We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Come on”
Review of Sunny Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sunny Guest House
Ranked #35 of 55 Bhaktapur B&B and Inns
Toulouse, France
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Come on”
Reviewed May 1, 2013

I spent 1 week in the Sunny Guest House in Bhaktapur. good restaurant, beautiful rooms, and beautifull staff. I recommend this hotel to all people of passage to Bahktapur. I shall return without hesitating in this establishment.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Max187175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    37
    15
    5
    4
See reviews for
12
20
28
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Benedetto del Tronto, Marche, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

I spent many days in the Sunny Guest House, because I've been in Bhaktapur twice. Lovely city, it becomes a paradise at the sunrise and at the sunset. The Sunny Guest House has been my home: very friendly, great hospitality, they provided for me everything I need. Food was great, and having breakfast on the roof is one of the best moment you can enjoy in all Nepal, looking at the busy square down there......

Room Tip: If you don't like the sound of the bells from the temple, it's better a room away from the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RaffaellaMilandri_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunnyCafe, Manager at Sunny Guest House, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Thank you for your review . We put sound proof window in your nice room may be see you next time with noise less room.. Thank you once again Ganesh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 18, 2013

I spent two weeks altogether in Bhaktapur. Sunny Guesthouse is a place that will stay in my heart for many reasons:
1: The staff is awesome, they like to learn french, german, and are extremely helpful (helping to get a taxi, guide, general information, visits near bhaktapur) welcoming, and honest. It took me about two days to feel as if I had always lived there. They helped me in a lot of ways, and I appreciated the fact that they do it without expecting anything back.
2: The view from the terrace is the best you can have. Eating outside is like being between earth & sky, the atmosphere is really special.
3: Food has always been great, at a fair price. In two weeks, I hardly tried the whole menu, never being disappointed.
4: The rooms are "upper class" at a nepali level, with a Newari style. Great comfort.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rafinho89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunnyCafe, Manager at Sunny Guest House, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. We always fell very happy when we were able to provide you a warm hospitality and we always try our best...Thank you GANESH
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhaktapur, Nepal
1 review
Reviewed April 2, 2013

This guest house is honestly a sunshine under the guest houses in Bhaktapur. Clean, with modern rooms established in tradtional newari style. You can enjoy the helpfulness and warmth from the people, who are working there, as much as the worth seeing view from the rooftop restaurant.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Puttali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunnyCafe, Manager at Sunny Guest House, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thank you for your review.
This is a great oppertunity to inform all our well wisher and our clients that we always try to provide our warm hospitality.
Sunny Guest House is in one of the best square of Bhaktapur. It is little noisy because of the square and around temple.We have a sound proof windows in front side room which will minimise the noise...thank you Ganesh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver BC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We stayed here because Lonely Planet recommended it. We found that the price for a room was four times what we should have paid for a room of that quality, judging on our other stays in Kathmandu and Nepal. The restaurant was good and the servers were friendly, but we left early feeling ripped off. I would not stay here again because of the poor price for value. Although, the rooms were decent and had nice views.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank B K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marton, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

I booked this hotel based on the Lonely Planet positive review, my experience however was less than satisfactory. I stayed in room 104 on 7 Dec 2012, and one night was quite enough! The room faces Taumadhi Square and contained 2 double beds with bathroom facilites. Inside the charming ornate windows, a ranch slider has been installed to cut down the noise of the hustle and bustle of life going on in the square. Unfortunately it is not effective, as the many worshipers past the Nyatapola temple they ring the bell - this goes on all night. The hotels lights which are located right outside this room are left on all night but the thin curtains are not effective to cut the light. I hung towels over the windows in an effect to cut the light. All in all I had a sleepless night.
The private bathroom facilites are small and not particular clean with the room flooding after a shower, it is backed by a thin wall onto the hall 'guest' toilet / bathroom of which ventilated into my bathroom. This 'guest' bathroom was in constant use by the staff and I was subject with the human odours and noise coming thru the adjoining ventilation vent.
I had a evening meal at the hotel, it was 'so so', certainly wouldnt have been tempted to dine there again. I aired my comments and the staff who granted a small discount - still my advice is to find somewhere else

Room Tip: If you want to have a good nights sleep dont book a Square facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank April G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunnyCafe, Manager at Sunny Guest House, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Namaste from Nepal
Thank you for your review.First i want to inform you that we are in world heritage site and Bhaktapur is the place of devotees.So obiously the square will be noisy even we have a sound proof windows.The noise of bells in the mornig from temple we cant stop.But any way thank you for your stay with us.And hope to see you again with noise less room.Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2012

Lonely Planet is way off the mark on this one. My advice would be to save some money and stay at one of the many guest houses in the same area (encircling Taumadhi Square).

Pros:
Location, although it is by no means exclusive as the Sunny Guest House shares the square with about 5 others

Cons:
Loud, both inside and outside the guest house
Poorly fitted rooms and bathrooms (bathroom seat not attached; one if those shower heads that sprays everywhere except at you)

If this place were half the cost, I'd say go for it if you have ear plugs. I expect they've taken advantage of the traffic generated by being a Lonely Planet Top Pick and as a result have not invested in the up keep of the premise. Some of the new guest houses in the area are likely to deliver much better value for money.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tac_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bhaktapur hotels
0.5 mi away
Krishna's House
Krishna's House
#2 of 55 in Bhaktapur
170 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nyatapola Guest House
Nyatapola Guest House
#11 of 55 in Bhaktapur
70 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ajima Guest House
Ajima Guest House
#47 of 55 in Bhaktapur
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Peacock Guest House
Peacock Guest House
#1 of 55 in Bhaktapur
206 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pagoda Guest House
Pagoda Guest House
#6 of 9 in Bhaktapur
40 reviews
0.1 mi away
Heart of Bhaktapur Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunny Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunny Guest House

Property: Sunny Guest House
Address: 11 Taumadhi Square, Bhaktapur 44800, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Bhaktapur
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Bhaktapur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sunny Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dedicated to make your visit memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Sunny Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunny Guest House Hotel Bhaktapur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing