We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A COMFY BED!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Thoulasith Guesthouse
Ranked #3 of 23 Luang Namtha B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 7, 2013

After staying at budget hotels and bungalows this place was AMAZING! We paid 60,000 kip ($8 CAD) because it was rainy season. It was so nice not hearing your neighbor breath through bamboo thatched walls and best of all the bed was sooooo incredible. I honestly can't get over how amazing that bed was. I know that sounds silly, but that was probably the first mattress after three months I had slept on where springs hadn't stuck in my back and where the linens were soft and clean. I also felt safe here as well. The only complaint I have it was that I am allergic of air conditioning. As this place is a building rather than a thatched bungalow the heat could sometimes get overwhelming. I felt bad for my poor boyfriend who roasted most of the night.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monica J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (145)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 145 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2013

This was the best choice! Even if the bathrooms could be a little cleaner (they are also a little moldy) the room was in perfect conditions, the hotel is nice looking, clean, friendly staff, save and so well located that everything is nearby and you still don't get any noise from the streets!

Reasonable prices for a Laos touristic place. We payed 70.000 per night double room with fan. They have a beautiful garden where you can sit and enjoy some free tea and their wifi works perfectly (Laos speed, of course)

They don't have a restaurant but everything is so close that in a way you kind of thank the fact that there's no restaurant because it's so quiet and peaceful!! Suitable for backpackers, older people, families, etc! Perfect choice in Luang Namtha!

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Alegna_Sophie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

We paid 70,000 kip (10 euro) for an upstairs double room. It was clean, location was good, right in the middle of town but it was quiet during the night so you can sleep soundly. Free wifi was ok for just general surfing, checking email, etc. As for the staff, in typical Lao style, the staff didn't really seem interested in anything.

Overall: Good choice in this price bracket. Not the Ritz by any means, but better than others in the area.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melbourne1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

The guesthouse is nice and clean with a large balcony and peaceful garden out front. There is also a hammock and a few tables were you can relax and have some snacks or drinks (not sold onsite but there is a shop across the street). Our upstairs room was a bit small but had a large bathroom (shower only) and fan for 70,000 kip. The shower was disappointing, low water pressure and tepid temperature, but it was pretty hot outside anyway so we didn't mind. There is a timetable for buses to the surrounding areas downstairs, which is helpful. The staff is somewhat standoffish but not unfriendly. Free water and tea downstairs.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pontebomb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013 via mobile

We paid 70.000 kip for a double room, ensuite bathroom, it was very pretty, clean, with strong wifi. The balcony outside is nice, just beware of mosquitos at night. The staff is useless, very uninterested, but it didn't bother us very much, you can arrange everything (bike/moto rental, trips...) outside the hotel. We bought our bus tickets directly at the station when we cycled by, and had no problem catching a tuk tuk in the morning. The location is good, close to everything (there really is not much in LN anyway). Be sure to try the roasted pork in the night market, it's awesome!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CrossThatBridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

The rooms are clean (you are still in Laos) and the balcony is very pleasant. The wifi is working and there is hot water (if you're patient enough). The location is very central. What else would you need ??

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xilasine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

We were very impressed with our stay here - we ended up staying in 3 different rooms at various times and they were all very nice. The staff seemed a bit surly at first but warmed up with time. The rooms were all clean and the showers had hot water. Wifi worked in the rooms although isn't very fast in Luang Namtha in general!
We didn't have a booking for our first night and were lucky to get the last room at 7pm. On other days we saw people being turned away early in the day so it's best to book in advance (but more expensive so maybe just book one night for arrival and extend your stay when you arrive to get the better price)

Room Tip: The bigger rooms at either end on both floors are a lot larger and only a fraction more expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoisinH_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luang Namtha hotels
0.1 mi away
Zuela Guesthouse
Zuela Guesthouse
#1 of 23 in Luang Namtha
320 reviews
0.2 mi away
Amandra Villa
Amandra Villa
#2 of 23 in Luang Namtha
90 reviews
0.0 mi away
Phou Iu III Bungalows
Phou Iu III Bungalows
#2 of 11 in Luang Namtha
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Manychan Guest House
Manychan Guest House
#4 of 23 in Luang Namtha
45 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dokchampa Hotel
Dokchampa Hotel
#15 of 23 in Luang Namtha
61 reviews
0.0 mi away
Nam Tha River Side Guesthouse
Nam Tha River Side Guesthouse
#8 of 23 in Luang Namtha
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thoulasith Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thoulasith Guesthouse

Address: Next To Minority Restaurant | Phonxay Village, Luang Namtha 0300, Laos
Location: Laos > Luang Namtha Province > Luang Namtha
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Luang Namtha
Price Range: $10 - $19 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Thoulasith Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing