We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, relaxing retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ideal River View Resort
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Thanjavur
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful, relaxing retreat”
Reviewed December 26, 2013

We had an amazing stay at the Ideal resort, completely pampered by the service-oriented staff. The place is immaculately designed with sparkling white buildings, gracious outdoor porches and meticulously manicured gardens. Our room was a huge suite with an enormous bathroom, a dressing/ study space, a big bedroom and front and back porches. In the more recently completed wing, our room had tasteful dark wood furniture, white walls and a lovely teal blue accent wall.
The hotel has a huge staff that works hard to constantly scrub the place and arrange everything for the guest's convenience. The host Prem was especially helpful in helping us methodically search for a misplaced passport (which we found I had dropped.) He and Sandia provided a warm welcome.
We found the extensive grounds to be a great retreat from the challenge of negotiating busy Indian cities. The pool is especially beautiful and sparkingly clean, surrounded by tropical flowers and trees. One downside was that the outdoor dining porch with the great river view had a lot of mosquitos at night during our December stay, though it was fine in the daytime and the food was delicious and nicely presented. We had two computer power adapters fry because of a power surge that may have been due to electrical work being done on the building.
Overall, we loved staying here and thought it was a great value at 6,000 Rupees + tax/ night. While this is quite a bit more than the in-town hotels, it provides a idyllic luxury enclave and is a bargain compared to similar resorts in places like Hawaii or San Diego. The staff gave us a complimentary room service dinner for our final night, which left us with a good taste in our mouths.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AntsyNeng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmalaPromodhiniP, Public Relations Manager at Ideal River View Resort, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear Sir,

Greetings from Ideal River View Resort!!

We thank you for choosing Ideal River view resort as your holiday destination! To begin, we would like to thank you for all the positive feedback you provided about your stay with us. We are pleased that you cherished the ambiance of your room as well as its amenities.
Our staffs are more than willing to be of service at all times and we are truly glad that you were satisfied with the level of hospitality provided. We here at Ideal group of resorts take great pride in our luscious green surroundings.
December happens to be our monsoon season, therefore coupled with rain, it tend to attract mosquitos. Please know that we have taken protective measures such as fogging, to prevent infestation of mosquitos.
In reference to your comment regarding the power adapters, we would like to apologize for the mishap. We will ensure to have the sockets checked and changed. All in all, we are glad that you had a pleasant stay with us. And we do hope to see you soon. Have a good day!

With warm regards,
Natasha Uma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

604 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    276
    256
    59
    11
    2
See reviews for
143
278
22
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2013

This resort is away from the main area of Thanjore, and provides an oasis of calm by the river. The staff were very welcoming and willing to please. The rooms were very spacious with big bathroom and dressing room. Dining was on a beautiful terrace overlooking the river, at night the classical Indian music was delightful. Food was excellent especially the fresh seafood. The pool area and grounds were well maintained. Would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the temples in Thanjore .

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms have a good view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmalaPromodhiniP, Public Relations Manager at Ideal River View Resort, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear Ms. Fiona,

Greetings from Ideal River View Resort !!!

We thank you for choosing Ideal River View Resort as your holiday getaway! Firstly, we would like to thank you for taking the time to share your “Ideal” experience with us. We are pleased that you enjoyed the quaint surrounding of our property which is located by the banks of the Cauvery.
Our staffs are more than willing to be of our guests service at all times and we are glad that you found our hospitality satisfactory. To add, we are happy that you enjoyed the ambiance of your room as well as the evening entertainment.
We are deeply contented that you relished the fresh seafood. We are glad you had a pleasant stay with us. See you soon. Have a nice day!

With Warm Regards,
Natasha Uma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
67 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2013 via mobile

Tanjore city does not offer much choice when it comes to hotels. So the Ideal River View Resort is amongst the few hotels which should considered if traveling to Tanjore. It is situated out of town down a small road and along the river. It offers the weary traveller all that is needed for a restful stay.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jdesalab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmalaPromodhiniP, Public Relations Manager at Ideal River View Resort, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Dear Sir,

Greetings from Ideal Group of Resort !!!!

We thank you for choosing Ideal River View resort as your holiday destination! We would like to express our gratitude for all the positive remarks shared regarding your stay at our property. We take great pride in our luscious greeneries surrounding our property and not to mention it is ideally located by the Cauvery River.
We are glad that you had a pleasant stay with us and we hope to see you soon. Have a good day !!!

With warm regards,
Natasha Uma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2013

I had planned to visit Tanjavur with my family and since the reviews of this place - Ideal River View Resort were good, I made a direct call to this hotel who confirmed the booking to me for 2 nights at Rs 5750 (all inclusive). They later called and said the Christmas eve gala dinner is available optionally. I got another call and made this dinner mandatory and if the dinner is not taken reservation will be cancelled. We inquired about the rate of the dinner and it is at Rs. 1600/- per person! We were going as a large family ( 4 adults of which 2 are sr citizens) and 2 kids (< 6 yrs). They reneged on their commitment of rate and we lost a day and said no to other hotels basis their commitment on phone. It was insane to forcibly charge this exorbitant amount... The person calling said "You pay for this or else find another accommodation. There is no room service or any other food available". I found the tone to be very rude, almost as if they wanted to make it impossible for us to accept and wanted to shake us off by hiking the rate to 6500 per night in a subsequent phone call.

While I understand that Christmas is a peak season for all hotels and resorts, one should not go back on their commitment and be so rude saying pay, else find other options. If they are like this when we book, just imagine what they could do to you at 2am "Pay or .... ?" What the hotel staff needs to understand is that not all travelers will come to celebrate gala dinners and they will have other reasons for travel and may not be interested in the packages they offer, and especially some late night dinners - does not suit families with small kids and seniors traveling along!... Totally insensitive, penny wise pound foolish behavior.

Tip - Please be watchful when you book with them. They just want to snatch money from you while they still can.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Archana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed December 18, 2013

We stayed overnight here during a trip around Thanjavur. We arrived late at night to a warm welcome, and were immediately seated so we could get something to eat.The food was tasty and good value, and included fresh seafood.

The rooms were clean, spacious and quiet. The bathrooms were an excellent size, with a separate shower and bath along with the usual fitouts.

The grounds were clean and spacious and it was very pleasant to walk around and look at the view of the river.

The staff were very friendly and welcoming as well.

Even though we only stayed for a night during this trip, I would definitely come back.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nell25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmalaPromodhiniP, Public Relations Manager at Ideal River View Resort, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Dear Sir,

Greetings from Ideal Group of Resorts!!!

We thank you for choosing Ideal River view resort as your holiday getaway! Firstly, we would like to thank you for taking the time to share your “Ideal” experience with us. We here at Ideal group of Resorts strive to provide the warmest and most welcoming hospitality possible and it brings us great joy in knowing that you were satisfied with the level of hospitality provided.
To add, we are contented that you savoured the fresh seafood at our restaurant. We take great pride in our strategically located property which is by the banks of the Cauvery River, surrounded by luscious greeneries. It brings us great pleasure that you enjoyed it as well as the ambiance of your room. We hope to see you soon. Have a great day !!!

With warm regards,
Natasha Uma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
133 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2013

This is a very nice property with attentive staff and lovely grounds.
However, we had to change rooms several times. The entry door in the first room was sticking and chirping and we would have gotten locked in the room. The second room was fine until the AC malfunctioned and couldn't be repaired. That room also had an opening in the bathroom, so at night there were swarming insects. We had to pack up again and change to another room at 10:30 PM. We were staying in the newer section so I can only imagine the problems in the older part.

They charge for internet use, and this should have been offered to guest free of charge.

Although the staff was very nice, I can't recommend staying here.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jelyapt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiruchirappalli, India
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013

To begin with - a horizontally spread large property, so you can actually walk through the lawns, poolside, riverside, etc.
Room, according to me was good, but the bathroom was very good - large, spacious, with a bathtub & a separate enclosed shower area, ample lighting and ventilation. Also has a separate dressing area with a wooden cabinet, mirror, etc. Room service - ok (I used it only for morning tea).
Food quality was good, indeed we spent a lot of time for one of our dinner. The spread-buffet was ok - not a lavish kind of...but ok as a business meal (however, you always have an option to switch to an A-la-carte meal). The bar-menu was very limited. As an area of improvement I see that the restaurant service can be made more prompt.
Both management and service staff were quite guest-friendly.
Minor issues that I experienced were: First, swarm of mosquitoes (although certain measures were used but they were not very effective, instead the regular smoke of the repellent was suffocating at times) for the mosquito problem - I completely understand that it is because of the climate of the area, however, if I can suggest, then I think that mosquito-fogging could be more effective solution. Second, the bar-menu was significantly limited; this can be improved just by adding a few more options.
Conclusively, a very good property and thus the minor issues pointed by me in this review should not act as hindrances for any of the traveller to choose this property as a viable option.

Room Tip: ...you may want to carry a mosquito-repellent cream (in a lighter vein)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank totawarabhishek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amala Promodhin... P, Vice President - Sales & Promotions at Ideal River View Resort, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear Mr Abhishek,

Greetings from Ideal River View Resort!
We thank you for choosing Ideal Beach Resort as your holiday destination! We would like to express our gratitude for the good comments regarding your “Ideal” experience. To begin, Ideal River View resort is a fairly large property, seamlessly located by the banks of the Cauvery and lusciously surrounded by greeneries.

It brings us great joy in knowing that you had a comfortable stay and appreciated the ambiance of the room. We are glad that you enjoyed the quality of our food at our restaurant. In reference to your comment about the bar menu, please know that we are the midst of updating our bar menu and it will be effective soon.

In regards to your comment about the mosquito’s, please know that we have taken your suggestion into consideration and will be sure to run it by our management team to come up with the best solution possible. All in all, we are glad that you had a pleasant stay with us and we would like to thank you for input. We hope to see you soon. Have a great day!

Warm regards,
Natasha Uma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thanjavur
3.7 mi away
Svatma
Svatma
#2 of 24 in Thanjavur
116 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Parisutham
Hotel Parisutham
#4 of 24 in Thanjavur
185 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel Sangam
Hotel Sangam
#3 of 24 in Thanjavur
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hotel Gnanam
Hotel Gnanam
#5 of 24 in Thanjavur
366 reviews
3.6 mi away
Lakshmi Hotel
Lakshmi Hotel
#6 of 24 in Thanjavur
132 reviews
18.4 mi away
INDeco Swamimalai
INDeco Swamimalai
#1 of 25 in Kumbakonam
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ideal River View Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ideal River View Resort

Property: Ideal River View Resort
Address: Vennar Bank, Pali Agraharam, Thanjavur 613003, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Thanjavur District > Thanjavur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Thanjavur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ideal River View Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Ideal River View Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ideal River View Hotel Thanjavur
Ideal River View Thanjavur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing