We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Poorly Maintained”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Lumbini International
Ranked #6 of 69 Bodh Gaya B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 7, 2012

We stayed just one night, here is the jist...

Blankets were wet (manager replaced them when notified)
Dirty pillows (ripped out, stuffed with compacted cotton rubbish)
Dirty bed
Non-functional bathroom and water heater

Manager was helpful, staff tried their best but these things do not compensate for poor rooms
2 Stars at best

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ananth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (86)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Lumbini International
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

74 - 80 of 86 reviews

Reviewed April 23, 2012

This review is rather late as we stayed in the hotel for nearly 2 weeks in Jan 2012. The service is the best we have experienced ever. The rooms are very well designed and every little details is taken care of. The team is warm and caring. The room service and restaurant food is excellent and the service is prompt to the highest degree. Highly recommended for everyone who wishes to visit Bodhgaya ! one more thing which I want say to the hotel staffs THANKS FOR MAKING MY HOLIDAY SPECIAL.

Thank you for the most amazing holiday !

Stayed June 2011, travelled with family

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sandeepraaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2012

it was a business trip got very nice warm welcome from the reception team and when i entered the room it was so beautiful , cozy and mind blowing fragnance , i was really highly impressed with all hotel team efforts . As far as staff is concerned they r really helpful and ready far anykind of of help . well i would like to thank the entire team and keep it up .

Room Tip: simple just book a room and rest staff will do the needfull
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vijender1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2012

Hotel lumbini is simple home like hotel . All staff are very humble and caring .
We prefer only this hotel for our guests ( shechen clinic Bodhgaya ).
One thing which we would suggest and request the management of hotel is to be more professional in producing the Bills , most of the time it is produced without the signature of guests in that case it become difficult to pay the bills( though we always pay because the bills are no doubt genuine ) but during the finance audit we( shechen clinic ) face problems.So hope this will be taken care in future.
My good wishes are always with you lumbini International!
Shilpa Sinha
Director , Shechen Clinic
Bodhgaya, Gaya

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mailbox_shilpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2012

I had visited this hotel while I have gone for my honey moon trip and stayed fro two nights and three days and the stay was really a very memorable to me and my wife as because of the well and hygienic service maintained by this hotel.no doubt for food quality,well decorated rooms and most important thing which always comes continuously in my mind was there garden where i have enjoyed my candle light dinner with surrounding of bone fire.Over all I can say right place for enjoying the vacation if planning for Bodhgaya.

Room Tip: Sound proof rooms for good sleeping of north side rooms
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank manoj12379
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2012

This hotel is not fit to be called a hotel. Poor service, TV not working, bed linens dirty and !!!!! l!!
Bath room so dirty and stinking, the flush kept leaking for four nights we stayed there. One night it came crashing down. Repeated request to the manager was of no use.
Finally we checked and what a relief it was !!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mantara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2011

I stayed two nights although I had booked eight. I could not stay even a minute longer after I saw a mouse running in my room from the door gap. The hotel is very dirty, the walls, the floors, the room, the bathroom, the bed linen and the towels are even dirtier. It is an old indian hotel not renovated.

The first evening of my arrival, there was not hot water. The bathroom is indian style, no bathtub, no shower curtains. The old water boiler inside the bathroom did not work and the electric cords were exposed. Finally they made it work but the power of water was so poor that it was very difficult to have a shower. The telephone in the room did not work. The bed mattress was so thin and hard, it felt like sleeping on floor. There was no wi fi at all.

I complained about all these. The reception staff was trying to help but they were inefficient. The offered to change room but the other rooms were the same and even worse. The front rooms are very noisy because of the busy street and the constant horning of vehicles, plus there was construction work in the front yard of the hotel, in the area between the rooms and street. They were building big tents to accommodate local people. Next day they set up a modem, there was wi fi signal but no connection to the internet. The telephone was out of order again, they could not fix the shower and so on. I looked for another hotel around and I asked for a check out. The owner Ahmed was very rude and talked bad to me.

Lumbini hotel is dirty, noisy, problematic, overpriced and it is better to be avoided.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank apodora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bodh Gaya hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bodhgaya Regency
Hotel Bodhgaya Regency
#5 of 28 in Bodh Gaya
103 reviews
1.5 mi away
Oaks Bodhgaya
Oaks Bodhgaya
#1 of 28 in Bodh Gaya
40 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Bodhgaya Gautam
Hotel Bodhgaya Gautam
#7 of 28 in Bodh Gaya
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Orchid Annex
Hotel Orchid Annex
#9 of 28 in Bodh Gaya
3 reviews
0.2 mi away
Maya Heritage
Maya Heritage
#4 of 28 in Bodh Gaya
21 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Tokyo Vihar
Hotel Tokyo Vihar
#21 of 28 in Bodh Gaya
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lumbini International? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lumbini International

Address: Great Budha Statue Rd | Bodh Gaya, Bodh Gaya 824231, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Bihar > Gaya District > Bodh Gaya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 69 B&Bs / Inns in Bodh Gaya
Price Range: $30 - $43 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Lumbini International 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Lumbini International is located very close in Bodh Gaya where Prince Siddhartha attained BUDDHAHOOD (Full Enlightenment). After enlightenment Lord Buddha spent the second week in meditation here Gazing UNWINKING at the Bodhi Tree. Hotel is ideal place for those who are coming to Bodh Gaya in search of Peace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Lumbini International reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Lumbini International Bodh Gaya, India - Bihar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing