We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good guesthouse”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Thoulasith Guesthouse
Ranked #3 of 23 Luang Namtha B&B and Inns
Genoa, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“good guesthouse”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

I was there in october 2012 for a trip in laos.
The guesthouse is centrally located not on the mani road, so no noise in the night.
Price is good and room is clean.
The courtyard is a way to exchange experience with other guests. Wifi is avaliable.

The hotel can buy bus ticket for your and service is cheaper, but I recomend to do this by ownself, buy ticket is simple: go directly to bus station the same day to leave (take some half an hour for ticket). Sometime minibus don't leave if a few guests.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daquaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    68
    35
    6
    6
See reviews for
13
69
21
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Clean, relatively quiet (expect the standard roosters and dogs) spot just off the main street. Centrally located so easy to get to restaurants, tour companies, bike rentals, etc. The hotel will book transport for you but you'll pay a fee for the service. We were lucky enough to just show up at the bus station and get a ticket to Udomxai but we met others on the bus that had to wait several hours because the first bus was full so it might be worth paying the extra particularly if you need to catch a particular bus.

Room Tip: If you're looking for a bit more room pay the extra for a larger, end unit. Note that we met one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Delilahs_Dad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

This place is incredible value for what you pay with some truly comfortable beds. When we first arrived in Luang Namtha this place was fully booked, so we had to settle for another guesthouse a few blocks away (Adonis) which was dirty and old. We managed to move here after returning from our trek in the jungle and were thrilled with the room. Everything worked well - fan was great, hot water in the shower (even a curtain to separate!), and excellent beds. Everything was clean. There are lovely wooden sitting areas outside each room for you to relax in as well. Owners can be a bit disinterested/distant which may come off as rude, but actually will help you when you ask them for questions. We had our laundry done there (cheaper than other places in town) and booked our onward local bus ticket and transfer to Huay Xi with them and everything worked out great (others trying to buy tickets at the station were told the bus was full). No complaints - totally recommend.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

Tucked in off the main road this place is awesome, the rooms are spotless and very comfortable and at 70,000 kip fir a double it's a bargain, the staff were nice but in laos style pretty uninterested in you, otherwise this place is great, nip to manychan next door for brekkie and the night market is just across the road for some amazing evening eats

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cornishjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

After staying at budget hotels and bungalows this place was AMAZING! We paid 60,000 kip ($8 CAD) because it was rainy season. It was so nice not hearing your neighbor breath through bamboo thatched walls and best of all the bed was sooooo incredible. I honestly can't get over how amazing that bed was. I know that sounds silly, but that was probably the first mattress after three months I had slept on where springs hadn't stuck in my back and where the linens were soft and clean. I also felt safe here as well. The only complaint I have it was that I am allergic of air conditioning. As this place is a building rather than a thatched bungalow the heat could sometimes get overwhelming. I felt bad for my poor boyfriend who roasted most of the night.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monica J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

This was the best choice! Even if the bathrooms could be a little cleaner (they are also a little moldy) the room was in perfect conditions, the hotel is nice looking, clean, friendly staff, save and so well located that everything is nearby and you still don't get any noise from the streets!

Reasonable prices for a Laos touristic place. We payed 70.000 per night double room with fan. They have a beautiful garden where you can sit and enjoy some free tea and their wifi works perfectly (Laos speed, of course)

They don't have a restaurant but everything is so close that in a way you kind of thank the fact that there's no restaurant because it's so quiet and peaceful!! Suitable for backpackers, older people, families, etc! Perfect choice in Luang Namtha!

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Alegna_Sophie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

We paid 70,000 kip (10 euro) for an upstairs double room. It was clean, location was good, right in the middle of town but it was quiet during the night so you can sleep soundly. Free wifi was ok for just general surfing, checking email, etc. As for the staff, in typical Lao style, the staff didn't really seem interested in anything.

Overall: Good choice in this price bracket. Not the Ritz by any means, but better than others in the area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melbourne1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luang Namtha hotels
0.1 mi away
Zuela Guesthouse
Zuela Guesthouse
#1 of 23 in Luang Namtha
316 reviews
0.2 mi away
Amandra Villa
Amandra Villa
#2 of 23 in Luang Namtha
86 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tai Dam Guesthouse
Tai Dam Guesthouse
#9 of 23 in Luang Namtha
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Dokchampa Hotel
Dokchampa Hotel
#14 of 23 in Luang Namtha
60 reviews
0.0 mi away
Manychan Guest House
Manychan Guest House
#4 of 23 in Luang Namtha
44 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sing Sa Moud Guesthouse
Sing Sa Moud Guesthouse
#6 of 23 in Luang Namtha
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thoulasith Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thoulasith Guesthouse

Property: Thoulasith Guesthouse
Address: Next To Minority Restaurant | Phonxay Village, Luang Namtha 0300, Laos
Location: Laos > Luang Namtha Province > Luang Namtha
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Luang Namtha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Thoulasith Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing