We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (246)
Filter reviews
246 results
Traveler rating
135
64
19
19
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
135
64
19
19
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews in room dining scuba diving stayed here for nights set menu beautiful resort private garden my daughter stone walls beef a la carte menu golf cart lounge village privacy luxury spa facilities
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 246 reviews
Reviewed February 13, 2019 via mobile

Very nice trip to stay at the island with my family.
The Lounge is good, the village is interesting, the beach is beautiful.

I stay here with my family for 3 days, it is so relaxing . You can see the stars at night and do nothing but relaxing in the house for whole day

The dinner hot pot is yummy and you should try it if you stay during the winter time.

如果有時間一定要去住幾天,真的是很好的地方。
酒店有車子送你去村莊,牛車水 很好玩,西棧橋看日落,很慢的生活方式,很享受這裡的節奏。

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Fiona W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoshino_Resorts, お客様担当マネージャー at HOSHINOYA Taketomi Island, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2019

Dear Fiona W,

Thank you for a great review of HOSHINOYA Taketomi Island! We thank you for staying at a HOSHINOYA property for a second time and are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed the atmosphere of our facilities. Our services continually strive to allow for a getaway that is relaxing and very different from the hustle and bustle of everyday life.
We look forward to welcoming you back to HOSHINOYA again in the near future!

Thank you again.

Sincerely,
Guest Relation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2019 via mobile

Have some yoga workshop and some nice in room dining and they help us vacuum away a huge spider and lovely service as you feel zen there listening to the Okinawa instrumental playlist since you’re away from the city so no TV at all. All you do is chill at their lounge and have some cocktail and snacks and maybe read a book. They have a pool there and a cute long leg bird. You can have a sun tan and pretty much a bath at the room! Totally away from the crowd. I love their western restaurant! And their breakfast is huge! The room is big and I slept well! Staff there are very nice and very welcoming and gave us their gift when you leave with a bottle of their sparkling wine. I also had a nice spa there too!

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank niababy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoshino_Resorts, お客様担当マネージャー at HOSHINOYA Taketomi Island, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2019

Dear niababy123,

Thank you for taking the time to review HOSHINOYA Taketomi Island. We are pleased to hear that you had a peaceful stay and that our staff service, meals and spa were satisfactory. Our services do strive to provide our guests with an authentic and comfortable escape from everyday life during their stay. We have a variety of unique accommodations all over Japan. We hope to welcome you back to another one of them in the near future.
Thank you again.

Sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2019

Came here with a sibling and parents as an end to our week long trip in Ishigaki. My parents definitely enjoyed the peace, quiet, and comfort offered by Hoshinoya. My sibling and I, on the other hand, would probably have wanted a bit more out of the resort in the sense that there wasn't much to do (though to be fair, I don't think we were the target market).

Pros:
- quiet escape from city life
- clean, comfortable, and well-designed rooms
- staff is detail oriented (e.g. noting it's my mother's birthday, they gave her a parting gift)
- food was delicious

Cons:
- I had some emergency work that needed doing, and WiFi was not very strong in the rooms (but ok in the central lodge)
- not exactly good value for money (there just wasn't a lot to do within the resort)

Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Eugene L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoshino_Resorts, お客様担当マネージャー at HOSHINOYA Taketomi Island, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2019

Dear Eugene L,

Thank you for writing a review of HOSHINOYA Taketomi Island! We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, especially in regards to the staff service and dining quality. As you mentioned, our services strive to provide authentic, yet comfortable getaways from everyday life that give guests the rare chance to relax, though for some this may not be their ideal stay style. We also appreciate your thoughtful comments regarding WiFi availability throughout the resort, which has been shared with the rest of the team. Congratulations again to your mother on her birthday, and we certainly hope to have the opportunity to serve your family again in the future!

Sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2018

This is the perfect resort to rest up before heading home after hectic days of sightseeing. The island has only 241 permanent residents and the resort has been built to mirror the island's sand covered lanes and traditional homes. There are 48 beautiful traditional luxury bungalows, each with a bedroom, living area and a very spacious bath area. The resort's restaurant easily justifies multiple Michelin stars for both its food and service. In addition to offering bicycles to guests for a short and scenic ride to a magnificent beach, other activities range from weaving lessons to shamesin (traditional Japanese guitar) lessons to simply relaxing in a spectacularly beautiful pool. A perfect way to end our two week visit to Japan

Room tip: All good rooms, although closer to the pool, dining room and lounge might be preferred
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sightsee802349
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoshino_Resorts, お客様担当マネージャー at HOSHINOYA Taketomi Island, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2018

Dear Sightsee802349

Thank you for taking the time to review HOSHINOYA Taketomi Island! We appreciate your detailed comments and are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay, from the guest rooms to the peaceful atmosphere and activities. Our services strive to provide an authentic yet comfortable for our guests. Thank you again for your review, and we would certainly welcome an opportunity to serve you again at one of our unique accommodations in the future.

Sincerely,
Guest Relation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2018

Pros:
Very nice rooms
Very calm and relaxing
Great to spend some time on the island (using the hotel's bikes)
Good quality activities (esp. scuba diving)

Cons:
Service should get up to speed which what is expected of a hotel in this category (not asking you to drop your laundry off at the front desk for example..), esp. being flexible with customer demands (e.g. taking a shower after check out)
Food was uneven, some very good, some average - no a la carte menu in the restaurant (which forces you to dine in the room if you don't like the set menu)
No beach at the hotel (Kondoi public beach is not very far, it's the only one where you can get in the water, and it's beautiful)

Note to swimmers: Kondoi is not great to swim (very shallow) but can be okay when the tide is high; the hotel's pool has approx 40m usable for laps

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank gr_goirel259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoshino_Resorts, お客様担当マネージャー at HOSHINOYA Taketomi Island, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2018

Dear Grégoire L,

Thank you for taking the time to review HOSHINOYA Taketomi Island! We appreciate your detailed comments and are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay, from the guest rooms to the peaceful atmosphere and activities. We also have shared your thoughtful feedback regarding our services with the rest of the team, and will use it as we continue to evolve our product as we strive to provide both an authentic and comfortable experience for our guests. Thank you again for your review, and we would certainly welcome an opportunity to serve you again at one of our unique accommodations in the future.

Sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews