We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You find what you need”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lotus Nikko Hotel Bodhgaya
Ranked #11 of 27 Hotels in Bodh Gaya
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Situation very practical.Renovation works were a problem for the rooms on the left side of the corridor - the direction of the temple - .Clean , practical...and no charm at all.Food only for veggie-lovers and moreover a very poor choice.Of course, no alcohol but water and water.
Bathroom with bath but warm water was a problem : present at 5 PM but not later...
No lift but we were helped as there are two floors .

Room Tip: In February, the right side of the corridor.Anyway, while waiting at the reception take a look at th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pasquier2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (63)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 63 reviews

Reviewed February 28, 2013

Why did the Buddha conclude that Enlightenment lay in escape from the cares and troubles of this world? Because he stayed at the Lotus Nikko. OK, it's not as bad as that, but it's substandard. Very bad quality furniture, electrical wires showing through holes in the wall, mosquitoes rampant, internet "access" means queuing for a single machine in the office. The staff are quite helpful, it's just that they don't have many resources to be helpful with.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jimmaths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

This is a nice place to stay just 75m away from THE GREAT MAHABODHI TEMPLE. ,Rooms are good,clean with all modern day amenities, staffs friendly and food is good[more or less catering good Chinese and Thai food] ,Rate is a bit high but almost all hotel has similar high rates. the hotel is among the top 5 hotels in BODHGAYA and is recommended .
The hotel is really big and inside it is a kind of oasis and bears a bit retro look.Ideal for those who comes to Bodhgaya as pilgrims as it is very clean and suited for meditations and Deep thinking activities.This hotel is surrounded by some 20 finest monasteries,

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shridhar g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Well this is one of the nearest hotel to main temple Bodhgaya, only 10 minute walking distance. As the Lotus Nikko hotel chain in India, they are the first hotels in the Buddhist pilgrimage sector. So it's already old enough and need to be refurbished.
The other service is good and the food as usual.

Room Tip: For elderly people, choose the ground floor as they don't have any elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank charles h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2012

Large and echoey with marble floors and high ceilings, this hotel lacked any warmth or personality - it had the feeling of being in a hostel- but it was very clean (though the bathroom and furniture were rather tired and depressing) and the staff were really good. It felt very 70's with brown and cream tiles and woodwork, but the room was spacious and served our needs fine as we only stayed 2 nights. The hotel appears to cater for large coach parties of Chinese, or Asians other than Indians, visiting the temple so seemed ideal for this clientele rather than tourist couples. They served a buffet of Chinese food in the dining hall whilst we were there for the coach parties, but when we requested Indian food the chef and serving staff were amazing - producing the most delicious meal of small dishes, plentiful and carefully selected. We were really impressed with this prompt thoughtful service. We did look at the outside of other guest houses as we wandered round the town, but Bodhgaya just isn't set up for tourism, and we felt we'd chosen the best hotel to stay. The location is great, just off the main drag next to the archaeological museum, within easy walking distance of all the temples and places to see.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nosliwoj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2012

We were 3adults visiting varanasi and Bodhgaya..we stayed for 2 nites,19,20th Dec...got accommodation here through major pull coz of high season and both the Karmappas were having the pujas.
Niko is well located and a good property but the facilities are too basic...blankets are torn and only one is provided..we froze...the curtains were torn and cold wind was coming thru the window...it's an old ITDC hotel that they have taken and unfortunately are running it like that....I must say that the staff is very helpful and polite but its too expensive for such a small place...they cashing in as mostly foreigners come and really there is not much of a choice.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
Thank Mina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2012

This is a pleasant if unspectacular hotel located in the heart of this peaceful and very spiritual city.

The rooms are well made up and provide a comfortable and quite homely backdrop to the spectacular temples and shrines in Bodhgaya.

I found the staff friendly and welcoming, and would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DevineInsp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bodh Gaya hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bodhgaya Regency
Hotel Bodhgaya Regency
#5 of 27 in Bodh Gaya
117 reviews
1.6 mi away
Oaks Bodhgaya
Oaks Bodhgaya
#1 of 27 in Bodh Gaya
71 reviews
0 mi away
Sujata Hotel
Sujata Hotel
#7 of 27 in Bodh Gaya
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Taj Darbar
Hotel Taj Darbar
#16 of 27 in Bodh Gaya
57 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Seven Inn
Hotel Seven Inn
#6 of 27 in Bodh Gaya
9 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Bodhgaya Gautam
Hotel Bodhgaya Gautam
#9 of 27 in Bodh Gaya
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lotus Nikko Hotel Bodhgaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lotus Nikko Hotel Bodhgaya

Address: Bodhgaya Bihar, Bodh Gaya 824231, India
Location: India > Bihar > Gaya District > Bodh Gaya
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 27 Hotels in Bodh Gaya
Price Range: $136 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lotus Nikko Hotel Bodhgaya 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Lotus Nikko Hotel Bodhgaya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lotus Nikko Hotel Bodhgaya Bodh Gaya, India - Bihar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing