We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not so great value”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Valli

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Valli
Ranked #7 of 20 Thanjavur B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Not so great value”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

the one that is writing this review is not used to travel in fancy hotels...
In many travel guide, this hotel is mentioned as a good deal but we were very disappointed. First of all, the rooms were filthy and the bathroom was even more terrible. Sheets are dirty and the mattress stained. Second, the insects! There are tens of mosquitoes in the room when you open the door for the first time.. They are waiting for their next victim. Other wildlife will awaits you as well like spiders. So expect a night of war instead of rest.Third, the location. Rickshaw drivers know the place, but you are not close to the main sites. Four, a special mention about the manager. He really does not care about the customers, as he knows that backpackers are only interested in the price.
It's true that it'll cost you about Rps 700 for a non AC room, which is reasonable, but value means price for quality...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chez N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    18
    18
    7
    6
See reviews for
15
22
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
58 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

Good value overall. Located in a quiet alley and as you enter you wonder if this is the right place. But the hotel manager and staff are quite nice. A safe and clean place that is reasonably priced. I would probably rate this as a lodge rather than a hotel. The lighting could be brighter. Good space for parking. For veg food, we went to Krishna bhavan about one km away. We also checked out Hotel Oriental Towers which seemed better at a slight higher price, but was fully booked.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sramu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goa, India
Level Contributor
333 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

A green hotel located not too far from Railway Station is total value for money and specially suited for backpackers. Simple rooms come with single and double beds, with and without AC, breakfast is not included in the tariff though. A basic restaurant serves basic south indian food.

Room Tip: All rooms are same
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnuradhaGoyal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2012

I moved from another hotel which was too expensive. Valli was much nicer at a better price. I found the staff here to be professional and friendly. I felt very cozy in my room, so I stayed longer than what I quoted on check-in. They were patiently able to accommodate my changing plans. The restaurant was pleasant, and Thanjavur itself was more enjoyable than I expected.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MintFlip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yokohama
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2012

Located down a bit of an unpleasant street, when we arrived at the hotel there was a big garbage pile being burned right across the street, which made the hotel smokey.
The room was OK, but the electricity was very inconsistent.
We arranged a taxi through the front desk to arrive in the morning, but after waiting for a half hour from the scheduled pick up time and it still didn't show up, we walked out with our bags and got our own taxi at the train station.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RfromYoko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Thanjavur hotels

Nova Gorica, Slovenia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2011

The hotel is located near the train station, which is good. It's fairly clean, but has very different rooms, so be sure to check several before you decide. Our's was plain and full of mosquitos. We could smell a very strong fecal odor through the window (our room must have been located just above the cesspool or something). The staff wasn't too friendly and were the only in the whole India who went to check our room before they let us check out. This was the least pleasant hotel/guest house in our whole India experience.
But the Brihadishwara temple in Tanjore is amazing and worth seeing! You can skip the Royal palace, though.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank natseb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerala
Level Contributor
100 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2011

I stayed in Hotel Valli for one night with a friend. The location is good due to the proximity to the Railway Station and ATM's, but the road leading to the hotel is also conjusted with automobile mechanics and welding workshops. The room is average, good sleeping quality, average cleanliness, but of course reasonably priced. As per my opinion, I cannot stay with my family in this hotel. In the evening drunkards are found wandering in the front road of the hotel as there is a low class bar and wine shop in front of the hotel which I didn'nt like at all.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BARISHKOHINOOR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Thanjavur hotels
3.8 mi away
Hotel Balaji Inn
Hotel Balaji Inn
#17 of 24 in Thanjavur
3.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Victoriyah
Hotel Victoriyah
#7 of 24 in Thanjavur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Gnanam
Hotel Gnanam
#4 of 24 in Thanjavur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Parisutham
Hotel Parisutham
#5 of 24 in Thanjavur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
0.7 mi away
Star Residency
Star Residency
#12 of 24 in Thanjavur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lakshmi Hotel
Lakshmi Hotel
#6 of 24 in Thanjavur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Valli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Valli

Property: Hotel Valli
Address: 2948 M K M Road | Near Railway Station, Thanjavur 613001, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Thanjavur
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Thanjavur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Valli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing