We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slow but worth the wait! ”

Minority Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 18 Restaurants in Luang Namtha
Price range: $2 - $5
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner
Description: We are owned and operated by a family that has lived in Luang Namtha for generations. It is our desire to bring to our customers simple, quality local food in a comfortable setting. We hope you enjoy the exciting flavour Northern Lao cuisine has to offer.
Reviewed July 18, 2018 via mobile

Delicious food at a really good price! It seemed closed every time we visited, but there was always someone hiding in the back! Food is all prepared freshly (people even popped to the local market to buy ingredients!) so it takes a long time (up to an hour) for food to arrive at the table- we just played cards and enjoyed a drink while we waited!

Thank LizzieP217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (66)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 66 reviews

Reviewed February 12, 2018 via mobile

Quite expensive, but has a good range of local Laos food. We had the chicken som lom (interesting and well cooked but hardly delicious) and ginger fish (delicious, but pieces of fish rather than a whole one). Good, but not outstanding value.

Thank Will P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2017 via mobile

Wonderful atmosphere, tucked back from the road it's very private and intimate! Super authentic and delicious food and the servers are quiet wonderful ladies! The peanut jeow, sauté mushroom, seaweed snack, and sweet and sour fish were stellar! Prices are good as well as portions.

Thank Suzanne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xiengvanh T, Owner at Minority Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2017

"Stellar" is a great compliment. Thank you for your kind review. We are so happy that you loved the food, atmosphere, staff, and everything else!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2016 via mobile

We had Jeow with mushrooms and chili as well as the spring rolls, both dishes were excellent.
Having seen what other customers had on their plates though I guess I have to be back trying the menu entire.

Thank Boxbunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xiengvanh T, Owner at Minority Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2016

We're happy that you enjoyed the jeows and the spring rolls. We hope to see you many more times to introduce you to other delicious food.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2016 via mobile

We had stir fried rice noodles with beef and sticky rice with fish here. Prices were reasonable in comparison with the quality of the food. A must go to when in Luang Namtha

Thank Poeleke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xiengvanh T, Owner at Minority Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2016

Thank you! We're glad you enjoyed your meal.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Minority Restaurant also viewed

Luang Namtha, Luang Namtha Province
Luang Namtha, Luang Namtha Province
 
Luang Namtha, Luang Namtha Province
Luang Namtha, Luang Namtha Province
 
Luang Namtha, Luang Namtha Province
Luang Namtha, Luang Namtha Province
 

Been to Minority Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing