We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ideal River View Resort
Nearby Hotels
Svatma(Thanjavur)
$114
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Parisutham(Thanjavur)
$46
Booking.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Gnanam(Thanjavur)
$41
Booking.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Balaji Inn(Thanjavur)
$19
Booking.com
View Deal
Average 3/5
  • Free Parking
Hotel Sangam(Thanjavur)
$57
Priceline
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Victoriyah(Thanjavur)(Great Value!)
$23
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tanjore Hi Hotel(Thanjavur)
$46
$43
Agoda.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Lakshmi Hotel(Thanjavur)
$50
$43
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Star Residency(Thanjavur)
$34
$26
Priceline
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (705)
Filter reviews
705 results
Traveler rating
313
299
76
14
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
313
299
76
14
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsswimming pooldressing roomoxayurvedic massagesouth indiaa la cartelarge bathroomrestaurant manageroff seasonpeaceful locationtamil nadumaintained gardenaway from the hustle and bustlebreakfast and dinnerstayed longeropen airmemorable stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
322 - 327 of 705 reviews
Reviewed January 11, 2014

We stayed there during our India vacation - and what a wonderful place. Rooms were super clean and spacious. They were almost like independent villas. The bathrooms were large and luxurious too. Room service was excellent and the staff seemed to be happy overall and that reflected in their attitude. They had live music at dinner - really good local musicians performed for a couple of hours. Great experience!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelpro1918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmalaPromodhiniP, Guest Relations Manager at Ideal River View Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

Dear Sir,

Greetings from Ideal River View Resort!!
We thank you for choosing Ideal River View Resort as your holiday getaway!! We would to extend our gratitude for all the positive comments you provided regarding your stay at our property. To begin, we are pleased that you enjoyed the ambiance of your room.
We here at Ideal Group of Resorts strive to provide the warmest and most welcoming hospitality to all our guests. To add, we are deeply contented that you enjoyed the local classical music. We hope to see you soon. Have a great day!

With warm regards,
Natasha Uma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Sitting right on the river, it was a very pretty and comfortable place to spend a couple of nights. The staff were very welcoming and as it was Christmas, they did their best to make it a fun stay though we were probably too tired to appreciate it. Bedroom had a dressing room and large bathroom with separate bath and shower. Food was buffet style but plenty of choice.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sbcb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmalaPromodhiniP, Guest Relations Manager at Ideal River View Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

Dear Sir,

Greetings from Ideal River View Resort!!
We thank you for choosing Ideal River View resort as your holiday getaway!! We would like to begin by extending our appreciation for taking the time to share your “Ideal” experience with us. It brings us great content knowing that you had a pleasant and hospitable stay at our property.
We are glad that you found the level of hospitality provided satisfactory. Christmas happens to be one of our busiest seasons, therefore the guests are entertained with genres of music and a gala dinner. To add, we are pleased that you enjoyed the ambiance of your room.
We do hope to see you soon.
Have a great day !!!


With warm regards,
Natasha Uma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

We had an amazing stay at the Ideal resort, completely pampered by the service-oriented staff. The place is immaculately designed with sparkling white buildings, gracious outdoor porches and meticulously manicured gardens. Our room was a huge suite with an enormous bathroom, a dressing/ study space, a big bedroom and front and back porches. In the more recently completed wing, our room had tasteful dark wood furniture, white walls and a lovely teal blue accent wall.
The hotel has a huge staff that works hard to constantly scrub the place and arrange everything for the guest's convenience. The host Prem was especially helpful in helping us methodically search for a misplaced passport (which we found I had dropped.) He and Sandia provided a warm welcome.
We found the extensive grounds to be a great retreat from the challenge of negotiating busy Indian cities. The pool is especially beautiful and sparkingly clean, surrounded by tropical flowers and trees. One downside was that the outdoor dining porch with the great river view had a lot of mosquitos at night during our December stay, though it was fine in the daytime and the food was delicious and nicely presented. We had two computer power adapters fry because of a power surge that may have been due to electrical work being done on the building.
Overall, we loved staying here and thought it was a great value at 6,000 Rupees + tax/ night. While this is quite a bit more than the in-town hotels, it provides a idyllic luxury enclave and is a bargain compared to similar resorts in places like Hawaii or San Diego. The staff gave us a complimentary room service dinner for our final night, which left us with a good taste in our mouths.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AntsyNeng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmalaPromodhiniP, Public Relations Manager at Ideal River View Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

Dear Sir,

Greetings from Ideal River View Resort!!

We thank you for choosing Ideal River view resort as your holiday destination! To begin, we would like to thank you for all the positive feedback you provided about your stay with us. We are pleased that you cherished the ambiance of your room as well as its amenities.
Our staffs are more than willing to be of service at all times and we are truly glad that you were satisfied with the level of hospitality provided. We here at Ideal group of resorts take great pride in our luscious green surroundings.
December happens to be our monsoon season, therefore coupled with rain, it tend to attract mosquitos. Please know that we have taken protective measures such as fogging, to prevent infestation of mosquitos.
In reference to your comment regarding the power adapters, we would like to apologize for the mishap. We will ensure to have the sockets checked and changed. All in all, we are glad that you had a pleasant stay with us. And we do hope to see you soon. Have a good day!

With warm regards,
Natasha Uma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2013

This resort is away from the main area of Thanjore, and provides an oasis of calm by the river. The staff were very welcoming and willing to please. The rooms were very spacious with big bathroom and dressing room. Dining was on a beautiful terrace overlooking the river, at night the classical Indian music was delightful. Food was excellent especially the fresh seafood. The pool area and grounds were well maintained. Would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the temples in Thanjore .

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms have a good view of the river.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fiona091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmalaPromodhiniP, Public Relations Manager at Ideal River View Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

Dear Ms. Fiona,

Greetings from Ideal River View Resort !!!

We thank you for choosing Ideal River View Resort as your holiday getaway! Firstly, we would like to thank you for taking the time to share your “Ideal” experience with us. We are pleased that you enjoyed the quaint surrounding of our property which is located by the banks of the Cauvery.
Our staffs are more than willing to be of our guests service at all times and we are glad that you found our hospitality satisfactory. To add, we are happy that you enjoyed the ambiance of your room as well as the evening entertainment.
We are deeply contented that you relished the fresh seafood. We are glad you had a pleasant stay with us. See you soon. Have a nice day!

With Warm Regards,
Natasha Uma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2013

Tanjore city does not offer much choice when it comes to hotels. So the Ideal River View Resort is amongst the few hotels which should considered if traveling to Tanjore. It is situated out of town down a small road and along the river. It offers the weary traveller all that is needed for a restful stay.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank jdesalab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmalaPromodhiniP, Public Relations Manager at Ideal River View Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2014

Dear Sir,

Greetings from Ideal Group of Resort !!!!

We thank you for choosing Ideal River View resort as your holiday destination! We would like to express our gratitude for all the positive remarks shared regarding your stay at our property. We take great pride in our luscious greeneries surrounding our property and not to mention it is ideally located by the Cauvery River.
We are glad that you had a pleasant stay with us and we hope to see you soon. Have a good day !!!

With warm regards,
Natasha Uma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews