We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good rooms, amazing snorkelling”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Pension Hoshinosuna
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good rooms, amazing snorkelling”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

We got a huge Western room here, with 2 double beds, and a balcony overlooking the beach - amazing views, though the facilities were a little basic (nice to have a kettle though). It was our second trip to Hoshinosuna for the snorkelling, which is some of the best we've had in Japan, and our first time staying nearby. It doesn't get any nearer than this - literally 20 meters from the beach, making it really easy to get in the water even in inclement weather (which we did have - sometimes the currents were too strong to snorkel). Beautiful reef, tons of fish and we were lucky enough to see a turtle! Wish the staff would do some litter-picking on the beach though.
I would give the hotel 3/5 but it gets an extra point for the location and proximity to great snorkelling. Restaurant is pretty good but options are limited so if you're staying a few nights then I'd recommend walking up to the sushi restaurant thats just to the left as you get back up to the main road, where we had an excellent meal.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paulklee2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ペンション星の砂, お客様担当マネージャー at Pension Hoshinosuna, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear Mr/Ms paulklee2012.
Thank you for choosing us during your days visit to Iriomote!
And I'm glad to hear that you spent a good time at Hoshinosuna.
Thank you for taking the time to review your experience and we will all look forward to having you back again soon! Thank you, Imoto.-Pension hoshinosuna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    28
    12
    1
    1
See reviews for
19
23
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Hakuba
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights as part of a month long trip of the Yaeyama Islands. Pension is right on the beach (20m away maybe),

Half our party stayed in a tatami room which had aircon, fridge, TV & an en-suit. The other half stayed in a twin which had an incredible view of honishinosuna beach, the room also had en-suit, tv & fridge, both were well cleaned, but we did find a gekko in our room one night, which is proberbly our own fault.

The staff at hoshinosuna didn`t speak great english but definatley went above & beyond to do everything they could for us. they drove us around the island which is handy as their is only one bus, so if you don`t have a bike or fancy walking you can`t get around.

Hoshinosuna also has a dive school, which has an incredible two story boat with toilet`s & sun deck. We wanted to dive with the Manta Ray`s but it wasn`t the right season but we did see a turtle!

The resturant in honshinosuna is also suprising good, definatley reccommend eating there! we had breakfast & dinner, & its very good value & they`re quite happy to put everything on the room bill & pay at the end!

definatley would stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HRazzeldazzel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2012

Property was a bit tired and the back entrance view looked a bit army barracks but the room itself was spacious, clean, with a private but miniscule bathroom, large balcony with out of this world view.

The beach has interesting rock pools when the tide is out with lots of fish, good snorkelling.

The restaurant served really good local cooked food, beautifully air conditioned, gift shop and ice-cream counter, we didn't feel the need to go anywhere else to eat on our two night stay. Only downfall was last orders were at 7pm. Breakfast well worth it as there is no where else easily accessible.

We stayed in the western room, my son and his girlfriend stayed in a tatami room which had a large bathroom but the room itself was not so nice, although good air con in both.

Staff had limited English but very helpful and willing to drive us to the shop, ferry etc. hotel is also a dive centre, 11,000¥ for 2 dives on private boat which was spacious and modern.

Did the River and jungle walk to the waterfall, facinating to walk in a tropical jungle but humid as hell, advice would be to take a small towell you can dip in the river to keep yourself cool.

Room Tip: For view ask for a first floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dafnos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2010

We expected something at least average quality based on the great reviews from here - we couldn't be more wrong. We stayed at a Japanese style room and it couldn't be more basic. The worst part was the thinnest (and old) mattress you can possibly encounter and we were bitten by bugs! The worst sleeping quality I've ever experienced! The breakfast was also basic. Thank God we didn't book the dinner option. Yes, the beach, front of the hotel is great but it doesn't belong to the hotel obviously so I strongly recommend you just go to the beach and not the hotel.

Oh and please can someone control snorkelers walking on corals with shoes etc? It's so sad to see how people can be ignorant about the ecology.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank W_and_N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2009

We arrived on the pier from Ishigaki, not knowing where to go. The Hoshinosuna minibus was there, offering a service we had not requested - a pattern that was to follow for the 4 days we were there. We had a medical problem and the staff were great - came with us to the clinic to explain to the doctor.

If you are looking for luxury this is not the place, but if you want good clean basic accommodation (with fridge & kettle), lovely friendly service and superb location with fantastic views, this is it. Romantic location, but unfortunately single beds...

I recommend the full board - the food is wonderful - great breakfasts and dinners with the freshest fish - much better value than the a la carte. No internet but you can get your fix at the posh hotel a couple of miles up the road. Recommend hiring a car for a day to see the rest of the island.

Snorkeling was incredible, huge amounts of fish - the tide was out in main part of the day but early morning and evening were fantastic - better than the scuba dive! The diving was OK, really good boat, well equipped. Unfortunately they don't take care of the coral as much as they should and it's probably better for experienced divers - I don't recommend for beginners unless you speak some Japanese.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gbrux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taketomicho Iriomote-jima hotels
9.4 mi away
Eco Village Iriomote
Eco Village Iriomote
#2 of 8 in Taketomicho Iriomote-jima
4.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
3.2 mi away
Sea-side Hotel Royal Blue Moon
Sea-side Hotel Royal Blue Moon
#6 of 8 in Taketomicho Iriomote-jima
4.5 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Nirakanai Iriomotejima
Hotel Nirakanai Iriomotejima
#1 of 8 in Taketomicho Iriomote-jima
4.0 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Irumoteso
Irumoteso
#2 of 43 in Taketomicho Iriomote-jima
4.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
13.6 mi away
La Teada Iriomote Resort
La Teada Iriomote Resort
#4 of 8 in Taketomicho Iriomote-jima
4.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
0.0 mi away
Jungle Hotel Painu Maya
Jungle Hotel Painu Maya
#8 of 8 in Taketomicho Iriomote-jima
4.0 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Hoshinosuna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Hoshinosuna

Property: Pension Hoshinosuna
Address: 289-1 Uehara, Taketomi-cho, Yaeyama-gun 907-1541 , Okinawa Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kyushu-Okinawa > Okinawa Prefecture > Yaeyama-gun > Taketomicho Iriomote-jima
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Taketomicho Iriomote-jima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotel.de, Rakuten, Ctrip TA and HRS so you can book your Pension Hoshinosuna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing