We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Sangam

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Sangam
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in Thanjavur
Chennai
Level Contributor
283 reviews
139 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 278 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Hotel is in accessible distance from the main visiting places of Thanjavur like Bragadeeshwara (Big) Temple, Palace, Monument etc and good hotel to stay with.

We stayed for 2 nights and we really enjoyed the stay. Hotel staff are good and friendly on arranging the needed. Restaurant is typical south Indian but you get varieties also.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marutha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sangam_Tanjore, General Manager at Hotel Sangam, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Dear Sir,

Greetings from Sangam,Tanjore.

Heartening to know that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel.
Thanking you for taking the time to register your
comments. It is comments like these that encourages
us to go that extra mile. Once again I thank you for
the comments and looking forward to receiving you
during your next visit.

Best Regards
V.C.Venkatesh
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    121
    62
    18
    11
See reviews for
79
79
18
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Москва, Россия
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2014

Quick check-inn, friendly staff. Clean and comfortable room, no noise of the busy street gets in the room. Breakfast is quite diverse, indian cuisine of course spicy but you can find dishes of european tast. I think this hotel is one of the best one can find in Tanjore for the South India trip.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mashunchik21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sangam_Tanjore, General Manager at Hotel Sangam, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Dear Sir,

Greetings from Sangam,Tanjore.

It is heartening to know that you enjoyed the stay in the hotel.
Thank you for taking the time to register your comments.
Looking forward to serving you once again in the future.

Thaking you,

Yours sincerely,
V.C.Venkatesh
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L'Isle-Adam, France
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Despited asking for a quite room we were provided one on the front side (Road)
No charm globally : simply no atmosphere
Swimming pool was not very clean and crowded (with a Training Class for locas)
Restaurant was very strange : we were proposed/imposed first a Buffet as a French Group being there same day. After discussion the Restaurant staff has shown appreciation and flexibility for us to eat local and Indian!
As a stay for a family this is OK

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelexp22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sangam_Tanjore, General Manager at Hotel Sangam, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Dear Sir,

Greetings from Sangam,Tanjore.
Thank you for taking the time to register your comments. At the outset
we would like to apologise for the inconvenience caused.
Your experience at our hotel concerns us. Kindly be assured that
corrective action will be taken. Looking forward to welcoming you to our
hotel once again.

Yours Sincerely,

V.C.Venkatesh.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
345 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2014

We were here as part of a Kuoni tour of Southern India. The hotel gave us a warm welcome with a drink and a scarf draped around our necks, and they moved us to a double room when we asked as we were assigned a twin. The new room was bigger so that was nice. In the room there is fridge, mini bar, tea facilities, safe etc. The bathroom was large and nicely fitted out, and the AC was good. The beds are hard but comfortable and the blackout is pretty good. There is a pool but don’t think of spending the afternoon there as there are chairs but no loungers; we were there early evening and the water was clean and lovely and warm, but it wasn’t a nice place to relax and we had to walk through the lobby in our swimming kit with everyone looking us up and down to get there. Ladies, be warned and cover up. There is free wifi in the room but it’s not completely secure. We ate at the hotel as our guide told us that there isn’t much around. We looked at the buffed option but it was something and nothing really, with not a lot of choice. But the a la carte menu was super, and the food that we ordered was really very good. The service was a bit mixed, starters and mains came together, and some items took a long time to come. Breakfast wasn't very inspiring, although you could order egg dishes. The restaurant was used by a lot of local people as well as western tourists staying in the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sangam_Tanjore, General Manager at Hotel Sangam, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear Sir,

Greetings from Sangam,Tanjore.

Heartening and happy to know you liked the hotel and you had a comportable
stay. Thank you for taking the time to register your comments. Looking forward to
welcoming you once again in the near future. The points you have made have
been noted and suitable action will be taken.

Thank you once again.

Yours Sincerely,

V.C.Venkatesh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2014

We stayed for two days and the room was good,

The same can't be said about the food. We ordered room service and opted for north Indian cuisine. It was a terrible mistake. The food was blend and left very disappointed.

The breakfast was not spectacular but at the same time not bad at all.The south Indian options can be improved.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RajGovindan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sangam_Tanjore, General Manager at Hotel Sangam, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear Sir,
Greetings from Sangam,Tanjore.

At the outset we would like to apologise for your disappointment though we received
commendable comments from the other guests present on that day. The principal
goal of our hotel is to give dependable service. Consequently it was disappointing
to learn that you were unhappy. We would like to assure you that it was one of those
solitary instance. Thanking you for taking the time to register your comments.
Looking forward to serving you in future.

Yours Sincerely,

V.C.Venkatesh
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Orange, New Jersey
Level Contributor
101 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2014

Rooms are spacious with king size hard beds. You will also find a room safe and flat panel TV. Furnishings and fixtures are tired looking. AC works well and service is prompt. When my AC stopped working maintenance arrived within five minutes of my calling the front desk. The breakfast buffet is fine with omlettes made to order.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Palmtree2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sangam_Tanjore, General Manager at Hotel Sangam, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Dear Sir,

Greetings from Sangam,Tanjore.

Heartening to know that you enjoyed your stay in the hotel. Thank you
for taking the time to register your comments. The points you made
have been taken note of and corrective action will be taken soon.
Looking forward to serving you again.

Yours Sincerely,

V.C.Venkatesh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Secunderabad, India
Level Contributor
125 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2014

Stayed recently for a night at Hotel Sangam in Thanjavur. It was a nice and cozy place. There is of course scope to improve the quality of food, which is pricey. I was old this is the best hotel in Thanjavur, and probably is. The room tariffs are reasonable.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmmanuelMurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sangam_Tanjore, General Manager at Hotel Sangam, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Dear Mr.Emmanuel Murrsay,

Greetings from Sangam,Tanjore.

Glad to know that you were happy with the hotel and services.
The points you made have been made note of and corrective
measures shall be taken. Thank you for taking time to register
your comments. Hope to see you again in the near future.

Best Regards

V.C.Venkatesh.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Thanjavur hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Parisutham
Hotel Parisutham
#5 of 24 in Thanjavur
180 reviews
3.6 mi away
Ideal River View Resort
Ideal River View Resort
#1 of 24 in Thanjavur
590 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Gnanam
Hotel Gnanam
#4 of 24 in Thanjavur
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Svatma
Svatma
#2 of 24 in Thanjavur
106 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lakshmi Hotel
Lakshmi Hotel
#6 of 24 in Thanjavur
126 reviews
0.3 mi away
Star Residency
Star Residency
#10 of 24 in Thanjavur
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sangam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sangam

Property: Hotel Sangam
Address: Trichy Road, Thanjavur 613007, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Thanjavur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in Thanjavur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sangam 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Sangam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sangam Tanjore Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing