We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heady Culture Trip”
Review of Hotel Sangam

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Sangam
Ranked #3 of 25 Hotels in Thanjavur
Reviewed May 12, 2010

Since we were visiting Tanjore after several years, we were not sure about a good place to stay. However, the auto driver recommended this hotel and said it was one of the good ones. The rates are quite reasonable. The one thing which really impressed me was the decor. It was very traditional, yet modern. Tanjore being a cultural hub and home of the Brahadeeswarar Temple which is an architectural marvel, still maintains a small town flavor and so does the hotel. The staff were very courteous and helpful especially given the fact that we were traveling with 3 children and we were an all woman group. The rooms were comfortable, however the cleanliness of the rooms was only average. That was the only negative point. There were a lot of expat crown in the hotel and it is quite close to the cultural spots. Their travel desk was also very helpful in giving us travel directions to many spots, some which were known only locally. They also have a very good swimming pool which was just the thing to beat the heat. Their restaurant is good and I especially liked the decor and ambience, again traditional yet with modern facilities.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelcrazychica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (294)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

196 - 202 of 294 reviews

Reviewed May 11, 2010

A great base, not cheap, but efficient and friendly, pool is welcome in the dusty city that is Tanjore

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spuddybike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2010

For a small Town like Thanjavur, this hotel is a pleasant surprise.
All services were better than expected---roooms, comfort, stafff attention and the location was great.
The food is the icing of the cake.
--very tantalising at very moderate prices.
happy with the overalll expereience as expectations were limited

Stayed: January 2009, traveled on business
Thank plpalani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2010

We stayed just one night and were impressed by nothing. This is a large, soulless hotel with fading decoration, large but unwelcoming rooms and few amenities. Dinner was adequate, the service willing but unpolished. Breakfast was a simple buffet but with choice of freshly cooked eggs.

The staff were pleasant enough and wiling, but there was no real sense of welcome or great interest in the guests. If you just want a fairly cheap hotel and have few expectations this place is adequate, but only just.........

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnWilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2010

I have stayed at the Ideal River Resort and at Hotel Parisutham in the last two years. I'd rate those two higher than this place. This is overpiced. The building is impressive. However, the hotel has no character. The staff were very courteous. The smoke from the bar fills the lobby and it can be quite a problem if you don't like smoke smell. The dinner events in the back lawn can be quite noisy and will go on until 10 p.m. and can be a nuisance if you want to go to bed early.
It has high speed internet connection.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kunthavai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2009

Overall this was a good clean hotel with very friendly and helpful staff. Food was excellent and restaurant manager was very attentive showing us an explaining each of the dishes
Whilst not what I would describe as an international standard hotel they were keen to ensure we had a good stay and when booking out the manager ask us to complete a visitors comments book which is on display in the lobby
One observation is that as its clients were mainly Indian they did not stock white wine but we thoroughly enjoyed the stay and would have no hesitation in returning

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RalphPriorsMarston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2009

I am frequent visitor to the Sangam Hotel. Its close to my office and every weekend I used to have party alongwith my friends in this hotel.

The entrance is a beautiful lounge with all lights.
Its like as if we have entered a shopping mall.

The room are really neat and tidy. The open air restruant is very good.

The swimming pool and other facilities are very wonderful.

The bar is amazing. Its like we have entered an Egyptian pyramid. The mild lighters and the varieties of side dishes for the drink is very good.

Its simply nice to be occupant of this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ErnestJeffry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Thanjavur hotels
3.7 mi away
Ideal River View Resort
Ideal River View Resort
#1 of 25 in Thanjavur
661 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Parisutham
Hotel Parisutham
#5 of 25 in Thanjavur
199 reviews
1.1 mi away
Svatma
Svatma
#2 of 25 in Thanjavur
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Gnanam
Hotel Gnanam
#4 of 25 in Thanjavur
384 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lakshmi Hotel
Lakshmi Hotel
#6 of 25 in Thanjavur
148 reviews
0.3 mi away
Star Residency
Star Residency
#10 of 25 in Thanjavur
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sangam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sangam

Address: Trichy Road, Thanjavur 613007, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Thanjavur District > Thanjavur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 25 Hotels in Thanjavur
Price Range: $60 - $82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sangam 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Sangam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sangam Tanjore Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing