We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice wooden guesthouse” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Zuela Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Zuela Guesthouse
Ranked #1 of 22 Luang Namtha B&B and Inns
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice wooden guesthouse”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

Nice wooden guesthouse, with restaurant attached (good food, but a little slow on service) just away from the main road. Luang Namtha is basically one road, where all the guesthouses and travel agents are.

Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank rin181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    155
    43
    12
    9
See reviews for
22
151
55
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bruges, Belgium
Level Contributor
152 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

This guesthouse looks like a very old youth hostel of the 70’s.
The rooms were not fresh and the sheets and blankets were not clean (we used our sleeping bags).
The bathroom was not clean.
The walls between the rooms are very thin, so you can hear all the noise of the adjacent rooms.
No service or staff at the reception desk.
Renting a bike was more expensive than in the shops of the main street - even the bus tickets were more expensive than in the travel agencies.
We would not recommend this guesthouse!
Luang Namtha is changing very quick, so it is best to look for a room when arriving in town.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
50 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

This is probably your best bet in Luang Namtha. The rooms are clean and comfortable, but very simple. The hot water heater in the bathroom works well. Towels are cleaned daily, although I didn't think they did much other cleaning when they came to our room.

Rooms with fan only are 70,000 kip/night, with a/c its 80,000 kip. There are two buildings on the property; rooms over the restaurant have a big (public) veranda.

Staff wasn't pleasant or friendly during either of the two times we were there, but the guest house seemed like the best option in town (we looked at other places).

Probably best to call ahead and book - this place gets busy.

Room Tip: we didn't need a/c during our time there in Feb, though it might be needed in hotter months.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank liveinchina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Saen, Thailand
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

This is probably the best guest house in Luang Namtha. A wonderfully cosy place. They have two accommodation buildings in a garden setting, with tables outside or inside, for breakfast and meals. The rooms are spacious, comfortable and perfectly clean. If it is clear that bed sheets have not been changed (reviewer below), I'm sure the staff would quickly remedy this issue, if asked. We have stayed here 3 times now and love the place and never had any problems with the room. It feels so homely. Mr Wong and Mrs Xai and the staff are very friendly and super helpful people. Unfortunately, on our recent visit in February, they had no rooms available, they are so popular, so we had to stay elsewhere.
Lots to do near to the town, with trekking, kayaking down the Tha river or rent one of Mr Wong's new dirt bikes and go and visit a hilltribe village. Zuela can organise all your day trips.
The road from Luang Prabang has a rough section, but also a long new tarmac part from Oudom Xai that is one of the best motorcycling roads in SE Asia. Superb winding twisties over the mountains that are a real joy with great scenery and little traffic.
In the evening, a walk across the road to the Bamboo bar for one of the finest, real Italian style pizzas you have ever had, is a must.....
We will most definately be back to Luang Namtha and look forward to staying at Zuela again.

Room Tip: Best to book in advance, through the hotel, as they are very popular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 59Thunderbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
209 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

We dont usually stay in guesthouses so we were expecting this place not to be up to our usual standard however we were expecting it to be clean... When we arrived we were shown to our room which had a fairly large ensuite and bed. We were at the top of the building with the restaurant and there didn't seem to be anyone else in that building. The bed was dirty - the sheets and blanket were stained and we were very hesistant about sleeping on them. We only stayed one of the two nights we booked as our flight was moved forward a day and we're glad we didnt' have to stay another night - not really much to do in this town unless you have time to do a decent day trip to somewhere like muang sing. and the bus trip from Luang Prabang was 9 hours of winding road torture in an overcroweded minibus. Wouldn't come here again.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank HolidayKat_86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

Loved our stay here! Great deal for a nice bed, big private room, and nice hot shower. Enjoyed hanging out in the common areas and the onsite restaurant. Met a lot of other travellers staying there and ran into them all over town. Going back to stay again after our trek. Highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amber H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

Zuela Guest House offers good, clean, simple accommodation in a town which while having an influx of tourists is still not 'touristy'. It is very conveniently located in the middle of the Main Street.

We had two rooms at Zuela (a double and a triple for the kids). The beds are firm, the sheets are clean (though not new) and the bathroom is quite large and clean. Water is supplied in the rooms each day. Staff are friendly though sometimes not always easy to find some one to help you. Food is very good in the restaurant, well - priced ( more than the night market just opposite but better quality). They offered a good range of Laos and western food. Their hamburgers were really excellent. The Lao food terrific. Sometimes the service was a little slow but it seems that many of the staff multiskill and this probably explains this.

We hired bikes from Zuela which were in good condition and obviously well maintained . They had one to fit our ten year old which was good.

We would recommend this as a safe, well run guesthouse for other families to stay in.

PS there is no pool but I accidentally clicked on this in the review and can't unclick it!!

Room Tip: If you have kids you might need to specify that they are in the same building as you. We asked they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luang Namtha hotels
0.3 mi away
Amandra Villa
Amandra Villa
#2 of 22 in Luang Namtha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
0.1 mi away
Thoulasith Guesthouse
Thoulasith Guesthouse
#4 of 22 in Luang Namtha
3.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tai Dam Guesthouse
Tai Dam Guesthouse
#8 of 22 in Luang Namtha
3.5 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sing Sa Moud Guesthouse
Sing Sa Moud Guesthouse
#5 of 22 in Luang Namtha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
0.0 mi away
Phou Iu III Bungalows
Phou Iu III Bungalows
#2 of 6 in Luang Namtha
3.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
5.3 mi away
Nam Tha River Side Guesthouse
Nam Tha River Side Guesthouse
#7 of 22 in Luang Namtha
3.5 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zuela Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zuela Guesthouse

Property: Zuela Guesthouse
Address: Main Street | across from Night Market, Luang Namtha 0300, Laos
Location: Laos > Luang Namtha Province > Luang Namtha
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Luang Namtha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a great place to experience the beauty of Northern Laos. Our guesthouse offers several different types of guest rooms to suit your needs. Zuela is constructed in the traditional Lao style from brick and teak wood, making our rooms both authentic and comfortable. We are centrally located in Luang Namtha directly across from the Luang Namtha night market, yet tucked away from the busyness of the main street. The guesthouse offers an array of services for the convenience of our guests including bicycle rental, motorbike rentals (daily or one way to several destinations), transportation arrangements, and an on-site reputable tour guide service. The on-site restaurant serves a wide selection of both traditional Lao-style cuisine, Thai food, and Western favorites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Zuela Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zuela Guesthouse Hotel Luang Namtha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing