We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great staff and great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Parisutham

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Parisutham
Ranked #5 of 24 Hotels in Thanjavur
Melbourne
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“great staff and great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2010

We were in Tanjore for a few days and were lucky to stay here. The hotel staff were great, especially the ladies at reception. They were very helpful! The hotel itself was interesting - it seemed to have alot of deco touchs, like the wrought iron around the staircase but was also very '60s -'70s. I think it may have been an older hotel that had been gutted and re-built. Certainly the little picket fences around the potplants in the hallways were a unique touch!
The pool was fantastic and a welcome respite from walking around Tanjore which, when we were there, was a hot and quite dusty town. The restaurant was ok, but there are alot of others near there if you want to venture out. The room itself was fine -comfortable and spacious. Probably around a four star for India. My only peeve would have been that there seemed to be at least two or three rooms full of *businessmen* who spent alot of time drinking, smoking and looking out their room windows when I went for a swim, but as throughout India, discretion is probably your safest best when in your bikinis. In the same vein, I wouldn't venture down into the bar if you're a woman by herself or with another friend -even with a guy, you may feel uncomfortable as the bar was a bit like an underground cave.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank connie_from_oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    45
    44
    20
    10
See reviews for
61
39
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hawaii
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2009

We were a group of 20 friends from the United States, and we enjoyed our 2 nights stay there. The place was clean and close to everything. The food was good. It has a very nice swimming pool and a small garden area around it. We enjoyed massages that the hotel offers (very reasonably priced).
This is a good hotel for western tourism. It's not a 5 star hotel, but it's a very comfortable one and with courteous service.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kunthavai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2009

The hotel is situated on the edge of a beautiful flowing river in the middle of Tanjore close to the Bus stand and the Railway Station. Although it's in the center of town, the hotel is quiet and peaceful inside. The property is small, but has lush gardens and a beautiful swimming pool. The included breakfast was sumptuous and delicious, and the staff were wonderful! If you can get a local friend to make the reservations, it's about US $70 / per day.... over the net, it's a lot more. The AC room was cool enough, clean and the bed was comfortable. The famous temple (a World Heritage Foundation) is just under 3 kms. away.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank edwiniruthaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano
Level Contributor
40 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2009

Room with old furniture and very noisy and old frigo bar. All room looked like sad and not well maintained.
Not so kindly people at the reception.
Good breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank giuly271
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Thanjavur hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Chennai
Level Contributor
47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2009

A world-class hotel, situated in the centre of Thanjavur near the
Big Temple, Palace, Railway station and the Bus Station.

A calm place in the center of the city is difficult to find but here is the one. The green serene look at the entrance. The shopping complex near the reception holding the metal and antiques of the King's of Thanjavur.

The open lawn restruant for dinner is amazing. The musical concert in the dinner hall is wonderful and bring in the melodies while eating. This reduces the stress and unwanted tensions of life.

The rooms are very much clean and well maintained. Service is very much satisfying.

The underground bar is so silent and calm to have a peaceful drink.

Once you get inside, since there are lot of foreign visitors, it would appear to be a beautiful European country.

  • Liked — Comfortable rooms
  • Disliked — Room Service to be improved
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ErnestJeffry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kochi (Cochin), India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2009

Hotel Parisutham (the word Parisutham means holy) is located at a two hour drive from the famous religious church of Our Lady at Velankanni where thousands of pilgrims flock to every year. As many of the hotels and hostels near the church are almost always full. this hotel proves to be a much needed relief for those traveling in from far away.

As May is considered off-peak season(because of the summer), the hotel was renting out its rooms at 50% of its original rate. However, I did not find this a value for money as the rooms were quite over-priced to begin with and even with the discount, it was still too expensive for the kind of room that they offered. Howvever, the hotel though is not overly luxurious, it has a rather pleasant aura about it and has a lot of ethinic touches to it - especially in the lobby. The restaurant serves great food but again is quite pricey for the region.

The hotel has an ayurvedic center which functions only during the peak season so it was closed when I visited- no complaints from me as I was only there to spend the night whilst on my way to a pilgrimage.

The rooms are nicely furnished and the bathrooms are equipped with bath tubs allowing you to take a nice bubble bath if you feel like it ! The hotel provides free Wi-fi which is rather useful.When I went to check out the pool at night, to my horror I found a frog lurking around - it could be because nobody was really using it during those days.

The restaurant staff were very courteous and helpful, though not so much those at the reception. Guess they were having a bad day.

On the whole - it wasn't a bad place to stay - i'll admit not the best. But hey- if youre just looking to sleep and shower on your way to somewhere, this is a great place!

  • Liked — The whole hotel had a really pleasant aura about it.
  • Disliked — There was a really rude staff member that I encountered at the reception!
  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank HigherSprings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2009

The room was okay - with a little seating area and garden view. But it was damp and musty and the bed linen and towels were old and tired. Food was okay but not great and the restaurant was lacking in any atmosphere. the bar was dark and poky with only warm beer. Overall disappointing. Mozzy's were bad but as there was no aircon and expect powercuts in Tanjore.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DevontravellerDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Thanjavur hotels
3.2 mi away
Ideal River View Resort
Ideal River View Resort
#1 of 24 in Thanjavur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Gnanam
Hotel Gnanam
#4 of 24 in Thanjavur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Sangam
Hotel Sangam
#3 of 24 in Thanjavur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Lakshmi Hotel
Lakshmi Hotel
#6 of 24 in Thanjavur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
0.6 mi away
Svatma
Svatma
#2 of 24 in Thanjavur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
0.8 mi away
Star Residency
Star Residency
#12 of 24 in Thanjavur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Parisutham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Parisutham

Property: Hotel Parisutham
Address: 55 G.A. Canal Road, Thanjavur 613 001, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Thanjavur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 24 Hotels in Thanjavur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Parisutham 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the charming Hotel Parisutham, the hospitality house which take immense pleasure in inviting you to enjoy a quiet, comfortable stay’ Hotel Parisutham, a magnificent setting in Thanjavur, the ‘Rice Bowl’ of India, one of world heritage center and the most beautiful and magnificently preserved area with exquisite culture and heritage, where you can enjoy beauty with luxury and relax with the impeccable service.Since your comfort has become the aspiration, all the rooms offer luxury and style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Parisutham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parisutham Hotel Thanjavur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing