We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fawlty Towers, better to stay in town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Boat Landing Guest House
Ranked #5 of 23 Luang Namtha B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 23, 2013

The concept was a good one when they started this place, but it's clear that the original owners have moved on and the current owners have not updated or maintained anything except the garden, which is very pretty. No hot water, pail flush toilets, a blanket which didn't fit the bed, dusty aging cabin. The website is a relic from the previous owners. There is no live music (unless you consider extremely loud kareoke from across the street live music), there are no mountain bikes. Getting to and from town is a hassle. We returned a rented motorbike in town at 6pm and could not get a tuk tuk home for love or money. Finally a kindly tuk tuk driver took pity on us but said normally no transport out to the Boat Landing is possible after 5pm, "I wish they would tell you people that" quote unquote. Well no one did tell us, communication at the Boat Landing was pretty poor (I think the manager was on leave). The website promises that they can book tours etc for you but we found that next to impossible. There was also mixed messages from staff and despite the 4 signs at reception saying they accept Visa, they don't. We stayed in a superior guesthouse in town for $9 a night (boat landing is $45). The food was good (except breakfast).

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AlisAquilae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (77)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 77 reviews

Reviewed December 31, 2012

The guest house is approx 6km from Luang Namtha town and overlooks the Namtha river. There are 11 cabins stretched in groups of two along the banks of the river with the reception & restaurant closest to the road.

Rooms are a little basic with no fridge or TV. They have a portable floor fan & a small desk with a good light above. Bathroom has solar heated hot water which is hotter in the afternoon than early morning. No flush toilet by a western seat with a scoop & water container close by. Free soap & two small bottles of water.

No Wi-Fi.

Food is very good with plenty of Lao & western choices.

Laundry service is provided but they will not clean underwear!

It is great to lounge on the terrace to your room looking at the river but you need to have all your tours collect you from the guest house. The guest house have an arrangement with Green Discovery Tours which are the largest in Lao so you can book your tours through the guest house.

Only problem is the distract to the town for access to banks, ATMs, cafes & other travel agents than Green Discovery.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David_Albert_Park
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

We loved being at the Boat Landing. It was great to look at the river sitting outside of the bungalow, the food was good, and their personnel speaks English (!). Our room was comfortable, nicely decorated and clean, with a large bathroom. I wish we had booked one more day over there...

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sploeppie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

I went here to take a 2 day hike in the Nam Ha Valley to visit local tribes. This was a disappointment. The guest house is an eco friendly place. However, the solar heated water is insufficient and I had cold showers. They need to establish some form of back up. Only cold water at the sink. The toilet requires you to flood it with buckets of water to empty and left a sewer type oder in the room a good part of the time. Very tropical area and as a result the room, particularly the bathroom is not as clean as I would wish for. The bed was confortable enough although not great. The location is quite removed from town and if trying to get there after dark it is expensive to take a tuk tuk with return. The food was certainly good, with big breakfast included in the room rate.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank worldtraveler34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2012

I think Boat Landing is starting to show its age. The bungalows are a nice size with decently comfortable beds but the bedding is quite rough. And there isn't a flush toilet so the whole room smells a bit foul most of the time. There's also no wifi and they won't give guests access to their computer. They do manage to keep the bugs out of the rooms, which is quite an amazing accomplishment given its location by a river. I had booked at Boat Landing because I wanted something out of town that would be relaxing. Unfortunately with the karaoke bar next door, it was anything but relaxing. Also, it is very difficult to get a tuk tuk to take you to town or bring you back so you're really stuck there for most of the day/night. Fortunately the restaurant serves very good food. Overall, it was an ok experience but not what I had expected given some of the stellar reviews it has received in the past.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

This hotel sits on the banks of a muddy river 15 minutes outside the city of Luang Namtha, so unless you have a private vehicle at your disposal you are stuck there for all your meals. We arrived early in the afternoon and were escorted to our room which was tucked in a corner away from any sunlight (all the other rooms were facing the river and had much more light). Complaining was no use as we were told that all the other rooms were already occupied (untrue as we observed later). The room was so smelly of mold that we had to open all the windows and keep them open throughout our stay. The sheets, the towels, everything smelled like the room had been shut tight for a year. But the best part came at dinner. We asked until what time it was possible to have dinner and were told 9 pm. At 8:45 we arrived in the restaurant and it was deserted. We tried to speak to a member of staff but he would not even come out of his room! As I said previously being 15 minutes away from town resulted in a hungry night! Avoid this place like the plague!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Allthough the guesthouse is out of the center of Luang Namtha we had a very convenient stay. They provide bikes and have all information for tours in the neighbourhood. We did a homestay for 2 nights in some nearby villages. The travelcompany we booked the trip with (Namtha River experience) picked us up and brought us back to the guesthouse. Above all they have a great local kitchen. The bungalows are all nicely located. Alltogether we stayed 4 nights in august.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TomSirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luang Namtha hotels
0 mi away
Zuela Guesthouse
Zuela Guesthouse
#1 of 23 in Luang Namtha
324 reviews
0 mi away
Amandra Villa
Amandra Villa
#3 of 23 in Luang Namtha
90 reviews
0 mi away
Phou Iu III Bungalows
Phou Iu III Bungalows
#2 of 11 in Luang Namtha
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Tai Dam Guesthouse
Tai Dam Guesthouse
#10 of 23 in Luang Namtha
28 reviews
0 mi away
Thoulasith Guesthouse
Thoulasith Guesthouse
#2 of 23 in Luang Namtha
149 reviews
0 mi away
No photo provided
Kingmala Guesthouse
#1 of 11 in Luang Namtha
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Boat Landing Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boat Landing Guest House

Address: | Ban Kone, Luang Namtha, Laos
Location: Laos > Luang Namtha Province > Luang Namtha
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Luang Namtha
Price Range: $34 - $40 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Boat Landing Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing