We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice rooms, good location, good value”
Review of Hotel Tamilnadu

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Thanjavur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Tamilnadu
Ranked #11 of 25 Hotels in Thanjavur
Reviewed February 20, 2011

The hotel is located in a nice building, in walking (or in my case: cycling) distance from the Brihadishwara temple. The room was nice and quite large. Good value.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philip1013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (45)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 45 reviews

Reviewed January 1, 2011

I think this may be a government owned hotel, it's a bit shabby and some parts were undergoing refurbishment when we visited in Dec 2010. The rooms are massive and very clean. Our room had no hot water the first morning and the staff brought up a large bucket of hot water for us to wash with which was fine. Breakfast in the restaurant was good. The hotel also has a dingy little bar or 'Permit Room' where we bought beer and then chose to drink it in our room.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wmwmwmwmwmwmwmwm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2010

- very keen rooms
- nice service
- superb environment
- budgeted cost

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yesnathan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2010

The place is good, affordable and the reception was good. Every room is around 20' by 12'. The place also has a huge garden to hang out.
It is very close to the temple and also gives you easy accessibility to the market. The parking space was also good.

  • Stayed: March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mahadevan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2010

Clean & spacious rooms for a very nominal rate. Good beds.

Stayed: November 2008, traveled with family
1  Thank PriyaChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2010

The Hotel is about 300m from the railway station and 600m from the city bus stand. However, the inter-city bus stand of Thanjavur is far away and you need to take bus no.72 from there to reach the hotel, which drops you off at the rail station.
We arrived by bus from Trichy very late. The hotel has a check-in/check-out time of 10am. So we needed to inform them in advance about our late arrival. Since we reached the train station only at 10:30 in the night, the reception actually called me to inquire about our arrival, which was nice of them. And when we arrived, our rooms were ready. They were nice and they were huge!!! Beds and toilets were clean. It had running hot water supply, heated through a central solar-heating system. So we needed to throw away a bucket or two before we got hot water, but then it was piping hot.
The desk was very helpful. They arranged a car for our day-trip to Kumbakonam that late at night on our arrival. Also they arranged a room for us when we wanted to extend our stay by half a day.
The hotel had a restaurant, which offered clean environment and good South Indian food. The service was quick. However, since we arrived late, we could not avail its facility on the first night and we had difficulty finding a restaurant open near the station too.
The Hotel being a part of Tamilnadu Tourism offers several discount schemes, for senior citizens, for consecutive three night stay or for stay in three consecutive hotels. My mother being a senior citizen, we qualified for the senior citizen discount. However, it is important to note that the booking must be in the name of that person to get the discount and an age -proof in original and photocopy are required. (Unfortunately these details are not available on the website of Tamilnadu Tourism. Also you would not get any discount if you book through agents.) Our booking was not in my mother's name, yet the desk arranged for the discount after necessary paperwork.
There is a Govt handicraft shop Poompuhar right next to the hotel, which should encourage the shopaholics. Also there is a tourist-friendly auto generally available outside the hotel. The driver charges reasonable amount and is very well-behaved.
The only bad experience was the aggressive haggling for tips by the bellboys. Even before I could finish the formalities at the desk, two of them swooped on to our luggage without bothering to ask whether we need any help. (Actually we did not. We managed it from Trichy with a change of bus in between. We could have survived to a room on the ground floor 10m away.) After reaching the room, they stood ground till I paid them the tips. My experience with other hotels is that you pay while leaving. After that they were nowhere to be seen till the time to depart came. This time I stopped them at the beginning and they went away unhappy.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank cholo_berate_jai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2009

Hotel Tamilnadu is a very good place to stay if you are on vacations.
The room rates are very reasonable and the services are good.

I enjoyed my stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Rashmi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Thanjavur hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel Victoriyah
Hotel Victoriyah
#8 of 25 in Thanjavur
54 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Balaji Inn
Hotel Balaji Inn
#16 of 25 in Thanjavur
32 reviews
0.9 mi away
Lakshmi Hotel
Lakshmi Hotel
#6 of 25 in Thanjavur
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Parisutham
Hotel Parisutham
#5 of 25 in Thanjavur
199 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Gnanam
Hotel Gnanam
#4 of 25 in Thanjavur
384 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Sumi Palace
Hotel Sumi Palace
#23 of 25 in Thanjavur
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tamilnadu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tamilnadu

Address: Gandhiji Road | Near Railway Station, Thanjavur 613001, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Thanjavur District > Thanjavur
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 25 Hotels in Thanjavur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing