or the delicious local cheeses in their pizza and lasagna, but there is nothing else like this anywhere around Kathmandu. Also try their fresh pesto pastas when basil is in season - magnifico!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank andyl2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
190 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Worth the walk to get to this restaurant”
Reviewed May 2, 2012

We were residing in the center of Bhaktapur when I read the reviews of this restaurant. After traveling in India and Nepal for almost a month, thought of Italian food appealed to us very much. So we walked to the lovely Planet Hotel ( about 15 minutes from the center ) and we were rewarded by the most wonderful food this side of Italy . Or even IN Italy !! Being an Italian American, and having traveled to Italy many times, I was a bit cautious to eat Italian food in Nepal. but, we were so rewarded by the wonderful cuisine ! So authentic and delicious !!
I ordered Eggplant Parmesean and my husband had the Lasagna. Both dishes were serperb and served in the beautiful outdoor garden. The waiter was very attentive and spoke a bit of Italian as well. So, we returned the next night and ordered the same meal !!! Don't miss this place when visiting Bhaktapur !

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank rosemarytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bologna
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good mix between nepali and italian food”
Reviewed April 30, 2012

Good mix between nepali and italian food.
Excellent food in a quiet, familiar location, near Bhaktapur. Staff very kind.
PS. Their yogurt is fantastic! .........................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................




Visited April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank frawebmail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Bella Nepali Restaurant also viewed

Bhaktapur, Kathmandu Valley
Bhaktapur, Kathmandu Valley
 
Bhaktapur, Kathmandu Valley
Bhaktapur, Kathmandu Valley
 
Bhaktapur, Kathmandu Valley
Bhaktapur, Kathmandu Valley
 

Been to La Bella Nepali Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing