We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Special!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ideal River View Resort
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Thanjavur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Ideal River View is the best place to stay in Tanjore/Tichy area in beautiful and enchanting Tamil Nadu, India. The property is very nice and the staff extremely friendly and helpful!! The Tanjore Temple is the most beautiful in India and it's worth the visit!!

Room Tip: Ask for the new wing!!!
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cris-Eshana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmalaPromodhiniP, Public Relations Manager at Ideal River View Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2014

Dear Sir/ Madam,

Greetings from Ideal River View Resort !!!

We thank you for choosing Ideal River View Resort as your holiday getaway! It brings us great joy and motivation when our guests share their experience of their stay with us. Ideal River View Resort is seamlessly located by the Banks of the Cauvery which makes it a calm and quaint place to be.
We here at Ideal Group of Resorts strive to provide the finest hospitality possible and are glad that you were satisfied with the level of hospitality provided. We hope to see you soon to experience an even greater “Ideal” hospitality. Have a great day!

With Warm regards,
Natasha Uma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (622)
There are newer reviews for Ideal River View Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

255 - 261 of 622 reviews

Reviewed February 8, 2014

We have just spent a night at this hotel, the staff were very friendly and provided excellent service. The manager mr Raja was very pleasant and even
arranged a packed lunch for us at no cost. Would highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank ene4620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmalaPromodhiniP, Public Relations Manager at Ideal River View Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2014

Dear Sir/ Madam,

Greetings from Ideal River View Resort!!

We thank you for choosing Ideal River View Resort as your holiday destination! We would like to express our gratitude for taking the time to share your holiday experience at our Thanjavur property. We are more than glad to know that you were satisfied with the level of hospitality provided by our staff.
We are more than glad to be of your service and we hope that you enjoyed the packed food. We looking forward for your next visit soon. Have a pleasant day !!!

With regards,
Natasha Uma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2014

I recently took a group of 16 of my yoga students to the Ideal River Resort, it was a perfect location for a yoga retreat, peaceful location, lovely rooms, beautiful food, excellent facilities and the most wonderful staff. I can't thank them all enough for their kindness and help to us. I will certainly come back again!

Room Tip: I would recommend the new block
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmalaPromodhiniP, Public Relations Manager at Ideal River View Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2014

Dear Ms. Wendy,

Greetings from Ideal River View Resort!!

We thank you for choosing Ideal River View Resort as your holiday destination! To begin, we would like to express our deepest gratitude for taking the time to share your holiday experience at our Thanjavur property.
We take great pride in our luscious greeneries surrounding our property and it brings us great bliss in knowing that you and your yoga group appreciated it. We here at Ideal Group of Resorts constantly strive to provide the finest hospitality possible to all our guests and we are glad that you were satisfied with the level of hospitality delivered.
We hope to see you soon to experience a greater “Ideal” hospitality. Have a good day!

With warm regards
Natasha Uma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2014

We recently visited this place and its clean, nice quite location. Room clean. Restaurant good with nice view over the river
Staff were very welcoming and helpful. Manager came and introduce himself at dinner and ensured that we are well looked after. I would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Room facing river
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SKOOBY2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmalaPromodhiniP, Public Relations Manager at Ideal River View Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

Dear Sir,

Greetings from Ideal River View Resort !!!

We thank you for choosing Ideal River View as your holiday getaway! Firstly, we would like to extend our gratitude for all the pleasing comments shared regarding your “Ideal” experience. We are glad that you cherished the surroundings of our property.
We take great pride in being ideally located by the Banks of the Cauvery which creates a picturesque view from all rooms within the property. We were more than glad to be of your service at all times. All in all, we are delighted that you had a great stay with us. We do hope to see you soon. Have a terrific day !!!

With warm regards,
Natasha Uma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2014

. it was quite a disappointing hotel. The room was very basic and could be cleaner. i would say it is not valued to its price. the dining area is full with mosquitoes as it is close to the river and was not very pleasant to sit in. the food was ok but not more

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

What’s not ideal about the Ideal Riverview Resort?

Ideal doesn’t even begin to describe it.

It’s location is positively idyllic facing onto a delightful rural landscape across the sandbanked Cauvery River. The rooms are set in a lovely garden and the entire resort has a lightness and airiness that lifts the heart. It is one of those rare places that you want to revisit. It would be an ideal place to spend a quiet week.

Our first floor luxury rooms had balconies that looked over the dining terrace to the riverscape and were such a pleasure to be in, with birdsong, waterbirds, the occasional bullock cart driving down to the water from the opposite bank to collect sand, and rural life going on across the water. The rooms are not ultra modern and immaculate but they are clean, comfortable and stylish and we enjoyed the time we spent in our room hugely.

Best of all are the staff. We had a real welcome to the Ideal River resort and our fellow guests all without exception seemed to be treated with great courtesy, friendliness and warmth. People make places, they say, and the excellent staff make the Ideal river Resort exceptional.

Meals are largely buffet style with a good choice in the evenings. There is an a la carte menu as well. There is complimentary afternoon tea and biscuits served between four and five. The live music and dance that accompany dinner are outstanding.

Hotels in Thajavur can be dispiriting in our experience. Not here.

The Ideal River Resort not only has enthusiastic reviews on TripAdvisor it also has its own loyal clients, so getting a booking can be difficult. We tried repeatedly over a year but unfortunately tour groups had fully booked the period we wanted. We were lucky and got a last minute reservation the day before we booked in.

There is a gratuity box for tips which takes away the hassle of who and when and how much to tip. Wi-Fi works well and has a token charge of 100 rupees per day.

Recommended without reservation, if you can get a booking here, don’t hesitate.

We think the best rooms are above the restaurant on the first floor, or the second floor of the villas by the river where there are hammocks strung between palms.

Room Tip: We thought the best rooms were above the restaurant on the first floor overlooking the river.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Boulbon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmalaPromodhiniP, Guest Relations Manager at Ideal River View Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2014

Dear Mr. Boulbon,

Greetings from Ideal Group of Resorts !!!

Greetings from Ideal River View Resort!!
We thank you for choosing Ideal River View Resort as your holiday destination! We would like to begin by expressing our gratitude for taking the time to share your “Ideal” experience with us. To add, we are content that you had a pleasant stay with us and we thank you for all the positive feedback provided.
We take great pride in being a strategically located property, furnished with a beautiful view of the Cauvery River. We are glad that you enjoyed the ambiance of your room as well the view from your balcony.
We here at Ideal Group of Resorts, constantly strive to provide the finest hospitality possible. It brings us great joy in knowing that you were more than pleased with the level of hospitality provided.
We are deeply contented that you savoured the evening buffet and appreciated the spread as well. Ideal River View resort does have live classical music for the enjoyment of our guests. In regards to your comment about our resort being fully booked, we are currently undergoing our peak season. Therefore, it is almost fully booked most of the time.
With such positive comments, we will stay motivated to further provide a greater “Ideal” hospitality. We do hope to see you soon. Have a great day!!

With regards,
Natasha Uma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Best hotel we stayed in Tamil Nadu and not only in T.N. Cleanliness impeccable, room was spacious, modern furniture, wonderful bathroom and a nice view on the river. Restaurant is very good with wonderful view on the river and staff quite friendly, manager offers you drins in the evening, and all staff is very helpful. One of the best hotel we ever stayed, and prices is correct.
It is a few km from town, so better have a car or contemplate taxis.

Room Tip: rooms on upper floor have a better view
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank claudiocMilano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmalaPromodhiniP, Guest Relations Manager at Ideal River View Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

Dear Ms. Claudio,

Greetings from Ideal River View Resort!!

We thank you for choosing Ideal River View Resort as your holiday destination! We would like to express our gratitude for all the positive remarks made during your stay at our property. We were more than glad to be of service to all our guests.
To further add, we are glad that you enjoyed the picturesque surroundings as well as the beautiful view of the Cauvery banks. Ideal River View resort is strategically located to many tourist spots. We hope to see you soon. Have a good day !!!

With warm regards,
Natasha Uma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thanjavur
3.7 mi away
Svatma
Svatma
#2 of 24 in Thanjavur
123 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Parisutham
Hotel Parisutham
#5 of 24 in Thanjavur
189 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel Sangam
Hotel Sangam
#3 of 24 in Thanjavur
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.4 mi away
INDeco Swamimalai
INDeco Swamimalai
#1 of 25 in Kumbakonam
280 reviews
3.6 mi away
Lakshmi Hotel
Lakshmi Hotel
#6 of 24 in Thanjavur
137 reviews
2.5 mi away
Tanjore Hi Hotel
Tanjore Hi Hotel
#9 of 24 in Thanjavur
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ideal River View Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ideal River View Resort

Address: Vennar Bank, Pali Agraharam, Thanjavur 613003, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Thanjavur District > Thanjavur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Thanjavur
Price Range: $57 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ideal River View Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Ideal River View Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ideal River View Hotel Thanjavur
Ideal River View Thanjavur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing