We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surrounded by greenery”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ideal River View Resort
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Thanjavur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Surrounded by greenery, close to the river comfortable resort. Terrace restaurant with good food "a la carte" and fresh seafood cooked on the grill, maybe a little expensive for Indian standards. Large room with good bath room and cleaned linen. Great service and fast wifi

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank costante99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (683)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

358 - 364 of 683 reviews

Reviewed December 31, 2012

We stayed in the new block and the rooms were very spacious and comfortable. Bath is the biggest I have come across in a hotel. Room and bath amenities were good. Dinner and Breakfast buffet is good and has variety, though on the expensive side. Service at the Restaurant is impeccable. Being resort, it should have more facilities for children and also a gym.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PradeepPaliwal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

This was the most disappointing hotel in our 2-week visit to southern India. Not that it was horrible, but it didn't meet the standard of the other places we stayed. There was no river to view, as water hadn't been released from the neighboring state (there's a water dispute between Karnataka and Tamil Nadu). The pool was huge and very good. Room was a little dated, as was the entire resort, which seemed to cater most to large families. Food--dinner and breakfast--were OK--the best part of dinner was the music from local musicians. It's a place that tries hard to be an upscale resort but doesn't quite make it.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DMANDMR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2012

A very peaceful stay in lovely surroundings, and with very attentive staff. Local classical musicians on two nights were a joy to listen to. Highly recommended is an early evening bike ride along the river where you can see the oxen being washed, and small boys trying to catch the fish. Just watch out for the unusual handlebars.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 75Sarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amala Promodhin... P, Manager at Ideal River View Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2012

Dear Ms. Sarah,

Warm greetings from Ideal Riverview resort, Tanjore. We would like to thank you first for complimenting our resort ambience and the staff. Your comments is of great motivation to us and promoting our property. We welcome you for the next stay in our resort and also looking forward for your arrival. We would like to thank you once again for the compliments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

We had already stayed at the other Ideal property and looking forward to what we would get. The room to our surprise was enormous, the bathroom opulent. We had dinner at the restaurant, as you are a long way from the town there are not many options. The cost is not cheap, but the food was well done. The Indian music with dinner also helped the atmosphere,
We are on a planned tour and as we go to each location I enjoy giving feedback, this hotel I would recommend for a relaxing atmosphere, the only down side is the remote location if you don't have the available transport. The river was low and great to see the bullock carts there collecting and carrying sand from the river.

Room Tip: All rooms are one the one rate, so I suspect all are the same configuration, a river view is preferr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rod_heather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amala Promodhin... P, Manager at Ideal River View Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2012

Dear Mr. Heather,

We thank you for the mail with warm greetings from River view resort, Tanjore. It was a wonderful comment specifying the ambience and the entertainment with dinner. Such comments for sure would motivate us to proceed further and to make the guest stay enjoyable one at our resort.

In regards to the remote location, the main focus and motto is best quality of food and our kitchen preparation is live counters, hence the difference.

We are looking forward and welcome for your next stay in our resort. Thanks once again for spending your valuable time for complimenting us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Amazing resort at the bank of Vennar river situated within 10 kms from Tanjore. We stayed in the new block and the room was big and comfortable with all required amenities. Food tasted good and service was top notch. Not much of guests in the resort while we stayed which made our stay more enjoyable. River was flowing full and it was indeed great to see birds & bullock carts on the river. We spotted many peacocks and birds in the immediate vicinity. Resort ambience was very calm and peaceful. While the new block scores in the room, old block scores with the well maintained garden and lawn with hammocks. Pool was huge & clean. Cycling to the nearby places is recommended. Overall a great place to stay with family/friends or as a couple

Room Tip: Rooms in the first floor in the new block
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dinesh_2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amala Promodhin... P, Manager at Ideal River View Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2012

Dear Mr. Dinesh,

We thank you very much for your compliments. It our pleasure and responsibility to make our guest feel and experience the warm welcome and the services till the fond farewell. We are looking forward for your next stay in our resort to make you feel the excellence hospitality memorable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

good hotel in Tanjavur.. very good restaurant with good meals. Staff was friendly and the
reception was helpful.
The view is great with the river behind...

Only negative thing is that they don't have the A/C in the washroom/toilet and the corridor where you keep the bags in so it was very hot in that area but the bedroom has the A/C

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SARA111toronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amala Promodhin... P, Manager at Ideal River View Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2012

Dear Mr. Torronto,

Thanks for your comments. We are looking forward for you next visit in our resort in Thanjavur.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thanjavur
3.7 mi away
Svatma
Svatma
#2 of 25 in Thanjavur
157 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Parisutham
Hotel Parisutham
#5 of 25 in Thanjavur
204 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel Sangam
Hotel Sangam
#3 of 25 in Thanjavur
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.4 mi away
INDeco Swamimalai
INDeco Swamimalai
#1 of 25 in Kumbakonam
321 reviews
2.5 mi away
Tanjore Hi Hotel
Tanjore Hi Hotel
#7 of 25 in Thanjavur
134 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Gnanam
Hotel Gnanam
#4 of 25 in Thanjavur
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ideal River View Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ideal River View Resort

Address: Vennar Bank, Pali Agraharam, Thanjavur 613003, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Thanjavur District > Thanjavur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Thanjavur
Price Range: $72 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ideal River View Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Ideal River View Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ideal River View Hotel Thanjavur
Ideal River View Thanjavur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing