We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ho hum”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ideal River View Resort
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Thanjavur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 8, 2012

This may be the best hotel near Thanjavir but the description was better than the hotel. Internationally, this would be a 3.5 star hotel. The rooms are big and comfortable, the meals group tour buffet standard and the WiFi useless. Cleanliness was fine and it has all modern conveniences - a very decent group hotel with a great view but short of being a really good hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IanUReid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (661)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

354 - 360 of 662 reviews

Reviewed April 7, 2012

Stayed in new section of the hotel. Large, attractively decorated and functional rooms with lovely views and balconies from both sides of room. Very large bathroom also with views to river. Pleasant dining area and pool though our room was a distance from the pool. Food OK but expensive as buffet often only option and you need transport to go anywhere else. Approx $A80.00pn. Staff friendly and helpful..

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Julia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2012

I went to this place with a load of expectations but, sadly, my experience had been less than satisfactory. There was an amateurish air about this hotel that was slightly annoying. It is miles away from the city and that should be the reason for the management to take extra care of its customers. I had a horrid experience with the shower. When I turned on the handle water sprouted everywhere except from the shower above my head! The plumber came without any tools first and I had to explain to him what the problem was. It took sometime for him to set the things right. Also there was a faint smell of drainage in the bathroom.
The place looks new but already the AC makes strange noises.
I only had my breakfast in the hotel and I found it less than ordinary.
I will hesitate to return to this place, though the management was very apologetic about the mishap.

Room Tip: This hotel is mainly for western tourist. You can't reach there if you don't have your own...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Krishnan46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2012

The hotel is in a quiet river front location, and is delightfully peaceful after the hustle of Thanjavur. Our room was comfortable, though slightly worn. And the air conditioning wasn't strong enough for the heat. But we enjoyed our stay here, and the restaurant was very good.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oakland-traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2012

The setting here is ideal. It is in a lovely rural area within easy driving distance to Thanjavur so it is quiet and peaceful. Set along a riverbank you can watch bullock carts and birds early morning as you sip your coffee and take breakfast. All meals are served on a terrace overlooking the river. Reception is dark and rather depressing but the staff's attitude and welcome cheer things right up. We were given a lovely big room in the new wing which looks preferable to the older section which looks a bit tired (see photos). The gardens are well maintained and lovely. The pool is huge and actually cool - they must run cool water in it. Plenty of lounge chairs and residents are given pool towels in their room. There is no real service at the pool so getting something to drink is a chore. While we were lying by the pool maintenance workers were painting the railings along the poolside and we were assaulted by the odor of benzine which was annoying - this happened in several places in India - seems like people are working around the property painting, hammering, mowing, weed whacking...endless noise. They have a knack for working around your lounge chair when no one else is there. Amazing. Dinner included a classical dance performance which was wonderful. We didn't chose the buffet but instead had grilled "Seer" fish and steamed vegetables which was okay - nothing outstanding but certainly fresh and light. I would definitely stay here again if visiting the area and ask for room numbers in the 60's and 70's (ours was 72).

Room Tip: Pick rooms with numbers in the 60's and 70's.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jbmaxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2012

We booked this without great enthusiasm, having read rather mixed reviews on this site, but on the whole were pleasantly surprised. First impressions in the dingy reception were very off-putting and to be asked to pay for the room on arrival was quite extraordinary. (We didn’t.) Then the first room we were shown to (one of the so-called Garden Cottages – though really these rooms form a long, two-tier terrace) smelled so badly of sewage that we insisted on changing (though, as the hotel was fully booked someone arriving later was going to have to put up with it!) We looked at some very uninspiring rooms over the restaurant before ending up in the newly built extension wing which far out-classed the other options, even if less attractively located. Big twin beds, superb a/c, big bathroom, large, well-fitted dressing-room, two alternative outside balconies on either side. Wifi allegedly in the room but in reality we had to go outside and stand under the router mounted on a pole. Gardens immaculate – if only the whole hotel were so perfectly maintained! Also large and attractive pool. The buffet dinner and breakfast were both above expectations, though the whole restaurant experience would have been much better if the staff’s obvious willingness to help had been better trained and focused by the management. As it was, they needed plenty of prompting but then performed with both charm and alacrity. NB The main temple in Tanjore is fabulous and oddly little visited compared to Madurai and many other Tamil towns.

Room Tip: Go for the new wing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank patrickm123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2012

I can't get this gorgeous Indian hotel out of my mind. It's the sort of place one dreams about – set in an idyllic riverside setting with fresh air, tranquillity, and space to reflect. It's not an international brand hotel, so you experience the Indian charm, including classical dancing and music at night. It's on my small list of hotels I MUST return to ... somehow.

My husband and I stayed in the new wing, in Room 70 on the top floor overlooking the river. (There are only two levels and if you have trouble walking you’d need a ground floor room closer to the restaurant. There’s also an older wing which looks very attractive.) It was so quiet and so mesmerizingly Indian with tasteful furniture and memorable views – see my photos. The river is ‘mined’ for its sand by small entrepreneurs with bullock carts. As our bathroom window was huge, it was possible to draw up the blind to appreciate this pastoral scene. Alternatively, we could relax on the back balcony to enjoy this scene. There was also a front area to sit outside. Our room included a separate dressing room, enabling us to unpack fully and keep our bedroom tidy.

I’d love to return sometime and stay for longer than just three nights. The hotel is peaceful and a wonderful respite from the busy city of Tanjore and the chaotic, pot-holed roads of southern India. Because of the hotel's location, you really need to eat at the hotel, and the buffet and entertainment are first class, and affordable.

How good can it get?

Room Tip: Room 70 in the new wing is perfect provided you can walk and climb stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Joan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thanjavur
3.7 mi away
Svatma
Svatma
#2 of 25 in Thanjavur
140 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Parisutham
Hotel Parisutham
#5 of 25 in Thanjavur
199 reviews
18.4 mi away
INDeco Swamimalai
INDeco Swamimalai
#1 of 25 in Kumbakonam
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Hotel Sangam
Hotel Sangam
#3 of 25 in Thanjavur
294 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Gnanam
Hotel Gnanam
#4 of 25 in Thanjavur
384 reviews
2.5 mi away
Tanjore Hi Hotel
Tanjore Hi Hotel
#7 of 25 in Thanjavur
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ideal River View Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ideal River View Resort

Address: Vennar Bank, Pali Agraharam, Thanjavur 613003, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Thanjavur District > Thanjavur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Thanjavur
Price Range: $92 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ideal River View Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Ideal River View Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ideal River View Hotel Thanjavur
Ideal River View Thanjavur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing