We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
PL.A. Residency
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Gnanam(Thanjavur)
$46
$37
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Parisutham(Thanjavur)
$45
$32
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Svatma(Thanjavur)
$112
$94
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tanjore Hi Hotel(Thanjavur)
$44
$41
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Sangam(Thanjavur)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lakshmi Hotel(Thanjavur)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Victoriyah(Thanjavur)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Star Residency(Thanjavur)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (85)
Filter reviews
85 results
Traveler rating
11
34
24
8
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
11
34
24
8
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrailway stationcomplimentary breakfast was goodparking spaceground floorbus standplatanjorelinensvegideal
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
68 - 73 of 85 reviews
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Situated in the city center and very close to the Railway station. However, the Railway lines going along the side of the hotel is a negative point. The Big temple is about 10 minutes away by Auto( Rs.40-50).

The room is clean but the linens are soiled . Our rooms had three numbers of bulb missing. However, to their credit, they replaced it the moment it was brought to their attention. The charge was Rs 2000 inclusive of tax and complementary buffet breakfast. Check in/checkout is on 24 hour basis.

The bar is in the basement . Not very clean especially the toilet whick leaks all over.

Food was good and so was the service. For the money one pays, it should be considered ok.

Room Tip: Try to ask for a room away from the Railway track.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank the_kasl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 1 day with family including elderly parents and 2 kids. We booked 2 non a/c rooms. It is an average decent hotel with small rooms and not much lucrative features. The beds and toilets were pretty clean. But there was no western toilet in non a/c rooms, which was not informed to us when we booked the room.

Main advantage is it is very close to the big temple, which of course is the main attraction. But it is also close to the railway station. So it is very noisy. It has a play area for children, which is good. The hotel has a restaurant called 'rice bowl' attached to it. The food was average but the compliment breakfast was good. Can manage a meal without going outside.

The main problem was there was no hot water in the morning. As per the instructions from reception, we wasted atleast 3 buckets of cold water to fill 1 bucket of hot water. With the water scarcity in TamilNadu, I don't think anybody would be willing to waste so much water. Besides water wastage, we could not get ready in the planned time..

Plus
- Close to big temple
- play area for children
- restaurant attached

Minus
- hot water issue
- Noisy
- no western toilet in non a/c rooms

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meipporul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Double bed A/C room Rs1900 incl. Taxes.
Pros: Very clean room, neat shower and Toilet, with 24x7 running hot water. Decent TV too.
Had ample parking in the ground floor.
Complementary Breakfast: Good South Indian breakfast buffet, but people expecting fresh juice or fruits will be disappointed.
The Big Temple is about 2Kms away, with in a 7 minute bus ride from the Bus stop by the Railway station.

Cons: Next to a railway track, though I was in the front part of the hotel, still I could hear the trains passing, they could have done some noise proofing, but the window in single pane.
Room service is slow, but when they do come they help with what you want.

Room Tip: Do not thke the rooms at the rear as they are close to the railway tracks.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GuruprasadKrishnaraj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012

I was in this place in November 2012. It's a nice looking hotel from the outside. It's some kilometre far from the main temple and the city centre, while the area in which it rises is quite poor of points of interest (perhaps the main life is the gas station in front of it).
The main advantage point is that it's one of the hotels that we paid less in our staying in both Tamil Nadu and Kerala. The room was quite small, and it smelled very badly of camphor. To make the matter worse, the roof fan was very noisy. After the shower the room turned into a nightmarish camphor-smelling steam sauna as the windows can just be barely opened and they give on a second set of glass which can't be opened and don't let the air to flow.
Breakfast was average as I found most of it quite tasteless compared at the breakfasts that I had in the streets of India.

Room Tip: There's not much choice in Tanjore. You've to be lucky to have a room not too much noisy.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Franz_Zena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PLA_THAJAVUR, General Manager at PL.A. Residency, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

We apologise for the unpleasantness experienced at our Hotel. Its a non-a/c room that you had stayed in and the mentioned problems have been rectified more than a month back. Thanks for your valuable feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

this is very average hotel and not worth the value. we stayed for a day and nothing was to our expectation - right from front desk, room service or cleanliness. Noisy A/c and made the stay very un comfortable.

Room Tip: better to stay in Tiruchy or kumbakonam hotels.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sivram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews